• Breaking News

    Wednesday, October 28, 2020

    Weight loss: 5 months sober and healthy lost 88 pounds (before and after link in post)

    Weight loss: 5 months sober and healthy lost 88 pounds (before and after link in post)


    5 months sober and healthy lost 88 pounds (before and after link in post)

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 08:51 AM PDT

    Hey,

    So 5 months ago I was sitting in hospital with chest pains thinking I was having a heart attack. I was depressed and had been a heavy alcoholic for near ten years. My friend had just passed away from heart complications and I was certain I was going the same way.

    I had my last drink after the hospital to get me to sleep and then quit. I started eating healthy and working out. It got easier over time but that first month was rough.

    I still have about 4 stone to go for my target weight but I can't believe how far I've come already. Mentally I'm in a totally different place now and though it hasn't solved all my problems I'm not going to dump fuel on the fire anymore.

    The best news for me came recently when my liver and heart scans came back normal and healthy. I was so scared I'd already left it to late. I'm 28 now and determined to be in the best shape of my life by 30. Thanks everyone for inspiring me to make the change. Your posts have been amazing for me and I'm glad I'm at a point now where I feel I can contribute too!

    For anyone who can benefit from what I did I cut out all booze and found I had to be strict so no food cheat days for me. For food I have two meals a day, tuna with rye bread for lunch and chicken with rice for Dinner. In between I eat fruit and jerky if I get hungry and thats it really. I still drink quite a lot of fizzy as it helps with the alcohol cravings but only zero sugar drinks. I've been using resistance bands and mma vids to help with my work outs.

    Before and After

    Note Thanks so much everyone for all the support, really has made me feel amazing today. I've read everyone's comments and trying to respond to everyone too. It's just fantastic to see so many people with like minded goals supporting each other towards a healthier lifestyle.

    submitted by /u/TheBrokenJoker
    [link] [comments]

    Losing weight with depression is hard (I mean, what else is new, right? But gosh...)

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 07:46 PM PDT

    I have been yo-yo-ing with making an effort to lose weight and then just giving up because I can't get myself to care enough to try, going back and forth for quite a while now and it's like when I make some progress I go into a mental "low" and undo the progress I made. It's harder during the colder months because I have seasonal depression and everything gets worse.

    I feel hopeless right now, like I'm never going to reach my goal because I keep fucking it up with my own emotions (or lack of them, if I'm being honest, because for me depression isn't sadness so much as it is just a kind of emotional emptiness) and I guess I'm just putting this here in the hopes someone who is going through the same thing will see it and let me know I'm not alone. Or even give me some tips that might help me.

    Thanks to anyone who reads this.

    submitted by /u/sholbyy
    [link] [comments]

    Run the mile you’re in.

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 09:40 AM PDT

    When I was overwhelmed while training for my first half marathon, a fellow runner gave me a piece of advice: run the mile you're in. Meaning, don't think about how far away the finish line is, or how far you still have left to go. Focus on the mile you are running right at that very moment. Keep your head in the present, and eventually those miles will add up and you'll be at the finish line before you know it.

    That thought came back to me when I was feeling discouraged about how much more weight I have to lose and how long it's going to take me to get there. But I stopped those negative thoughts, and decided I am going to run the mile I'm in. It's about choices that I make today, right now. And I'll get there before I know it.

    submitted by /u/CrystalGoddess78
    [link] [comments]

    I'Am now lightest i have been in 12 years ! ! Lost 45.1kg (99.4lbs)in 9 months!

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 12:53 PM PDT

    Another update after couple weeks. Short backstory, was diagnosed with diabetes type 2 on January 21 this year. I weighed 165kg (363lbs) on that day. Started low carb diet and exercise and now little over 9 months later i lost 45.1kg ( 99.4lbs). I weigh 119.9kg or 264.3lbs now and this is the lightest i have weighed in about 12years. Still lots to lose but iam really happy with myself for the first time in a very long time ! Iam actually proud of myself even! Iam now diabetes free and feel so much better than i did the beginning of the year! I have struggled with my weight since i was i guess around 12 years old. And lost weight in 2008 to around 120kg but gained it back really really fast. So now iam really happy to be below that weight and iam still extremely motivated to keep on going! Hopefully my story can inspire people who are also struggling with there weight! And motivate them! I can highly recommend contacting a good dietician, they have a lot of good info and tips and tricks. It helped me a lot! A low carb dieet lime i did was staying below 75 grams of carbs a day ( ~0.16lbs) this combined with exercise is what did the trick for me. I used to drink a lot of rockstar and red bull, the peak was right before my diagnosis in January and i drank about 2 cans a day. Now i only drink water. And just when i want to reward myself i drink 1 glass of dieet pepsi. So yeah this is my update for today. I completely changed my lifestyle and really am happy i did!

    submitted by /u/nismopower
    [link] [comments]

    When Weight Loss Isn’t About Weight

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 01:49 PM PDT

    Several years ago , for our anniversary, My Husband and I gave each other the gift of getting healthy. (So proud of him for his amazing accomplishment) I decided I was ready to revamp my life, prioritize my health, and build a life that I had only ever dreamed of. It started so slowly – a salad here, an extra walk there. It was filled with moments of incredible success, such as slipping into an old pair of jeans that I have not worn in years. It was also filled with moments of utter defeat, like waking up puffy and bloated after a cheat weekend and not being able to take off my rings.

    But today? Here I am. A full year of maintaining my weight loss and living my healthy lifestyle – and what have I learned? It was never about the weight. My journey was one of self-discovery and of finding the confidence I had within. It was an adventure in resilience and adversity. It was about focusing on small goals first, while always keeping the big dream on a pedestal.

    It was never about weight loss: It was about me and my quest to love myself. But it was also about me learning to love the person I have been along the way – before and after the weight loss. Every single day, every single struggle, and every single victory has made me who I am today – and I am so grateful for who I have been throughout the entire journey. Afterall, it is never about the weight – it's about knowing my worth, achieving my goals, and believing in myself.

    submitted by /u/nikkusens
    [link] [comments]

    Tips that helped me lose 60lb + keep it off

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 10:54 PM PDT

    Discipline = muscle + confidence

    Discipline Tips:

    🌟 Exercise your discipline "muscle" by doing things you don't want to do consistently. - Running, reading, exercising
    🌟 Don't skip a day. Missing a workout might not hurt your goal, but the next day you'll reflect on your discipline. This will continue to compound into a self-fulfilling prophecy that you don't have discipline. Evidence creates confidence.
    🌟If you have trouble staying disciplined in one area of life, start in another. Discipline learned can be applied in all areas of life

    🌟Hire an awesome coach you click with; adopt a "no excuses" attitude & get your mindset right

    submitted by /u/coachtiffanytaylor
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: October 28th, 2020

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 11:30 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    [NSV] The other night, I actually WANTED a salad for dinner

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 10:53 AM PDT

    I like to feel full even while I'm dieting, so I tend to follow /r/volumeeating and center my meals around 8-12 ounce portions of lean meats (boneless/skinless chicken breast, pork tenderloin, etc). I try and balance this, but some meals do end up a bit protein-heavy, so I get cravings for veggies and carbs. The other night, I was shocked to find this leading me to the grocery store to buy kale.

    When I used to commute into the city for work I would buy a Chopt salad just about every day for lunch - Kale Caesar with Chicken. But I was firm in my belief that I could never be satisfied by salad for dinner. Then all of a sudden I was struck with this craving, and nothing else would do.

    So I "taught myself" to make a salad. I know that sounds incredibly basic to most of you, but it was a major achievement for me - I'm in my mid-30s but I don't think I had ever made a salad before. I had ordered them, or gotten them on the side with meals I ordered out, maybe even helped my wife prep one of hers by chopping veggies, but had never really engaged in the whole process for myself. A massive part of my weight loss this year has been that I have taken a lot of responsibility for my own meal planning and cooking for myself. Again, I know that sounds simple, but it was a major shift to the way I think about food and approach meals that has made a lot of difference.

    One of the biggest benefits of my last few months spent logging everything I eat was that I gained a much better understanding of calories - I used to just blindly order a salad and assume that was close enough to being healthy, that my good intentions mattered regardless of what the actual numbers may be. So when I found myself thinking about it I knew everything that should theoretically go into the bowl, but no idea of proportions or how to actually make it healthy. I spent probably a full ten minutes in the salad dressing aisle comparing nutritional info. But in the end I was able to reverse engineer a salad I used to love to order, and now I can make it at home for a fraction of the cost and the calories.

    I know I am disproportionately proud of this, but it was a real milestone in my progress both in learning to cook and in learning to eat healthy. The initial craving was a bit of a revelation in itself, but I mostly found it reassuring to see that I had become proficient and flexible enough to meet this new challenge.

    submitted by /u/mx-chronos
    [link] [comments]

    What do you do with your clothes that you can no longer wear because they are too big?

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 04:13 PM PDT

    Do you hang on to them "just in case"? Do you go ahead and pitch, donate, try to sell them?

    I need to get rid of some clothes that no longer fit. I feel that having a "safety net" of larger sizes is not good for me. But---I have to admit I'm sort of anxious about purging them. At the beginning of my weight loss, getting rid of my largest size clothes was no problem. This current batch that no longer fits...is harder for me??? It's a size that I was thrilled to be in just a year ago and clothes I really liked. Not sure what the difference is.....but in any case, it makes me nervous and anxious to be rid of them. Does this make any sense? What do you all do?

    submitted by /u/MissCmotivated
    [link] [comments]

    No, Fat-Shaming Doesn’t Work

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 07:42 AM PDT

    TW: eating disorders, body dysmorphia

    Repeat after me, fat-shaming does not work.

    Not sure if this belongs here, but hopefully it helps someone, bc I wish somebody had told me this when I was growing up.

    I was overweight most of my life. My parents were too.

    When I was 12, my dad decided that everyone in our family needed to lose weight, so I was forced to workout everyday and count calories. This is where my eating disorder and body dysmorphic issues started

    My parents would tell me that nobody would love me if I was fat. That I was unattractive and not skinny enough, even at my lowest weight of 115 (I was 5'5", 5'7" now).

    And that is the reason that even when I was at a healthy weight, I was convinced I was fat. At 150, 140, and even 130 lbs I was convinced I was "too fat."

    And all I could think was, what is the point? And since then I've gained 90 lbs. Now I know that my worth isn't tied to my weight, but I had to go through hell to get to this point, and now I'm having to start all over again, all bc size discrimination is so real it prevents us from seeing overweight people as PEOPLE.

    So if you read this, take this as a warning not to force your kids onto 1000 calorie diets when they're 12 bc "they don't know better," or fat shame women online just bc they seem "unaware" of their health issue bc trust me they're more aware than you could even know.

    submitted by /u/stargazer-lilly
    [link] [comments]

    To those who are discouraged in losing it, even 10lbs can make a whole difference!!

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 02:37 AM PDT

    I was 145lbs in January 2020. That was my highest, my whole life I was usually 115lbs so gaining those extra pounds was a huge shock to my pants (and face)

    I was so scared of hitting 150lbs (which may not seem like much but when you're used to being 115 it's a lot) so I decided to take some action.

    Now I don't like exercising, so I don't do it. But my job is very physical and I'm on my feet for 12 - 13 hours daily. So I decided to watch what I ate.

    Mainly I would just eat less. Instead of packing 4 slices of pizza I would pack 2 and some oranges to go with it. I also started making a green smoothie in the mornings (1 cup water, 1 cup spinach, 1 banana and 1 orange) Which I would sip if I ever felt "snacky"

    I don't notice a whole lot in my body if I'm honest. My thighs still look so fat (compared to my 115 self) and o honestly thought I wasn't making progress until I stepped on Grandma's scale and weighed myself.

    Then I saw old photos from January and saw progress I didn't even notice before now!!

    So don't get too discouraged if you find you "only" lost 10lbs!! It can really make a difference

    submitted by /u/serenity_flower
    [link] [comments]

    Limiting calorie intake as a first step?

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 08:25 PM PDT

    M23, 5'6", 180lbs.

    I have some health issues/allergies and eating's always been a challenge for me. When I was younger I was eating too little, now that I'm older I'm eating too much and have become overweight.

    I thought, because I can't go all in/cold turkey and eat 100% healthy right off the bat, would it be ok to eat my regular meals but cut back on overall calorie intake? And gradually shift my diet to healthier options over time?

    My meals are usually sandwiches, chips, and tea or soda because I'm limited to the microwave and rice cooker at the moment (I do make rice every once in a while). Ideally I'd like to have healthier meals, and more variety, but would this be a bad start?

    submitted by /u/dudewithtea
    [link] [comments]

    I tried to take a gym bro (tm) mirror selfie after I went running today, and it's so ridiculously bad I just had to share it! Also, I LOVE RUNNING

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 11:28 AM PDT

    As the title says, my selfie skills are horrendous... Here you go, you've been warned!

    I got into exercising over the past 6 months out of boredom because my school was closed (and I only had like 4 hrs of assignments per day). I started by walking, then cycling and about 2 months ago I started running! I'm having so much fun, it's incredible.

    Back before I decided to lose weight I was very unfit, but running was still fun, it was just too exhausting to actually do it regularly enough to get better at it. Now I run 4 km 2-3 times per week, and I can do it in 20 mins without a single break! That might not sound like much, but as a beginner it means a lot to me.

    It does so much for my energy levels and mood, and as an insomniac it helps with my sleep as well. I've never felt better, and would like to strongly encourage anyone who can to give it a try as well!

    (Stats: F17, 168cm/5'6", SW: ~67kg/150lbs, GW: 54-57kg/120-127lbs, CW: 55kg/122lbs)

    submitted by /u/nikki0107
    [link] [comments]

    I’ve been eating nothing but fast food

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 11:49 AM PDT

    To start from the beginning I was always the big girl I was always afraid to eat in front of people Including family members, At gatherings where food would be prepared I would often drift away from the crowds of people and wait to fix myself a plate when I was alone.

    My weight originated from over eating. I found myself making whole meals and eating them , to only find myself in the kitchen yet again not even a whole 2 hours later!. Now I know I ate a lot because of boredom for sure, but I also know I stress ate as well. I also really love how food tastes and I didn't have an idea of potion control.

    In 10th grade I needed a hip surgery not a replacement, because I was born with Hip Dysplasia and I was having severe discomfort while walking during certain times of the day. I know for a fact that it had to be my weight as well, so after long trips to the doctor and lots of tests I finally got the talk about how I needed to lose weight because I was at risk but because of my hip needing the surgery it was hard for me to exercise with constant pain. Now I'm not saying I wasn't exercising, but I will say because it was a lot harder I gave up faster.

    After I had my surgery is when things got really messed up and out of shape , literally...

    I was wheelchair bound for my first 3 months of high school and the rest on crutches, because I was in the hospital for so long and in a wheelchair I lost A LOT of my muscle mass in my leg, I had to physically strengthen it back with water therapy and then I had to walk with a nurse for another couple of weeks on dry land with these rods it was kinda cool.

    After months of not being active and pretty much ONLY eating out (my mom worked third shift and I had a no weight restriction on my leg because if I did apply weight I could loosen the blood clot the surgeon formed over my bone and he said that could be very bad) I was at my heaviest weighing in at 200 pounds at 4'9, The next 3 years I continued to go to school after my healing and I graduated. Of course over those three years I was still gaining weight even though I started exercising, still being overweight and a fresh grad made me pretty upset I don't know exactly why I think maybe it had something to do with being able to graduate but not being able to defeat obesity? Sorry if that's confusing. I always "fantasized" about being a skinny girl and being able to just walk into a store and grab anything I wanted without having to look at the size, knowing I'd go home to put it on and no matter what I'd be happy cause it would in fact fit.

    After graduating in 2019 I moved to California with my boyfriend and of course seeing all the delicious new fast food places I haven't been to yet ? What a score right !? I was still eating out pretty much the same amount but I felt bad about it because I had a goal I was still trying to reach.

    I want to be healthy I want to be happy.

    I stopped eating out as much, I only went out once a week and I stopped excessively exercising. I started drinking more water, I still drank soda of course but I limited the amount I know others completely cut things out of their life but I still enjoy my soda! :),

    Before the move I graduated June of 2019 I cashed in at 220 pounds.

    It's Tuesday October 27th 2020.

    Today I did the calculations. It takes the average person 10pounds in order to drop a pant size or gain. I've dropped nearly 9 pant sizes

    After weighing myself I've lost over 75 pounds and I can see it physically as well as everyone else around me. I feel better physically and emotionally. I know I have more work to do but I'm extremely happy and proud with myself.

    Mainly after reading so many of your stories it influenced me to write mine, I didn't know so many human beings struggled exactly like I did and I just want everyone to know who reads this and others stories, you got this ! You CAN do it and don't ever let another person put you down. ! 🧡🖤 Happy spooky month btw !

    submitted by /u/EsmeYuh
    [link] [comments]

    First day of losing weight

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 03:10 AM PDT

    First thing first 24 year old male 173cm height and 115 kg weight curently diagnozed with tachycardia and high blood pression (still doing tests)

    So today is the first day of my losing weight journey will keep updated with changes atleast once a week hopefully daily.

    First day

    Morning

    Food : Cereal (no sugar) and milk Exercise : 1 hour fast walking outside on park

    Lunch
    Food: Blended vegetable soup + 250 gr chicken breast (no sauces)

    Dinner Food: Salad mix (no sauces mayo ketchup etc just pure salad with olive oil)

    The idea is while i do my medications to lose as much as fat to reduce tachicardia and the high blood pression that i have from time to time. Any kind of advice would be helpfull (regarding food exercises etc)

    submitted by /u/Forthegainz96
    [link] [comments]

    What are your secondary coping mechanisms?

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 06:40 PM PDT

    They always say "replace a bad habit with a good one." It's such a nice thought, isn't it? When I feel like eating a bag of Doritos, I can just let off that steam with a good run, right? But that's not how it works for me. Is that how it works for you?

    Whenever I am conquering my food demons I compulsively pick my skin. Like, I stand in front of the mirror and pick at every single pore on my face. Or I chew my lip raw. I'm convinced that no one gets into the "obese" category unless they are using food as a stress reliever, an anxiety reducer, a problem go-away-er. So, I'm curious - What are your secondary coping mechanisms?

    submitted by /u/speedofaturtle
    [link] [comments]

    Feeling exhausted on 1400 cals

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 02:27 AM PDT

    Since March I have lost 20 pounds. It's been extremely slow progress as I have PCOS, but it's happening and I have 42 pounds left to go.

    I'm now 5'7, F and 182 pounds.

    I have always loved running and I run about 4-5 times a week, mainly 5-10k but sometimes I'll go a bit further if it's a weekend. I'll walk daily and often do at least one small hike at the weekend. I also do weights / HIIT in my bedroom every other day.

    I'm trying to improve my 5k time, and pushing myself when I'm training. I currently eat 1200-1400 in the week but on a Saturday I might eat to maintenance (as otherwise I'd just binge in the week - also, I want to keep having a life and drink alcohol with my friends, especially during corona times). I do 16:8 IF 8.30pm - 12.30pm.

    I'm finding though I am EXHAUSTED in the week and feel constantly hungry. I feel like in the day I'm just thinking about food and waiting for my next piece of allocated food. But my TDEE is 1400 with moderate exercise.

    How can I control my exhaustion without upping calories? As I've been losing so slowly I'm nervous to eat more.

    submitted by /u/lkjhgfdsaa
    [link] [comments]

    I (25/M 390lbs) Need some advice/help

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 12:06 AM PDT

    So for about a year I got on a big weightloss kick because I was at 409lbs and was like oh crap. I originally lost around 50lbs in 6 months of regular exercise and healthy eatting. The catch was, I lived alone at the time (well I had 3 dorm roomates I never seen much) and then after a year I moved in with an old friend who also is obese l, at first it was fine I was able to control my urges.. but over time I started to give in and before I knew it I was back up to 390lbs and I felt and still feel crushed. I feel like all that work I put in was for nothing and now I need some sort of advice for how to get back on the wagon. I am sorry for the rant but I would really appreciate some advice.

    submitted by /u/jastatank
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Wednesday, 28 October 2020 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 09:07 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    > I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.


    On reddit, your vote means, "I found this interesting" (...read more about voting on reddit)

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Losing Weight in VR?

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 02:03 AM PDT

    I'm a big guy. It's OK, I've always been a big guy, but lately, I've added a few more pounds than I would like, so I decided I needed to lose some of it.

    Turns out though having a sedentary job and a little baby means you can't always get to the gym, go for long walks, or run around the block, so I needed to find a different way.

    VR proved to be part of the solution. Turns out you can lose a fair amount of weight using certain VR games if you put your mind to it.

    In theory, I could have lost more than 12 pounds, after all when you lose weight you also gain muscle but honestly, 12 pounds is more than enough weight loss for two weeks. Doctors recommend not losing too much weight a week as it can cause other issues.

    Warning: This isn't going to work if you don't change your lifestyle as well. I lost weight sure, but if you want to keep it off and be healthy, not just thin, you will need to change your diet as well.

    This VR game is all about being hungry and coping with it, I think its very beneficial at curving my hunger pains and helping me lose it (weight) https://youtu.be/AeN-DnnyONI

    submitted by /u/lipnox88
    [link] [comments]

    Sharing for those night snackers like me out there

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 06:58 PM PDT

    Hi! I'm only a week and 2 days in but I'm someone who always wants to snack HARD at the end of the day.

    I made a vow to make not eating past 8:00pm a routine thing and I'm down 5 lbs and minimum of 1 inch in bust, waist, and hips.

    I'm planning to stick and implement this for a full month before it becomes second nature and routine before adding another thing (I'm thinking making sure all snacks are eaten without distractions, but please share any good food related "rules" as intake is my biggest challenge.) I try not to log on MFP because I did 3 years ago and quite honestly became super obsessive about it I didn't like that side of me..

    Anyways, just wanted to share some success and a nice strategy (as well as asking for another good one) for anyone out there who needs it!

    submitted by /u/i_need_ice_cream
    [link] [comments]

    Kick-ass salads/vegetable recipes

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 02:31 PM PDT

    I think we can all agree that eating tasty food is a good idea when trying to loose weight. A game changer for me was finding really delicious salad and vegetable recipes, and I would love to know if you have any to share.

    Obviously you need to be careful with the oils/nuts/seeds/honey in these - they can add up, but they are super nutritious and a little goes a long way.

    I'll share my favourites:

    Shredded carrot salad: Shredded carrot Pumpkin seeds (optionally toasted) Olive oil Salt & pepper Optional: finely chopped carrot tops/green onion/parsley

    Cucumber & tomato salad: Cucumber chopped finely Baby tomatoes chopped into halves/quarters A LOT of parsley and/or dill Olive oil Sea salt & pepper Optional: finely chopped red onion/green onion

    Sweet&Spicy broccoli salad: Toasted pistachios shredded mint leaves finely sliced broccoli fresh finely chopped red chilli pumpkin/sunflower seeds (optional toasted) Chopped dates, honey & lime dressing Optional: pomegranate seeds

    Young cabbage salad: Finely shredded young cabbage Finely chopped white or red onion Shredded carrot Shredded dill Lemon juice Olive oil

    Christmas Red cabbage: Finely sliced red cabbage, cooked slowly with apple and raisins (and a splash of red wine if ur feeling fancy)

    Green salad: Any type of green salad mix you like + lots of chives, parsley, basil leaves, thyme leaves, with a little olive oil and sea salt

    Quinoa salad: Cooked quinoa Any type of fairly easy to eat chopped veg (I use celery, tomatoes, peppers, shredded carrot, finely sliced broccoli/cauliflower) Green chopped herbs (my fav is parsley, chives, carrot tops) Optional: chopped raisins Dressing: honey, mustard, olive oil, horseradish

    My favourite chef Yotam Ottolenghi also has some great recipes on his website!

    Do you have any go to delicious ways to eat veg?

    Thanks 😊

    submitted by /u/ErikSanneTgeBigMan
    [link] [comments]

    Can't exercise? Food allergies? Menopause? It can still be done.

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 09:35 AM PDT

    I am 48, 5'7", AFAB, and when I went to the doctor on January 3, I weighed 296 pounds, and I said, "NO."

    I went home and started counting calories.

    I have some challenges. I can't eat most vegetables and fruits due to the fructose intolerance, the IBS, and the nightshade issue. I have arthritis in my feet due to a car accident in my twenties, so I have a standing budget that was challenged by simply the activities of daily life.

    I have lost 50 pounds. I have lost ten inches off my bust, twelve off my waist, and eight off my hips, ten off my thighs, and six inches off my biceps. That equates to one size down in shirts, down to a 38DDD bra from a 40 F/G (and I'm about to drop to a 36 band) and four sizes down in jeans. I went from a 24W to a 16 misses.

    I'm not done, of course. I need to lose another fifty to stop being obese; another thirty to forty after that will put me somewhere around my goal weight. But I have already seen many benefits. My standing budget is considerably larger now, and I've occasionally felt good enough to walk for pleasure when the weather was nice. I have much more energy and better recovery time from doing heavy work like moving furniture around. I am not hungry except right before a meal, and while I still want to eat ALL THE CHOCOLATE the first day of my period, I'm really not tempted by snacks. I eat small rational portions, and have some chips and candy every day. I eat red meat and fried foods. But it can still be done.

    I wish everyone success as they work towards their goals.

    submitted by /u/LadyAlexTheDeviant
    [link] [comments]

    I feel like giving up on weight loss?

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 10:06 PM PDT

    Hey everyone, I (19f 5 foot tall 195 lbs) am long time lurker on this sub.

    I've been trying to lose weight as long as I can remember but I just can't seem to pull together the motivation. I'll start a diet and the pounds will fly off, the first weeks will go really smoothly and I'll have fun doing it and thinking of new recipes and fun activities I can do outdoors. It will all happen really fast. And then... I'll stop. I can't really explain why, I just consistently just loose motivation to keep going, and that's the end of it.

    In the past I've mainly focused on calorie restriction. I've considered that maybe I eat too little calories and that's why I give up? No luck - even when I bump up the amount I still just... give up. I exercise by walking mainly. Since quarantine I've gained 20 lbs, I stress eat a lot (eating is the only thing that comforts me).

    I don't mind how I look- I think I'm pretty cute 75% of the time, but sometimes I look in the mirror and just realized I don't look how I want to look. Weight related illnesses run in my family, but to be honest that hasn't motivated me either. With the exception of a few key moments every so often (that fade) I just can't seem to really care that I'm really really overweight and I need to do something about it before my body starts seeing consequences for that. I think it might be hard for me because once I remove food I'm also removing comfort from my life. Even when I'm on a diet and I am comfortably satisfied I'll still want more. I don't binge eat.

    I'm sorry for venting but I'm at a loss. If anyone has experienced this, what did you do? Any advice?

    submitted by /u/pinkpostcards
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment