Weight loss: [Challenge] Loseit's Great Detectives - Week 4 |
- [Challenge] Loseit's Great Detectives - Week 4
- Last night, I realized why losing weight was so hard for me a few years ago and so easy for me now. Losing weight while depressed is like playing on hard mode.
- Lost 12 kgs (26.5 lbs) during the quarantine
- Hit a milestone this week - 30 pounds!
- Don’t let the scale not moving discourage you
- Ive been walking 10km(6.21 miles) everyday and I think its working! Today is day 7. I’m so excited to finally see some progress.
- How do you guys have the time to walk 10-20 km a day?
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: May 9th, 2020
- I was doing so well. Then the gas station happened.
- This is how i lost large amount of weight.
- I'm desperate for help. I'm overweight, scared, and I don't know where to start
- Dropped a pant size today!
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 8
- I LOST MY FIRST 13 POUNDS! It's been a long time since I hit the 170s, honestly! >SW: 189 CW: 176 GW: 135<
- I'm on a low carb diet and I'm constantly exhausted, feeling like I have no energy. Is this normal?
- 80 pounds down since January! Am I doing this right?
- Is this ED behavior or am I fine?
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 09 May 2020? Start here!
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Saturday, 09 May 2020: Today, I conquered!
- “Love Your Body; An Imperfect Girl’s Guide to Positive Body Image” by Elizabeth Walling
- Daily Q&A Post for Saturday, 09 May 2020 - No question too small!
- Is Guilt About Eating Normal?
- Desperate for advice about dealing with depression and weight loss
- Help!!
| [Challenge] Loseit's Great Detectives - Week 4 Posted: 08 May 2020 09:20 AM PDT |
| Posted: 08 May 2020 09:06 AM PDT On mobile, so please excuse any poor formatting. A couple years ago, I found this subreddit. I was 5'5" and weighed 165 lbs. Halfway between healthy BMI and obese BMI. This subreddit is amazing, so supportive, so evidence based. I lost 30 lbs over 6 months. And it was hard. 1200 calories a day took all of my willpower. But with this sub's help I made it to 135 lbs. Being at home during COVID has understandably made me gain a few lbs. Two weeks ago I weighed in at 142 and I decided I'd give 1200 cals a shot again. And this time it is so much easier. Unbelievably easier. I'm already down to 137. And I realized last night, while talking to my husband, that it's because my depression is finally under control. I'm taking an antidepressant and I have regular check ins with a psychiatrist and let me tell you, the difference is astounding. I finally feel like I have willpower. I'm not eating to fill an emotional void. I realized that losing weight while my depression was completely unmanaged was like playing on hard mode. I'm making this post here to remind everyone to be kind to yourself. If you're having a hard time losing weight while also battling a mental illness, that's not your fault, and you're so strong for managing to stick with a plan despite that. Keep up the great work! This subreddit is so inspiring. [link] [comments] |
| Lost 12 kgs (26.5 lbs) during the quarantine Posted: 09 May 2020 12:43 AM PDT I've been struggling with being overweight for over 4/5 years now. My weight in 2014 was 75 kgs (165 lbs), and in December 2019 it had scalated up to 110 kg (242 lbs). I've been telling myself to start a diet and excercise for years now, to do something about it, I don't feel confortable in my own skin, but I never commited to do so. So I guess all it takes is an almost-apocalypse pandemic type of situation to change a mindset. In Argentina, the quarantine started in May 20th, so I've been eating healthier, trying out IF, also I'm not drinking any alcohol and I'm not ordering food from restaurants (but I'm not doing any excercise). It's been almost 45 days since and I've lost 12 kgs (26,25 lbs)! My current weight is 98 kgs (216 lbs). Just wanted to share my journey. [link] [comments] |
| Hit a milestone this week - 30 pounds! Posted: 08 May 2020 09:01 PM PDT This marks 30 pounds lost since the beginning of 2020. This year I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism and (after pushing for it with my pcp) started taking synthroid and it was honestly kind of like a switch being flipped. All of a sudden I had more energy to wake up in the mornings and go to the gym (back when gyms were open) as well as not feeling hungry for basically every waking moment of my life. I know that almost effortless moment will end eventually, but it's nice to know that it's not as uphill a battle as it was before. This puts me at the same weight as when I graduated college in 2018, and I've been able to fit back into dresses I haven't worn in two years, so I'm especially happy about that! [link] [comments] |
| Don’t let the scale not moving discourage you Posted: 08 May 2020 10:31 PM PDT When I first started my weight loss journey I lost weight quickly. But after two months I would have phases where the scale wasn't moving and I almost lost motivation back then. Honestly what saved me was that my scale linked to my phone and I could look at the data there. I went on weekly and monthly views and saw a downwards trend there and felt better. I also noticed through this something: the week before I get my period I never lose weight. It doesn't move bc I keep water weight and then suddenly just before I get my period I lose it all. The last days it happened again. Ate a deficit of about 800-1,000 calories a day - I should have lost 1kg or 2lbs this week. But the scale went from 76.6kg to 76.8kg over 7 days. I didn't mind. I knew what was coming and was just patiently waiting. And then within two days from 76.8kg to 75.6kg. Obviously I didn't lose 1.2kg in two days. My whole week before was finally showing and it's the best feeling. Here you can see how it looks. Don't let the scale not moving discourage you! Personally I prefer to weight daily because it's just more data points. It's okay that it will go slightly up some days as long as the trend is downwards. Your body is complex but if you eat in a calorie deficit it will pay off! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 08 May 2020 05:54 PM PDT When I started I was already on my weight loss journey starting at 218lbs (5' 8"F) and starting my walking at 207 after reaching a plateau. Ive lost 1 lb this week. So I'm currently at 206. I know, not really losing weight but I'm optimist that I'm just replacing that fat with muscle as i am pretty weak. (Cant even do a shitty push up) Anyways i just came back from today's walk and dont feel all that tired. Which is crazy because every single day before this has been a real struggle. I even found a route that avoids my house just so I wouldn't give into the temptation of giving up early. When i first started I couldn't even go the full 10k and straight up would give up at 10,000 steps (for reference a 10k is 13,000 steps) or split up the walking session like 2k here, 6k here, and 2k here. But once i found a good route, i had no choice but to go the full way. Today we(me and my mother, as im dragging her along with me) jogged more then any other walk and for the first time managed to finish the 10k under 2 hours at 1hr and 47mins. I eventually want to be able to jog the full thing without getting that jabbing pain in your gut and burning lungs. Im also getting a really nice tan too! [link] [comments] |
| How do you guys have the time to walk 10-20 km a day? Posted: 08 May 2020 11:13 PM PDT I keep seeing on the accountability threads that people are saying they consistently walk 10-20 km a day. How???? It takes me an hour to walk 2.5 km and so it would take 4 to 8 hours to walk that much. Is it expected to walk that much , like is that what everyone does these days? I keep seeing on the accountability threads that people are saying they consistently walk 10-20 km a day. How???? It takes me an hour to walk 2.5 km and so it would take 4 to 8 hours to walk that much. Is it expected to walk that much , like is that what everyone does these days? I keep seeing on the accountability threads that people are saying they consistently walk 10-20 km a day. How???? It takes me an hour to walk 2.5 km and so it would take 4 to 8 hours to walk that much. Is it expected to walk that much , like is that what everyone does these days? [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: May 9th, 2020 Posted: 09 May 2020 01:12 AM PDT Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! [link] [comments] |
| I was doing so well. Then the gas station happened. Posted: 09 May 2020 01:11 AM PDT I finally got under 84KG now I'm at 83.9 this morning. The first time in a Long time, especially now with quarantine. Plus I was eating well. I ate some noodles (appropriately portioned) till my brother asked me to go to the gas station. Then I bought 2 bags of chips. Ate one. 800 KCALS this day down the drain. And what fucking Bugs mr is that it wasn't even worth it. I feel like absolute shit and so guilty after. Plus it wasn't even the type of fucking chips that I like. This is just so annoying because I went to that gas station before and they didn't have what I wanted so I walked out. I WALKED OUT. Not buying anything. Yet this time I just had to buy something and I feel TERRIBLE about it. It learning for next time. But fuck Man I just feel so defeated. I'm trying not to binge the rest of the day. I probably won't eat till tomorrow. I'm just so. Urg. [link] [comments] |
| This is how i lost large amount of weight. Posted: 08 May 2020 03:00 PM PDT I have! On the 21st August 2016 I weighed and measured myself, measuring my arm, thigh, hip, waist, chest circumference with the aim of doing the same every month thereafter. I've dieted a few times over the years (I'm 38, have 2 children - 4 and 8) and had decided this is it. I was starting to feel old, my feet hurt, my hips and knees hurt and I wasn't happy (mentally) especially as I really didn't have much to be miserable about. My daughter was starting school and that was my focal point. I discussed with my husband if he would mind me shelving everything I should be about to be taking on for 9 months more (like going from part-time to full time working hours!) for sorting out my health. I did 3 key things - I read the book "8 week blood sugar diet" by Dr Michael Moseley, I watched the TV documentary ""fixing dad" which is based on the same principles. Reduce my sugar intake, stop such huge spikes in my blood sugar and therefore find it easier to maintain a healthy diet without needing to keep feeding my sugar addiction. I also downloaded the free Nike+ personal training app - I've done exercise in the past and it always ends with injuries so I wanted to make sure I'd have variety in my routine to stop that happening. The biggest change to my diet - no more bread, no more breakfast cereal! The blood sugar changes were instant, it took 3 days of feeling tetchy, headaches then I just suddenly felt ok. The diet itself has been bizarrely easy….feels odd saying that. I have my moments (once a month!) where all I want is carbs but then I just carry on. I take multi vitamins daily as I understand that such a restictive diet might need propping up. Ok so the results…. I'm not where I want to be (I still want to lose 10% body fat) but I guess I'm unrecognisable now. I was just over 18 stone on the 21st August. I am currently (8th May) 11 stone 12lbs (that's a uk dress size 20/22 down to a 12). I have NO joint pain at all, my skin is great, mentally - I can't remember ever feeling this good, I love the gym and have now started running 5k a week (I have never been able to run). I also have recently joined a boxing club which is brilliant - they have no idea about my weight loss and just judge me on my current fitness, which they deem to be good (hearing that made me so unbelievably happy). My tips: Drop the bread, don't try to replace it or substitute it with a 'healthier' version just start eating different things. Stop eating cereal, cutting out the sugar at breakfast has been key for me. Don't eat 'diet' food - just cook from scratch, eat healthily. If you are going to fall off the wagon make sure whatever it is it's damn good and worth it! The part in your evening meal that would be carbs just replace with green vegetables (kale, spinach etc..) Cauliflower instead of rice is actually very good, there's plenty of recipes online EXCEPT replacing pizza dough - that's a crime and just makes you miss pizza more. Don't think of yourself as on 'a diet' - you are changing how you eat forever! So, if you wanna have 'tea and cake' (I am English!) then do it, because the rest of the day/ week you will be back to living and eating healthily. When starting to exercise stay away from heavy impact (no running!) - if you are big, you'll wreck your joints and be in a lot of pain. It took me 7.5 months of body weight exercises (squats, press ups etc..) and strength training on my legs (twice a week) to get to a point of being strong enough (and light enough) to run. You will get there just go for consistency and sticking at it. Get the Nike+ app, it's free and will give you all the exercises you need. My aim was to build lean muscle. dm for any question [link] [comments] |
| I'm desperate for help. I'm overweight, scared, and I don't know where to start Posted: 08 May 2020 07:20 PM PDT I know I'm overweight, or obese, but as I haven't weighed myself in over a year I don't know how bad it is. Last I checked I was 110kgs. I'm 153cms, so you know... short and round. I hate my body, and I hate that I have no willpower. I know where my eating habits have come from, as I have a history of trauma, of being fed junk food by my father, and I know my mum used to use emotional eating to help her cope with the emotional abuse she suffered at the hands of my father too, which is a habit that I've picked up. She tried to instil healthy eating habits in my sister and I at a young age, because she always says how hard it is to lose weight once you're older. And for the most part I eat really healthy. I love veggies and will pack any meal with tons of veggies and protein. I have a love of potatoes which I'm trying to curb, but I don't really eat bread or pasta as I just don't really like them. My problem is snacking. I have no willpower and I struggle to say no to myself when I want to eat crap, or just have that "one more" snack. I'm studying so I have the constant excuse of needing study food, and something to occupy me while I work. My other problem is that I used to be relatively sporty, and was always active. I played hockey and cricket, and was mainly very good at hockey. Once I left highschool and exercise fell into my own hands I struggled a lot. I have depression, and I just let myself be lazy because I don't have the energy or willpower to force myself to do something. I used to walk 3kms to uni and back every day so that was at least something, but then.... I had an accident and hurt my back. I got a partially herniated slipped disc and a fractured coccyx which wasn't picked up and healed at a painful angle, and I spent about a year in agony before getting referred to a spinal surgeon who took me seriously and discovered the issues with my disc. He told me about 5 years ago (2015) that even lootlos10kgs would take a huge load off my back and stop me from possibly fully rupturing the disc. So I got physio for a while which helped, and kept walking because it was pretty much all I could do... but my snacking didn't stop and so my weight didn't drop. 5 years later and I think I've put on about 30kgs since then, and my back pain is present every single day. I thought having some kind of "lose weight or you'll throw your back out even more" ultimatum would spur me into action but I just kind of made the pain my new normal. I try to tell myself I've cut my life expectancy in half by being like this but that just paralyses me with fear, and of course when I'm scared what do I do? I eat. The worst part was that when I tried to get myself going again I felt great. I can't do much with my injury, so I started swimming (around 2017). I joined a casual group and swam with them 2x a week and then by myself 2x a week for an hour each time and I felt really good. Then after one session I got home and saw that the coach of the group had put up a video of us all, and there was a large section in there of me... me trying to pull myself out of the pool, me doing the press ups, me getting back in to swim... and her in the background chuckling. I just sobbed. I felt like a joke. Like no matter what you do, skinny people will always feel superior, even when they have no understandings of the battles you go through. Why even try to do anything when all you're gonna get is laughed at? Laughed at for being fat and then laughed at for trying... I just felt defeated. I never went back and I havent swum since. I don't have the self esteem to fight back against that bullshit, but one of the other older women in the group did call her out and told her it was gross. A year after that (2019) I moved countries and I didn't have a car, so I bought a cheap bike and started biking. It was great - new country, new start. I was still embarrassed by how fat and how unfit I am (having to use all my strength to pedal up hills while everyone else zooms past isn't the greatest feeling, so sometimes I would get off and walk my bike to save myself the shame) but I felt like I was at least doing something. I moved with my partner about a month ago, and I haven't biked since all of this coronavirus stuff because I've been stuck at home. I take the dog for a walk once a day, but that's it. But yesterday I got on my bike again. I biked for 10 minutes and I was absolutely done. I was panting so hard, I couldn't even get up the smallest hill my legs were shaking, I felt like a complete failure. I have no idea what to do, and I feel like I'm at a breaking point now where either I just stay like this forever, or do something to change. I feel like I need to get back on that bike every single day even if it is just 10 minutes, but I'm just so embarrassed that I can't do anything. And even when I try to exercise, I have absolutely no clue how to go about getting my overeating and sugar cravings under control. It's like the most dangerous addiction. TLDR: I'm obese and unfit, suffer with shame and embarrassment with exercise, and I have a major sugar addiction. I have no idea where to even start to get my life under control. I guess I'm just looking for any advice or pointers, even encouragement... anything. Because I have no idea what to do. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 08 May 2020 07:47 AM PDT I'm not really doing a lot, I cut all of the junk food this quarantine and I'm exercising a bit every day. But today some jeans that used to only fit if worn in a specific way (waistband below belly) were hella loose on me (they fit around my waist now without a problem), so I decided to try on a pair that is a size down and definitely didn't fit before. They came up and zipped easily. I'm not sure why but I started crying of happiness, lol. I then proceeded to try some old workout bottoms I didn't want to give away to goodwill because I was hopeful they'd fit some time later this year. They came up all the way to my waist too (still a bit snug, to the point that they make my butt look very flat and squished in, but hey - THEY FIT NOW!) Anyways, this got me really excited and more motivated to continue. :D [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 8 Posted: 08 May 2020 05:09 PM PDT Hello losers, We made it to Friday! Weight by end of month (200 lbs, preferably trend weight): 206.4. Considering my uterus is trying to claw its way out of my body, I'll take it. Stay within calorie range (1500 ish): Maintenance day, gonna have steak & fruit salad with the $ melon. 1/1 weeks weekly calorie average. Exercise 5 days a week: 30 minute lunch walk & hopefully HIIT or low impact cardio, maybe yoga. 7/8 days. Self-care time (journaling, working on love journals, beauty treatments, drawing 0/8 days): New shoes came. Lord are they comfy. Like a hug on my tootsies. Try a new recipe once a week: So, if I make an old recipe but add a significant ingredient that changes the flavor profile, like a ham shank to a previously meatless soup, does that count as new? Asking for a friend. Sweet roasted chickpeas with nuts so far. 1/5 weeks. 50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Will make some time for this over the weekend. X/50 pages. No fast food, candy from the work dish or Starbucks: Check. I thought I would be craving fast food but I'm craving my Starbucks drink. I have a really nice at home coffee setup running so it's not like I'm deprived. Funny how brains work. 8 day streak no fast food/Starbucks, 2 candy related lapses in judgement. Listen to my effing body: My body is complaining about shedding iron & I'ma put some steak on that. Be more mindful & express gratitude, avoid the hedonic treadmill: Spent some time going over my priorities, wants, desires, dreams etc. Sometimes reminding yourself of your cardinal direction is very necessary. Onward ho! Your turn! Any exciting weekend plans? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 08 May 2020 09:40 AM PDT I did it, oh my god lol. I lost my first 13 pounds!! I don't know how long it's been since i hit the 170's, honestly. I have fluctuated upper 180's for 2 years. Once hitting low 200's... It is so small but so triumphant. I stopped the sodas ( i drank 4 a day) and am eating 1,350 cals a day roughly now. Some days are bad, others i knock it out. I don't let the bad deter me from success. I am doing this for me, and let me tell you, my family has a plethora of health issues... i needed to do this. At only 22 i shouldn't be obese, i shouldn't be so lifeless, and low energy. I am transforming and idk the point of the post but it's a victory. I just needed to share it. [link] [comments] |
| I'm on a low carb diet and I'm constantly exhausted, feeling like I have no energy. Is this normal? Posted: 08 May 2020 11:59 PM PDT Since about 10 days I've been on a fairly strict low carb diet and I also do calorie counting. It's been going well, I don't have as many cravings as I thought I would and they're fairly easy to resist. I'm also doing a home workout routine for 45 mins a day, 5 days a week. I've lost 5 pounds so far, which is great! The problem is I feel very physically exhausted all the time. I went to bed super early 2 days in a row now and I still woke up feeling weak and wanting to lie back down. It's especially bad after a workout. Is this from lack of carbs? Did anyone else experience this? Will my body eventually adjust and start taking its energy from my fat reserves or is low carb just not for me? I don't really want to change my diet since it's going so well... Grateful for any advice! Edit: Should probably also mention I'm a pescatarian though that has nothing to do with wanting to lose weight. [link] [comments] |
| 80 pounds down since January! Am I doing this right? Posted: 08 May 2020 06:29 AM PDT Sup everyone! Male, 20, 6'1" here, and I just hit 350lbs from a starting weight of 430 in December/early Jan. I'm feeling amazing of course, and it's really cool to see my efforts pay off. But, I've been struggling with some self doubt in my methods for losing weight. Here's what I'm doing now:
The other three I'd probably do no matter what diet or meal program, but what has me concerned the most is the calorie consumption. I enjoy eating less as it's saved me a shit ton of money on groceries and fast food, but it's pretty low. I plan on eating around 2000 cals once I've hit my goal weight of about 220lbs, but I don't want to gain a bunch of weight back. Should I be concerned? [link] [comments] |
| Is this ED behavior or am I fine? Posted: 08 May 2020 05:25 PM PDT I've been counting calories for a while now (about 3 months) and I do realize it's a slippery slope. The things I see celebrated in some weightloss subs scare me. But that lead me to be extra mindful of showing signs of unhealthy diet thinking. So right now I don't know if I'm showing one such sign or if im simply overthinking. I hope someone can give me some advice. The short version of my situation is, I can't seem to up my calories from 1200, even if I tell myself I will. The long version is, I realized I'm losing way too fast at 1200 and I wanted to aim for 1300 - 1500 calories a day. The thing is I cycle my calories. So to be specific, I aim to end every week at about 10000 calories. But I don't. I stay at 8400 (1200 a day). Something always happens, for example one day I just won't be that hungry and I'd say "ok, I won't force myself to eat, I'll probably be more hungry tomorrow and I'll make up for it", but I'm not and I don't and then it's the end of my week and I end it at 1200/day again. Or sometimes I'll save about 1000 calories and eat very healthy so I can have a "cheat day" at the end of my week but when it comes I don't want to do it because "wow I had such a healthy week! why should I ruin it? I'm not even in the mood to eat junk good" And I honestly don't know if I convince myself or if that's honestly what I feel. So I'm kind of confused and I'd like some objective input, TIA! [link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 09 May 2020? Start here! Posted: 09 May 2020 03:25 AM PDT Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweightOur bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You StartThe very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. TrackingHere is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your DeficitHow do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. ExerciseIs NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel awesome and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, RunIt can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. AcceptanceYou will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resourcesNow you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
[link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Saturday, 09 May 2020: Today, I conquered! Posted: 09 May 2020 01:09 AM PDT The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)
Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often! [link] [comments] |
| “Love Your Body; An Imperfect Girl’s Guide to Positive Body Image” by Elizabeth Walling Posted: 08 May 2020 10:20 PM PDT I thought that since I just finished this today, I would make a quick post about some highlights from this book. This book was simple and straightforward. It's an easy thing to listen to while doing other things. It contains some good reminders (nothing really "rocket- sciencey" or mind blowing here.) It also asks a bunch of questions at the end and throughout that could be used as journal prompts. I have to say it would serve as a good introduction to the concept of self love as it is quite surface level but covers a good amount of factors that play into body image. Highlights that stuck out to me were: -Be more aware of when you use body hate and self shaming to connect with other women in the form of putting your body down. For example, clothes shopping and you and your friend picking apart aspects of your appearance: my thighs are too big, etc. -You can love and accept your body but still work to improve and change it -Body hate is a mindset that won't change once you lose weight or get more toned, etc. She argues you must learn to love your body right now. -She talks about not punishing and listening to your body. -She challenges you to list all the ways insecurity around your body are holding you back... and that it's not your actual body- it's your mindset. -Comparison is futile and superficial. That we need to remind ourselves that us comparing our looks to that of others is not taking the whole person into account. Others beauty doesn't diminish our own. To look at it as unique beauty instead. -She talks about the beauty industry and all the ways images in magazines are not a true reflection of the model even let alone a feasible standard to measure yourself against. Final thoughts: It's a bit of a shame she gendered this book because it seemed quite unnecessary. She did not include any studies or data from women, so I feel that these simple concepts could have been gender neutral as it could have applied to any human being that struggles with body hate. I wish that if she was going to delve into specifically body hate issues females or those who identify as female face, then that could have been done. It could have gone into depth and included studies, etc. Overall I'd say it's a good overview and reminder of basics of self love in regards to your body for women or anyone! [link] [comments] |
| Daily Q&A Post for Saturday, 09 May 2020 - No question too small! Posted: 09 May 2020 03:00 AM PDT Got a question? We've got answers! Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small. TIPS:
[link] [comments] |
| Posted: 08 May 2020 10:58 PM PDT Before I get into it, sorry for posting this kind of thing when it's something I should deal with personally, but it's been on my mind a lot lately. I'm happy with how my body is progressing with my diet and exercise, but nowadays I feel so guilty after I eat. I try to stay away from food until 1-2 hours after I wake up, and then I feel bad if I eat again before I work out. But, by the time I'm done exercising and showering, it's usually just 1-2 hours before my family eats dinner, so sometimes I skip that meal entirely and just wait. The issue is, if I have even the tiniest snack, I'll think about how I shouldn't have eaten that for hours. And then after I eat dinner, I legitimately lose sleep over how guilty I feel for eating unless I go to bed feeling some hunger. Is this a normal way to feel when you diet? I hate myself so much if I eat more than 300-400 calories before dinner, drink less than 4L of water in a day, or go to bed feeling full/with a food baby. Honestly, I have no idea how much I eat during dinner. I couldn't tell you if it's 600 calories or 1500, because sometimes it feels like "blackout eating" where I don't realize how much I'm eating until I stop. The only saving grace with that is that I make sure the vast majority of my dinner is just vegetables with no dressing or sauces. But yeah, I guess I just want to know if anyone else feels this way, and if it's just a part of the dieting process and I'm being a crybaby for complaining about it lol. [link] [comments] |
| Desperate for advice about dealing with depression and weight loss Posted: 09 May 2020 02:07 AM PDT So I am sorry for any possible grammatical errors, I'm not a native english speaker. I am 19 years old, female, 160 cm and weight 76.5 kg, I am very motivated to lose 16 kg and get my life back together. The problem is, this is not the first time I am on a weight loss journey, back in 2017 I Iost 14 kg and was almost done with it (weighted 62 kg), wanted to get as healthy as possible, things were going great at the time, I was exercising, eating right, was very motivated to feel good for the rest of my life... But then life hit me. To make a summary my parents started fighting, a lot (their marriage was deteriorated since 2015-2016 or so) and I just couldn't bare with it anymore, I was the one who told them to get a divorce and that was what happened some months after, and to be honest I don't regret it, but what came after really fucked me up. On my 17th birthday they went to get a divorce instead of celebrating with me, fortunately my dad took me out to dinner in the evening, and right there we saw my mom with some man, none of us said anything. My dad left one month later, and it really crushed me, I was talking to him on the phone but it wasn't the same, at that point I started to emotionally eat again, but it wasn't so bad. My mom started going out A LOT, and really, she was not the type to do so, but I couldn't do anything about it, I had school, studying a lot to get into university bla bla bla... But then she brought home a man. I didn't really like the idea, especially when things changed so quickly, but what could I do? After some weeks I started to binge eat, I felt alone, my dad was far away from me, my mom was meeting some weird guy, things didn't go that well at school and my "friends" didn't really care about me or my life, so my only comfort was food, a lot of food. This was the point when things started going downhill. Then my dad visited, and in the same time my mom came to me and said that guy would live with us from now on (so they knew each other for 2-3 months and wanted to live with that guy already? Yes, I suspected she cheated on my dad when they were still together), of course I was angry, I started crying and went to my dad, who got furious when he found out. Went back to my mom, took all of my things (that was the most crushing thing I've ever done, that room will never be mine again) and just put all of them in my dad's one room apartament, where we lived together when he was not working. Now the story is already too long, so to speed things up I was sad, ate a lot of cheap shit because we didn't have a lot of money, then my dad left for work. Now I was alone for real, my mom was mad and she choose that guy over me, my dad left and same deal with the other people. There were days when I would binge on candy and nothing else, only chocolate for 2 days or even more, I felt like shit. In the meantime I got into university and lived in the dorm, witch was the best compared to the nasty apartament with cockroaches. My mom was in and out of that relationship with that guy, now he doesn't live with her anymore. I started to feel better, still sad and eating like shit tho, at this point I regained all of that weight. Coronavirus came and I left the dorm, didn't have a place to go now because my dad sold the apartament... So I came to my mom. Oh boy she is now taking that sweet revenge by verbally abusing me, bringing home weird guys and shoving it in my face that I can't get a date. I'm not even staying in my old room, but the guest room because she moved her things there. So the first weeks were super depressing and I kept stuffing my mouth. But right now I am super motivated to lose weight, I want to get out of this quarantine looking healthy again and not wanting to die, my depression is not as bad as it was 1 year ago and I hope I can deal with this. I know how to lose weight, I've done it before, but I am afraid that life will hit me again and stupid me will deal with that by eating food. So please, tell me what can I do to prevent that? TL;DR : Depression came, ate a lot, depression a little better, want to lose weight, but afraid of what would happen if it gets worse. Need advice. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 09 May 2020 01:36 AM PDT Hello I'm a 15 year old who's been overweight my entire life. I've lost weight on and off for the past 5 years but as of recently I've reached my highest weight of 210 lbs(I am 5'7). Every time I lose weight my family always tempts me with my favorite foods and say things such as "you'll never lose the weight" despite being overweight themselves. It's honestly really frustrating to hear. 3 days ago I decided to work out and eat a little healthier, and it's going pretty ok but the only thing I'm worried about is quitting after a week. Are there any tips I could use to help me lose weight by the time the next school year starts? [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment