Weight loss: It’s really frustrating when people constantly comment on your progress and how they want to lose weight too, then listen to absolutely none of your advice |
- It’s really frustrating when people constantly comment on your progress and how they want to lose weight too, then listen to absolutely none of your advice
- I hit OneHunderland this week! I haven't been this weight in ~4 years - 35F | 5'2" • 1.57m | SW 242lbs • 110kg | CW 199lbs • 91.2kg | GW 143lbs • 65kg
- Food will always occupy a spot in my brain throughout the day; I'm an addict.
- Taking a day off and it feels good
- Credit to a previous poster!
- Lost 38 pounds...then gained back 18 :(
- Wear Clothes that fit well!
- People tell us that weight fluctuates but please understand that it can fluctuate by A LOT.
- i reached my pre-quarantine weight!
- Lost 65 pounds in 2019, gonna try and lose more.
- Having my first 'Cheat Meal' in 5 weeks
- [NSV] I finally have control over my binge eating (10 years of progress)
- I tracked my binge
- Let’s talk about metabolism.
- NSV - I ate only what I planned for
- 49 lbs to go before my goal weight!
- cardio yesterday, vegetable buying today!
- Lost 35 pounds! But now i’ve kinda stalled..
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: July 27th, 2020
- Scale Obsession: I need help!
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Sunday, 26 July 2020: Today, I conquered!
- finding joy outside of food
- After some time away, I'm back to try again.
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 03:27 PM PDT My roommate is always making comments about how good I look now, how cool it is that I'm eating healthy, etc. and asking me for advice about how he can make changes. And then he does absolutely nothing that I say/makes arguments against my advice. I had 40 pounds to lose to be out of the overweight BMI range. I didn't drink alcohol for an entire year until I lost that weight. I keep telling him he can't drink like he does and expect to lose weight, especially at first. I also almost entirely stopped eating out, I only ate out for family birthdays a few times the whole year. Instead of listening to anything I say he talks about how he doesn't eat out "that much" or drink "that much" in defense of continuing to do it. I tried to explain to him that a meal at chick fil a and a six pack, which he has for dinner several nights a week, is already more calories than I eat in a day. I think what's more annoying than not listening to the advice that he asked for, is the fact that he keeps talking about how WE should start working out more and how WE should start eating healthy, so WE can help each other with it... when I've been doing both of those things consistently for a year and a half. I don't know why he thinks I need help with it. Obviously I don't say that to him, he's probably just fishing for support, and so I am very supportive of these ideas he throws at me. He's attempting to mimic my habits without doing any of the things that I've told him actually matter and will make a difference (basic stuff, like actually exercising, not drinking, not eating fast food, counting calories). He's been buying the same exercise equipment which he then doesn't touch, got an activity tracking watch like I have, bought a blender like mine to make smoothies, etc. I never told him to do any of these things but he thinks it's going to make a huge difference because he sees me do those things. Yet won't listen to any of the things I actually say to do. I don't understand. I just... I hate when people think they can mimic a few of your habits and expect the same results without doing any of the actual work or research that you've done. People want an easy fix. But it's not easy. I am still really proud of him for trying and putting in effort to change. But holy shit it is frustrating knowing he won't see results if he doesn't do any of the things I told him that actually helped me lose weight. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 07:29 PM PDT The weightloss is accelerating and it is both motivating and unsettling. I started to recognise my face in the mirror and in photos again, but it also doesn't feel like me because I am unused to it. My goal weight is a number I have been in when I was quite active and muscled. Comparison photo wearing the same dress (that magically fits, while everything else is getting donated): http://imgur.com/gallery/gAtFGxe Photo on the left was my highest weight. I was quite ill and on medication that makes you gain weight, but I was also struggling a lot and eating to sooth myself on top of it. This was a rare good day, being out with my partner shortly after my discharge from having been hospitalized for my illness. Stats: 35F | 5'2" • 1.57m | SW 242lbs • 110kg | CW 199lbs • 91.2kg | GW 143lbs • 65kg I had been doing low carb for a while. I have been chaging how I eat for months. I only started logging my food and switched to keto on 12 July. I also upped a rough 14-16h fast to tracked fasts of 16h. Nowadays I sometimes fast 18-20h without effort. I can see that my eating habits were really crap now. There was medication, sedentarism, bad food choices, stress and mental illness causing me to gain weight, but I grew up quite active and was quite active until my 30s. It has been a long climb to work on so many things, but I feel so on track this time. I am rarely hungry, and it is not a hunger that hurts. I grew up being grumpy when hungry too, but it almost doesn't happen anymore. If I am hungry, I drink some water, then eat early. It is okay. It is now time to ramp my activity levels and get back into an exercise routine. I always enjoyed exercise and hiking, and I hope to be able to be outside more when it is less cold (it has been freezing cold and wet winter where I live). [link] [comments] |
| Food will always occupy a spot in my brain throughout the day; I'm an addict. Posted: 25 Jul 2020 04:22 AM PDT I've seen some posts lately about how hard it is to always be thinking about what food to eat. Always planning out your day and managing the junk food/health food balance. It definitely requires a lot of mental energy in our already busy lives. It's enough to make you want to quit. But, here's the thing... Think back to when you were at your highest weight. Did you worry about your health? Did you stress over how you looked? Did you feel like a normal person trapped in a larger body? Did it affect your relationships, your confidence, your energy level, your motivation? I can say for myself that all of those things were a part of my daily life. So, I realized something. Yes, I'm a food addict and I spend a certain amount of time each day giving myself mental pep talks. I plan out meals and I do worry about gaining weight. All of those things have become easier the longer I maintain my loss, but they're still there each day. But I would much rather that than the alternative. Giving myself the gift of control over my body has been life changing. I'm not returning that gift because it requires some effort. Keep going. Do not lose perspective. It's worth it. I promise! [link] [comments] |
| Taking a day off and it feels good Posted: 25 Jul 2020 09:40 AM PDT I'm two months deep into my new lifestyle now. I no longer gain my happiness or enjoyment from food. I no longer crave junk food the same way I used to. Ofc that doesn't mean I no longer ever want some "bad" things. I find it easier than ever now to stay on plan and yet here I am taking a day off. For no reason other than it feels nice to not track for once and to have literally whatever I want all day with no regard to calories. I went to get my Tim Hortons this morning for breakfast (Canadian eh lol) and will be going to a bakery for a piece of cake and then to my fav sub place for dinner. My total is around 2000 calories for the day. I added it up out of curiosity/ habit even though I said I wouldn't. It's nice to be able to do this without guilt. I might not be at my goal weight yet but I feel mentally already there 😊 [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 01:15 PM PDT I'm 80% sure it was on this forum, but just wanted to thank a previous poster for sharing their story. It was several months ago, and I have tried to find the post with no luck unfortunately! But I just wanted to thank the person who posted about how when they find themselves thinking about food/ treats, snacking, or deciding whether they are hungry, they ask themselves "Am I hungry enough to eat a banana?" And if the answer is no, they have a cup of tea, and if it's yes they'll have a banana! Well, I decided to try this for myself and omg, it works so well. I am often a victim of eating out of boredom. Currently, with my country only just easing out of lockdown, and also being well into the throes of writing a dissertation and therefore always stuck as home, this has been a major issue for me. So I took on this mentality of when I find myself daydreaming about what's in the fridge or cupboards, I ask myself "do you want a banana?" normally the answer is no, what I actually want is a spoonful of Biscoff spread or some rhubarb custard sweets, so I'm not actually hungry I just want a treat. So I have a cup of tea, and my cravings go away, or I have a proper snack like a banana! Sorry I can't find the original poster to provide direct credit, but whoever you are thank you so much for sharing this top tip! It's helped me to no end with my snacking habits [link] [comments] |
| Lost 38 pounds...then gained back 18 :( Posted: 25 Jul 2020 08:20 AM PDT Hi everybody! Long time lurker, first time poster. I started my weight loss journey last year in June (SW 170, female, 5 foot 3), and thanks to keeping a solid routine of weight training, swimming, and CICO at 1200 calories per day, I dropped to 132 pounds just this past February. I think it was just when I hit that milestone that I started to slack off. After all, my GW of 120 was just 12 pounds away. Surely I could eat an extra slice of cake, or skip the gym for a day. It also didn't help that I plateaued around this time so I was getting frustrated with not seeing any more losses on the scale. Then COVID hit. So no more swimming, or gym. All I did was sit at home all day and eat. I know I could have taken up jogging or worked out at home but I was just too lazy, I guess. Lounging on the couch watching Netflix was more rewarding. I eventually stopped counting my calories. The guilt was too much when I reached a week of 1800 calorie days. This morning , after months of binge eating and lazing around, I weighed myself. I'm at 150 pounds. It feels like I'm undoing all the progress I made, and I can't find the will to try again. Sorry for this depressing post. I guess what I'm asking for is any advice to get me out of this funk, and re-motivate myself to get back on track to losing. Any advice is much appreciated! Edit: Thank you, everyone, for your advice and support! I feel so much better now about this minor speed bump I've been dealing with. I really appreciate this community - you are all a wonderful bunch. Let's keep losing together! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 10:08 AM PDT I just wanted to post my personal experience over losing weight. As you keep losing pounds, I think it really helps that you wear clothes that fit you well. I'm not saying replace your whole wardrobe every time you go down a size but get a few things that really make you look and feel good! When I wear my bigger clothes, i can't really see any of the changes to my body and it slightly gets me down. The big shirt hides so much of it! I noticed when I started pulling some old clothes I had grown out of and wore them again, I just look so much better in them! Not only do I think I look better in them, I feel better and more motivated to keep working on it because I can see the changes! I think it has helped me consistenly get visual reminders of my progress and has helped me mentally a lot! Not to mention the little bit of happiness knowing I'm in a smaller size than I was before. I think any mental advantage should be taken and this has helped me! Just wanted to share my personal experience, obviously everyone has their own, and keep doing yours if it is working for you! Keep losing it! [link] [comments] |
| People tell us that weight fluctuates but please understand that it can fluctuate by A LOT. Posted: 26 Jul 2020 01:21 AM PDT I had a goal this month to lose 4 pounds. Instead, I went off track after a depressive episode triggered a few binges. I woke up to find out I had not only not lost any weight, I had gained another 5 pounds. I felt awful, but decided to get back on track. Didnt exercise, didnt starve, just had a normal lunch and dinner and made sure I drank plenty of water. The next day, I gritted my teeth and weighed myself again and, lo and behold, I was back to my regular weight and those 5 pounds were gone. One day. I feel like such an idiot for feeling so awful all day about it. Weight fluctuates by a lot, especially for women. Please keep that in mind before beating yourself up about overnight weightgain [link] [comments] |
| i reached my pre-quarantine weight! Posted: 25 Jul 2020 04:47 PM PDT the week right before my state had gone into its social distance quarantine, i reached my lowest weight. yet, the second i got the news that i'd be out of school for a few weeks, i really let myself go. i gained 15 pounds within a month. since mid-april, i have been working to lose that weight. it fluctuated a lot due to heavy binge-eating episodes every now and then. yet, as of today i have officially lost the 15 pounds i gained back in march! this also means i am back at my lowest weight again! i have lost a total of 25 pounds since last summer and now i have around 15 more to go until i reach my original goal weight. but, i am proud of myself for having reached my pre-quarantine weight! [link] [comments] |
| Lost 65 pounds in 2019, gonna try and lose more. Posted: 25 Jul 2020 11:34 PM PDT So I've never posted anything personal on reddit but I figured I'd put this here to maybe help motivate me to do this again. I'm male, age 16 and weighed 300 pounds at the beginning of 2019. When I checked my weight and saw that I pretty much instantly forced myself to lose weight. To my surprise, once I got into it it actually wasn't that bad. I started exercising 30-40 minutes a day (when I literally just didn't before) and made sure not to binge eat. I didn't do any big diets or anything, just made sure not to eat too much for lunch, then I kinda did whatever for dinner. And it worked great. While I was losing weight I was probably the happiest I have ever been. By January of this year, I weighed 235. I have been maintaining this weight throughout 2020, I'm still exercising, and I'm not eating AS much as I did before weight loss. However, I haven't been exercising as much as I could be, and I could eat even less. So I'm gonna try and start this up again. Just figured I'd post my progress here so I can maybe update it at some point with more results. My goal is to get under 200 pounds pretty much. [link] [comments] |
| Having my first 'Cheat Meal' in 5 weeks Posted: 25 Jul 2020 04:02 PM PDT So today Marks my 5 weeks and 14lbs lost and I'm super proud of myself I was not planing on having a cheat meal trough out my journey because I'm serious this time and have hit so many milestones and changes that I never though possible. But today I just felt sluggish and wanted to have one meal and lay down and rest untill the week started up again to get back to the gym but then my grandma texted me and she said she made me sweet and sour chicken and beans. My grandmas not much of a cooker and usually when she cooks no one wants any so I would always eat and much as possible. I was glad to break my fast and take a day off to eat her food, it's not exactly unhealthy but its later than I'd usually eat but I'm about to mark what I eat tomorrow because I know I'm not falling back into bad habits. Lol that's all! [link] [comments] |
| [NSV] I finally have control over my binge eating (10 years of progress) Posted: 25 Jul 2020 07:33 PM PDT For context, I want to share what binge eating looked like for me. It started back in college when I lived away from home for the first time and worked a job with shifts that ended at 2-3am. No longer under the constant pressure of parents always commenting on what or how much I eat, I took full advantage of my college's dining halls. I always ordered food after work which was either wings or pizza, enough food for 3-4 people but I ate it all myself. I was already fat since high school, but it wasn't the weight that signaled I had a problem. It was when I found myself forcing myself to keep eating even if my stomach was hurting. That scared me immediately and I tried to change things, but I found myself in this endless cycle of eating in a deficit/not binge eating for a few days then once it was the weekend, undoing everything. Many times, I wouldn't be able to get through the whole week and would end up caving in the middle of the week instead. I also held this (now very weird to me) idea that if I messed up by eating too much one day, then I'd give up for the rest of the day instead of minimizing the damage. I'd think to myself, well I mean today's a loss so might as well go all out and start fresh tomorrow. But tomorrow would turn into another bad day. It felt very much like one step forward and two steps back. I was also incredibly strict with myself. If I ate too much, I would be so hard on myself and get discouraged with myself instead of practicing self-compassion. I forced myself to do too much too quickly and it backfired on me multiple times, but it never occurred to me to start off slow/take baby steps. It was either all or nothing, otherwise that made me a failure. Fast forward to a few years out of college when I was 25. I was experiencing panic attacks daily and they were wearing me out. I had no idea where this was coming from and started group therapy for a year. This was the first time I started to connect how my anxiety/stress was tied to my binge eating. I had moved out of my parents' home and was living with my roommates. While my binge eating wasn't as bad as it was in college, it still happened way too often and I still had a hard time fending off the cravings. During this time, I lost around 30 lbs but would gain it all back since I still hadn't quite learned about slowly incorporating new habits and still tried to force myself to make drastic changes. Which, of course, backfired on me as it wasn't sustainable over the long term. Now to the present, I've noticed that for the past month that beating down the binge eating cravings is so much easier. Even if I don't lose weight or eat too much, I don't beat myself over it and let it go. If I ate too much during the day, I eat less at night instead of throwing up my hands and giving it up completely. When I get the craving to eat a lot of food, I'm able to take a step back and make different choices. I've also become a lot more accustomed to stop eating when I'm full, and not when I'm painfully full. It's now automatic for me to save half my meal for later instead of forcing myself to eat the whole thing. I've been seeing a therapist individually for the past year now and I believe it's because of that, I have a healthier mindset with food. Group therapy was still very helpful for me, but with one on one sessions, my therapist can focus all her attention on me pointing out things I may not have been comfortable with in a group setting. I know therapy and taking care of your mental health is brought up often for weightloss, but holy shit does it really make a difference. As a first generation college student and oldest child of immigrant parents, there was so much pressure and high expectations that I felt I had to fulfill. Eating/food was the only thing I felt like I had some control over. And as far as Asian parents go, my parents are actually a lot more relaxed than most and not at all like the stereotypes, but my weight was always my biggest flaw in my extended Asian family as well. (Now my parents don't comment on my weight at all as I've finally gotten it through to them that it's not helpful.) The last few pieces were dealing with traumatic events that happened to me that never got fully resolved or dealt with emotionally so binge eating became another way for me to cope. As I started with my therapist to work through it all, I lost interest in binge eating. It was so odd how my automatic response used to be to eat and just mentally check out while eating, but now I'm able to catch these moments of emotional stress and break it down. Food doesn't give me the false comfort it did before because now, I know better and that there are different ways for me to handle things. This is the most confident I've felt about my weightloss journey (even though I'm at my heaviest) because I no longer have to worry about self-sabotaging myself with binge eating. So I want to just say that if you're on the fence with therapy, give it a try (with the right therapist of course). [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 08:06 PM PDT This is a big step for me. Usually, when I binge I just forego tracking because I feel like I've already failed. I was feeling emotional tonight and we had sweets in the house. I wasn't hungry or anything, but I was definitely in an emotional place. I ended up eating a bunch of peanut m&ms, a couple reese's cups, and barbecue chips. I also had a couple beers. Instead of feeling guilty after it, I made myself track everything. I thought of it as a scientific process. I can mark the emotion I was feeling tonight as a trigger, and see how many calories I typically consume during a binge. I'm also going to consider other ways of coping with the feeling. Food doesn't solve the problem. Eating junk food reminds me of being a kid and being free of stress and depression. I can think of other things I did as a kid and maybe pursue those in moments like this. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 08:38 PM PDT Alrighty. So we're all familiar with BMRs (basal metabolic rate) and TDEEs (Total Daily energy expidenture). We're aware that things like NEAT (non exercise activity thermogenesis) and TEF (thermic effect of food) and other variables that affect our metabolisms. The number of calories we burn at our current body and weight are super important for figuring out a calorie deficit at which we can lose weight. I have a few questions about metabolism. I know that it slows down the more weight you lose (because it takes less calories to run a smaller body). I know that muscle apparently also adds to your metabolism, but from the research i've seen, it only adds a couple extra calories out? From a weight loss perspective, is it extremely necessary? Also, is it possible that staying in a deficit for a consistent period of time slows down your metabolism? If so, by how much? is it enough to stall or slow down your weight loss (besides the fact that lost weight = less CO)? Are there really such things as faster / slower metabolisms? How much do they vary by? How much does exercise really add to our calories out (since machines and watches overestimate). As long as weight loss is possible from a calorie deficit, is it necessary to exercise (aside from the obvious health/fitness benefits)? And lastly, metabolic recovery. Say you have been suffering from an ED for a while, does your metabolism suffer, and by how much? How does metabolism "repair" overtime? I've seen a lot of varying information about metabolism and how if we stay at too much of a low deficit it will damage it: what exactly is this damage? Answers to any of the above, if not all, would be much appreciated. I've been eating at a deficit to lose a pound per week for the past 5 months, I have lost 20lbs and have roughly 10 more pounds to lose until my goal weight. weight loss has slowed for me but i'm at the lowest possible calorie deficit i can be at that can be healthy for me. i wanted to know about metabolism as i haven't seen a solid list of information about it. I know this will be useful for more people as they educate themselves about weight loss through this sub! Much appreciated :) [link] [comments] |
| NSV - I ate only what I planned for Posted: 25 Jul 2020 06:32 AM PDT We went to visit my sister-in-law's last night to let our kids go play and swim for the evening. I have been tracking my food in MFP and had 1000 calories left for dinner. I ate only three slices of pizza and said that's enough. I felt strong about the decision and then went on with our evening not even feeling the temptation to go get another. Looking back it feels good to stick with the plan. [link] [comments] |
| 49 lbs to go before my goal weight! Posted: 25 Jul 2020 01:53 PM PDT SW: 183 CW:169 GW: 120 F/17/5'1-2" (ish?) 14 lbs gone off my body since quarantine started! I'm so happy to be heading in the right direction and breaking stereotypes and a family history of obesity. I'm almost back into the overweight category instead of obese (30.9 bmi rn) and I cant wait for the day I'm just overweight and chubby instead of genuinely obese. So far i've noticed my size in clothes shrinking, I went from a size 13 to an 11, but I could fit into my best friends size 9 shorts when we went to the beach comfortably too, women's sizes are crazy though. And I went from a size large to a medium, even though I keep accidentally buying a large as it slips my mind that i've lost weight- i never fail to be confused when a size large looks frumpy and a size medium fits my frame perfectly. I plan on losing six more lbs still before hitting my second goal weight, following CICO (~ I eat 1350 calories per day, exercise when I remember to although i've gotten into skateboarding and have decided to pretty much walk everywhere lately.) I can also feel the little bones in my wrist again for the first time in two years which is such an amazing feeling. I've been slipping up lately with my diet, but I feel elated to know even if I go over my limit by 150-200 calories, i'm still in a deficit for that day, and i'm still losing weight, even if it's slower. But hey! I'm officially back at my weight from January of 2019! Woohoo! [link] [comments] |
| cardio yesterday, vegetable buying today! Posted: 25 Jul 2020 11:19 PM PDT Started counting calories again a week or two ago; bought a scale, stepped on and discovered I was about ten pounds lighter than the last time I had, many months ago. I felt inspired. Got the gumption & self-motivation to do a walk/jog session yesterday and I forgot just how good those endorphins feel. I only jogged maybe 8 minutes out of 30, but it's a LOT for me. hips and knees hurt on the regular (a weird nerve thing + weight + big hips + out of shape) and I have asthma that kicks up sometimes, so cardio is hard for me to even try. I've been having a really hard time with self-acceptance lately, and I'm grateful that I did spend the time to get out and do "real exercise" again. The thing that rang through my head as I was showering afterwards was this: Your body is capable of more than you give it credit for, always has been, and always will be. Today my hips and knees ache a bit but I went out into the world to grocery shop and brought home more produce than I otherwise would. My eating habits have gotten better over the course of the last month because I moved into a place with a kitchen that actually has space and I'm remembering the freedom that being able to enjoy cooking gives me. I've made pulled pork, stuffed peppers, a fruit tart, curry, and all kinds of things in the last few weeks alone. Now I know that I'll USE the produce, I crave it, and I'm slowly working more into my life. I look at the way I used to eat and I knew I was unhappy; but I also know that space and a dishwasher and produce are all luxuries. I moved a month ago and now am worlds away from fast-food-every-day, and I can't wait to see how these long-term habits I'm cultivating make my head and body more bearable. It's worth a little more rent and maybe a little more worry over money. For me, CICO matters a lot to losing, but so does the actual improvement of the feeling of living in my body. I don't want to use sugar & carb heavy eating as a crutch for the rest of my life; I don't want to have the physical legacy of being born into a lower class family, even if I stay in the lower class; I want to feel at home, aware, like I care for and about this meat sack, and like I CAN keep caring about it. Thanks for reading if you did; I love this community, you inspire me every single day, and I'm grateful for you. Keep on keepin' on! 💪🏼 [link] [comments] |
| Lost 35 pounds! But now i’ve kinda stalled.. Posted: 26 Jul 2020 12:59 AM PDT Hi! First time poster haha. Sorta wanted to share my weight loss journey/experience and ask for advice on how to just make it part of my life in the long term! I recently lost 35 pounds during the quarantine. I was decently overweight before and was dealing with some self esteem and body issues, but now I am finally at a healthy weight and at a good place with my body and have a better mind set in general towards healthy eating and portion control. How I lost the weight; I got "Covid-19" and lost 15 pounds. I got very sick for two weeks, and was presumed positive of coronavirus and ended up losing 15 pounds, I also developed pneumonia towards the end which extended my recovery to be 100% healthy again but, despite it being the most difficult and painful illness that I have ever personally experienced, it kickstarted a weight loss journey that changed my life. When I got sick I had just come home from university after it shut down due to the pandemic. I was home for about 3 weeks before I got sick. I was at my heaviest that I had ever been and when I fully recovered I had lost 10 pounds (I lost 15 when I was sick but gained 5 back when I got better) and I could see a difference. I felt better about myself and I realized it was time I did something, and this was the perfect time if I could make it happen before I gained the weight that I lost when I was sick back. My dad was doing Alternate Day Fasting at this time and I decided to give it a try as well. I had tried Intermitted Fasting before because my family is all about those kind of diets. Or as they call it "Alternate eating schedules" because I guess it really isn't a diet. IF never worked for me though, but ADF did and I started losing weight and seeings results which made encouraged me to keeping going and now after 3 months I have lost 35 pounds. I follow a eating program of eating about 2000 calories on my eating day and 500 on my fasting days, and the days alternate back and forth. My brother, who was also on the overweight side also decided to do it and has ended up losing 20 pounds so far. He has a similar schedule but 2500 calories on his eating days. Sooo... I have kind of stalled out in my weight loss. I have been consistently losing 2 pounds a week but haven't for the last two week, I know it gets slower the closer you get to the goal but what can I do to speed it along? Also, any tips for incorporating lifestyle/eating changes into the long term? I want to stop doing ADF sometime but I am not sure what to do after haha. Thanks for reading if you did haha! And advice or comments are appreciated! [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: July 27th, 2020 Posted: 26 Jul 2020 12:17 AM PDT Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jul 2020 01:17 AM PDT A few weeks ago I started to change my lifestyle for the better, mainly to help me lose weight. I decided that I would only weigh myself every two weeks because I knew I would become focused on the numbers if I did it too much... However, as I started influencing my family to lose weight as well, they started to try to convince me to weigh myself every week as they did too. And now I find myself wanting to do it everyday. And yesterday, every few hours because I wasn't happy with my weight loss last week. I managed to resist, but can feel myself slipping. Has anybody got any tips on how to manage this? Thanks for reading ❤️ [link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Sunday, 26 July 2020: Today, I conquered! Posted: 26 Jul 2020 01:08 AM PDT The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)
Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jul 2020 05:48 PM PDT idk why, but the past two days I have been super down, not really feeling like doing anything, not getting excited about anything. i think it's because I've been comparing my appearance to how other girls my age look, girls I went to school with, and they're so pretty and I'm not feeling too good in comparison. I used to wear a little makeup and I used to feel pretty but recently I decided to stop using it and I feel that my bare face is too chubby, plain, and unattractive. with that, I'm also down because normally I like to eat my way out of feeling sad/bad but the nature of these feelings (stemming from feeling insecure) makes me want to avoid food, as I'm trying to lose body fat. but now I'm thinking, how do I find joy in the everyday if I can't look forward to food? how do you go from getting joy from food to getting joy from other things? I feel so heavily dependent on food for happiness. thanks for reading if you got here, I appreciate it [link] [comments] |
| After some time away, I'm back to try again. Posted: 26 Jul 2020 12:32 AM PDT About 6 or 7 years ago, I (29F) started on a weight loss journey with my mom and my best friend. We tracked calories, we exercised, we cut back on sugar, salt, soda. The whole 9 yards. I lost around 23 lbs. My best friend and I were even part of this sub. Then, I started work at a call center. I stopped eating right and exercising because of the old excuse, "I don't have time." I didn't gain all the weight back, but I did gain some. I decided I wanted to join a gym to start exercising again, so I did. After a couple of weeks with no changes in the scale, I quit going. I know it takes longer than a couple of weeks, but for some reason I wanted overnight results. I quit the call center job and got a job in retail. I started going to the gym again. Then, my aunt passed away from complications due to cancer. It was sudden and unexpected. I spiraled into depression, quit going to the gym again, and started eating anything and everything in sight. After about a year, I decided to start going to the gym again, I started using Noom, but I was still eating like trash. Garbage food is what I call it. I lost around 45 pounds. Then, my grandmother passed away from ovarian cancer. Again, I spiraled into depression and stopped going to the gym. Something strange was happening though. I was still losing weight. I was eating worse than ever (think 2 cans of Spaghetti-o's for dinner), but I was losing. Around my 30th birthday, I started having constant diarrhea and abdominal pain. Doctors kept saying it was gastroenteritis or ovarian cysts. 1 year and 1 day after my grandmother passed, I was diagnosed with colorectal cancer. I was 33. During treatment, I was still losing so the doctors told me to high calorie meals to keep my strength up. So, I did. It is now 17 months later, I have been declared in remission, and I was still eating high calorie meals until around 2 weeks ago. I ballooned from around 150 pounds to 194. 2 weeks ago, I started grocery shopping and meal planning. The meals weren't high calorie, but i was maintaining, not losing. Yesterday, I started counting calories again. I am using MyFitnessPal to log every piece of food that passes my lips. I am not going to stop drinking sodas cold turkey. That is a recipe for disaster for me. For sweets, I'll make sure my calorie budget allows for it. I am wanting to get back down to around 150 or 145 pounds. I will start exercising again. I will start at home first. I don't know if gyms are requiring masks, but I don't want to be on a treadmill while wearing a mask. Plus, my immune system is still low, so I don't want to be in public without a mask. This time, I'm going to stick with it. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment