• Breaking News

    Friday, March 27, 2020

    Weight loss: I feel a little bit like a unicorn

    Weight loss: I feel a little bit like a unicorn


    I feel a little bit like a unicorn

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 04:49 PM PDT

    Is anyone else eating LESS because of the stay-at-home order? I went from having primarily my two toddlers home and two in school and a husband at work and commuting all day to all 6 of us together all day. They keep me so busy!

    Don't get me wrong, my toddlers kept me busy too but they napped a lot and played and we snacked a lot all day so I'd snack with them. Now I'm just a snackmaker/chef/referee/entertainer or we just run around the yard so they can use up some energy. I'm so tired and I've lost two pounds since the quarantine and I am all for it. I haven't been outside this much around my own house in forever. We've been gardening,trimming trees and bushes, throwing the ball around, racing, playing tag and as an introvert I love being able to have a valid reason not to go anywhere. I could get used to this.

    submitted by /u/baxoxig
    [link] [comments]

    I have a healthy bmi! (Lost 68 lbs.)

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:47 PM PDT

    Started about two years ago at 93.9 kilos (207 lbs) at 159 cm (5'2 1/2"). My bmi was 37.14

    I've lost weight before, and gained it all back, + 50 lbs. It seemed like an endless mountain I'd have to climb to even get to a healthy weight, much less my goal weight. The last two years have been extremely hard, I lost everything in my life. My apartment, my dog and then finally my boyfriend. (Neither of them died, just aren't in my life anymore.) I plateaud hardcore for a solid year, since food is my coping mechanism.

    But January 1, not as a resolution, but coincidence, was a turning point. I was completely sick of feeling like crap all the time. I'd gained some weight back at that point, and was overeating, overdrinking and smoking weed every single day.

    I quit cold turkey, and, with a few bumps here and there, have lost a whopping 36 lbs since.

    As of Tuesday, I am in the healthy bmi range. Only just, and I'm not comfortable enough just yet to post pictures. It was at times the hardest thing I've ever done, and gradually became easier, and harder at the same time. But fucking hell, I made it. And I'm kicking ass.

    submitted by /u/Morigyn
    [link] [comments]

    Struggling with temptations at home? �� PRE-LOG �� YOUR �� FOOD! ��

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 06:35 AM PDT

    Seriously. I get that we're all at home, feeling a weird mix of stress and boredom. A bad combination for comfort eating. It's too easy to wander into the kitchen whenever you want to scrounge up a snack.

    Pre-log everything before it goes into your mouth. EVERYTHING. Even if you've decided to take a break from your calorie deficit and eat at maintenance for a while. Keep yourself accountable.

    Whenever you grab a snack, whip out your kitchen scale. Weigh your snack. Whip open your MFP app. Throw that sucker in your diary. It'll take you an extra 30 seconds and keep you way more accountable.

    I've been doing this myself and finding it helps so much. I decided I wanted a toasted English muffin with cheese. I cut up a bunch of cheese to put on my English muffin, then grudgingly weighed it out and put it in my diary. Then I saw it was like 400 calories. Shit. I put half of the cheese back in the bag.

    Those little things add up. Don't let lack of accountability derail all your hard work. Pre-log!

    submitted by /u/toxik0n
    [link] [comments]

    I did it!

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:45 AM PDT

    Today I hit 140.0 exactly.. it's been since mid May of last year that I've been working towards this goal of breaching the healthy BMI range. I plan to attempt to get to 130 or 125 depending on how quickly those lbs come off.

    I feel like my second wind of motivation is coming since losing it while being in quarantine. I've moved back to IF and upped it to 20:4. Making sure to do yoga and/or a long walk with the dogs every day. Looking back at the 56 lbs I've lost I've realized how easy it's been for me because I've changed not only my weight but my habits. Eating mindfully and moving every day is now as important to me as brushing my teeth and washing my face. It really does get better.

    submitted by /u/am_ma_am
    [link] [comments]

    It’s weird how little food you think you eat until you start writing it down

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 10:22 PM PDT

    I've just started efforts towards losing weight again, and it's weird how not hungry I am. During quarantine I've been eating upwards of 5,000 calories a day and it got to the point where eating felt gross. Compulsive eating is just such a deeply ingrained habit for me that overeating is consciously subconscious (as in, I recognize that I am doing it habitually).

    I eat around 1,500-1,700 calories a day. Today I snacked on a large Dairy Queen blizzard with my mom and sister. That shake was 1,800 calories, which is 200 more than I ate today. I don't have any regret, even though it more than doubled my calorie count today, but it was weird to think about. I'm so okay with eating just enough calories for me, so it was weird to realize how much I used to eat without thinking about it. Then, I would wonder why I gained 5 pounds of fat in a week.

    It's a strange realization for me more than anything.

    submitted by /u/caradized
    [link] [comments]

    Reconsider Intermittent Fasting/Extended Fasting if whenever you eat you binge

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 01:57 PM PDT

    I've recently realized that I needed to take a step back and consider the bigger picture:

    Weight loss comes down to consuming fewer calories than you burn.

    I realized that when I finish my fasts I think I get to "make-up for" the calories I didn't consume during the hours that I've been fasting. I end up eating like 3k calories for a meal. I realized eating 3 small-moderately sized meals with my family is more effective than one giant meal at the end of the day. Eating this way, I end up consuming 1200 calories a day versus 3,000.

    Maybe someone needed to see this and be reminded of the bigger picture. If you've been able to eat a normal amount of calories at the end of your fast, then keep doing what you're doing. It's all about trying things and seeing what works for you. Just some food for thought.

    submitted by /u/sydneyd22
    [link] [comments]

    Being active while Working from home

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 07:10 PM PDT

    Since starting to work from home, I've made a slight change to my routine that has actually been helping out a ton.

    I realized that while I'm at work, there were a lot periods where I'd be waiting for something to load on my computer. Waiting for meetings to start, lots of time listening to others in virtual/phone meetings, etc. where I would just grab my phone and browse social media, check email, etc. generally just sit there and wait. Now that I'm at home, I've since made it a habit that whenever any situation like this happens, I take a few minutes to do some pushups, sit-ups, jumping jacks, etc. I also take breaks every hour, just a few minutes, to get away from the computer and do the same. I can usually get in 100 of each a day now. Just over the last few weeks my endurance has skyrocketed. Prior to doing this I could only do a few pushups before getting too tired/sore. They've already my become immensely easier to do and my mobility in general is improving by a lot! I still do my regular exercise routines, but throwing in these extra, small bursts have made a tremendous difference. As much as I can't wait for things to get back to normal for everyone, and I can go back to the office, I have to say I'll miss finding these times to just get in a little extra activity than normal.

    Then again I might just decide why not and do some pushups in front of coworkers anyway when this is all over lol.

    submitted by /u/Jgray19
    [link] [comments]

    I failed today

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 07:15 PM PDT

    I failed today, I ate half a pizza and some lemon tea cake that I made.

    Being an extrovert locked in has done its toll on me. When I did finally leave my house today it wasn't a social visit, but a sad drive with a loved one to say goodbye.

    I had picked up my friend from her apartment and drove her and her best friend to the vet. She had gotten too old, too tired, and too frail to continue. I had to be there to help my friend help her best friend in a time where it was needed.

    So I went home, grieve baked a loaf and ate a pizza. I have no regrets and I know I will be back tomorrow, but I failed today.

    submitted by /u/marzipan_winters
    [link] [comments]

    I( 20F) have put on 70 pounds, struggling to deal with this new reality

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 07:44 AM PDT

    Sorry, if this is a bit long,

    I fully understand that there are things out there much rougher than a weight gain, but, mine, and I apologize if this unintentionally comes off as shallow to anyone, has just left me stressed, sad, and put me in a space where I'm constantly angry at myself.

    I started dating my boyfriend about 4 years ago, at 17, I'm 20 now. It was just one of those things where, I subconsciously was like, "Ok, I'm comfortable with him." and the weight started to snowball, especially since we were together multiple nights a week. Since neither one of us can cook, it was a diet of things like pizza, wings, burgers, and ice cream as a night cap. He's kept the potential weight off by being a gym rat, lifting, running, basketball, things like that. I was never one for working out aside from an occasional treadmill session.

    I'd like to think he's not mentioned my weight due to the unwritten, " Never bring up a girl's weight" rule, or he's just too nice to. In hindsight, I should've gotten a hold on this sooner, but I was always thinking, " its no big deal, it'll fix itself, go ahead eat the _____". If the clothes got tight, I just bought new. If some part of me looked bigger, I just passed it off as a random bloating. If I felt out of shape, I'd blame the weather or not getting sleep.

    Finally, and hesitantly, I stepped on the scale. I'm 207. A far cry from the 130s I used to be. For what it's worth, and, full transparency, I'm 5'6. I don't like anything about my body, obviously overweight. I'm always finding myself with the intention to start to lose weight. I'll google diets, download apps, but, just that ashamed feeling stays with me and, seems to prevent me from sticking to my plan. I'll exercise, but then convince myself I should reward myself with junk food, undoing the exercise. I'm worried about my body, I'm worried I'll be dumped.

    It's caused me to be really self-conscious, not wanting to be the " friend with the weight problem" or the " girlfriend with the weight problem." Since I'm too nervous to bring it up to him, my boyfriend really has no idea how I feel about this, we keep our nights of wings or pizza, etc. I realize that, no matter what, I should love myself, but, I just don't feel that now.

    What can I do to get out of this bad place?

    submitted by /u/CALIF4Ever
    [link] [comments]

    I would post a progress pic but I realized that I have never taken a photo of myself that I liked/saved before I started losing weight

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:28 AM PDT

    I can't actually "see" a difference in myself so I wanted to go through and find an old selfie to compare to the ones I've been taking recently and realized I had NONE. All through my teenage years where all the girls were taking selfies and posting on snapchat and insta,, I felt so left out because I just didn't have the confidence. I don't have any pictures of myself on any of my social medias and I never even noticed until now..

    Even though I don't see any change in my body I know that it's changing because of how I feel. I feel happier. I do a little spin in front of the mirror in the morning. I'm wearing clothes that I used to burst out of. Things I wouldn't dare to wear before (showing skin! Crop tops! Oh my!) I don't see a difference but I know there has to be one because I'm not telling myself how ugly I am every day and covering up reflective surfaces (seriously... dark times). I am so proud of myself. I ordered a swimsuit online for some sort of goal to work towards and I'm almost thinking it might be too big when it gets here.

    I'm starting to take pictures of my face, side profile (body) and hands to use as monthly progress photos. I also took measurements for the first time and I am going to keep doing that monthly as well. I feel bad for not having any documentation of my late-teen years, but I'm very excited to see where I go from here.

    35lbs down, so much more to go :)

    submitted by /u/humanchonker
    [link] [comments]

    Finally Back On Track and Wanted To Share With People Who "Get It"

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:50 AM PDT

    My husband is supportive but as a skinny mini, he just doesn't quite understand. Also, he never notices I lost weight unless I show him comparison photos, lol. I just wanted to share with people who would understand.

    Originally, I lost 160 lbs and gained about 20 back. I have been stuck at 248 for aaaaaaages, with occasional fluctuations that mean nothing. But since this whole quarantine thing, in spite of being locked up with a ton of junk food, I have been back on track.

    In the last two weeks I have lost 16 lbs, which is exciting. I am down to 232 today, my blood sugar (I am diabetic) is doing much better and some of my health issues are seemingly starting to correct themselves after having trouble since August with my stomach (developed gastroparesis).

    All in all, I feel like I reset without even meaning to. I am still eating some junk, not going to lie, but it is moderate and I am dropping pounds like crazy. I am seeing this time as an opportunity to really focus on losing that weight and getting my conditions under control.

    submitted by /u/East90DownandBound
    [link] [comments]

    How do you finally stick with it after trying so many times

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 01:04 PM PDT

    My hope is at an all time low. Ive tried to lose weight so many times and I always end up losing 8lbs and then gaining it back and then some. I've let myself get to 206 lbs this time. Everytime I start I'm further away from the goal and it seems like I give up easier and easier each time. This is the heaviest I've been and I feel so uncomfortable I really want to lose the weight for good. But it feels so futile. I want to believe in myself but I've failed over and over. Today I downloaded mfp once again and I tracked my calories but I haven't ever started with less faith or motivation. It seems hopeless because I know how I am.

    submitted by /u/Ash_Friday
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Friday, 27 March 2020: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 01:11 AM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    • Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?
    • Did you log for an entire week? or year?
    • Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?
    • Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!


    On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often!


    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    [32M] I lost 20 lbs this last month. Just 10 lbs to go and I’ll be where I want to be.

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 04:27 PM PDT

    195 lbs (a month ago) > 175 lbs (today)

    Target is 165 lbs. Height is 6ft2.

    Would put my BMI at 21.2.

    I'm a vegetarian and have just switched to diet sodas. Beyond that I've just cut down to 1 meal a day rationing out my quarantine meals. Being careful trying to make sure I'm getting decent nutritional coverage though it is honestly suffering a bit. Think I'm doing reasonably good though. I think diet sodas are giving me a good way to reward myself with something that tastes good without stimulating my appetite too much (or adding more simple sugar calories!). That's it. Gonna give myself this month to lose the remaining 10 lbs.

    submitted by /u/loser592
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 27th, 2020

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 12:02 AM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, march 27th is here!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    Losing access to the fridge possibly saved my weight loss progress

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 07:33 AM PDT

    I still have to work during quarantine as I'm an essential worker. I lost 120 lbs and I've been trying to lose the remaining few pounds to get to my goal - to no avail. The last few pounds are legit hell, and I've been eating beyond my calorie restriction for over a month now and gained a few pounds as a result. I'm a perfectionist asshole so this whole ordeal is not easy for me, while I know it's natural to gain a little then lose it again, I have a hard time accepting I went through all of this just to go back to my "old ways", which I haven't done. I've been counting calories for over 2 years nonstop and I don't intend to ever stop doing that.

    A few days ago I went to work and met my best friend who's also working there - he just finished his 14 day isolation and got back to work. Within 2 minutes he started coughing all over me. We can't tell whether he's infected or not as the cough had been present before he went to Spain. I went straight home and self isolated in my room as my parents are on the older side and if I'm infected something might happen to them.

    I'm currently dependent on my parents to bring food over as I no longer have access to the kitchen and amazingly, I've been able to eat 1400 calories a day with no issue even though a few days ago I'd eat almost 70% more than that and was "hungry" all the time.

    Turns out I wasn't hungry, just bored out of my mind and trips to the kitchen were "exciting". It's amazing how food is less of a necessity once you don't have access to it. I'm waiting for my friend's test results but isolation had been good to me so far. Hope I can keep this up once I'm able to roam the house again.

    submitted by /u/rinat114
    [link] [comments]

    From 134kg to 109.9 (as of now)

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 05:34 AM PDT

    Hello, i wanted to tell my story and how i lost the current amout i've lost.

    I always ate what i wanted when i wanted, only drank sugary drinks and didn't move anymore than i had too thats how i got to the weight of 134kg at an age of 18 Years. That was almost exactly 1 Year ago, i decided to change, was really motiviated, for about 4 months and got to 117kg, then i lost the motivation got back to my old habbits, the only thing different was, that i drank Zero Drinks, like Coke Zero, so i got back to 126kg till January 1. At the start of the Year the Motivation was really high agian, like the year before so i started getting back on track, but this time different. Since then, i used MyFitnessPal every single day, tracked every calorie and got into walking what has now become jogging. I cook my own meals everyday and i've cheated maybe 3 times in 3 Months now. Got from an XXL T-Shirt-Size to an XL. Only drinking Water and Gingertea (for extra health benefits, no sugar of course). Im still going, taking pictures, of how my body changed since last year (maybe posting them when im at some weight i want to stay at).

    I really learnd its only about Calories in, Calories Out, dont let someone tell you its not like that, and if you plateau at any point, dont stop losing weight, such plateaus dont take long to end, just keep going and stay strong!

    Edit: Sorry if my english is not the best its not my native Language (I'm from germany)

    submitted by /u/TheMasi
    [link] [comments]

    Just bought a Weight Watchers subscription. Can't delete without getting charged and feeling regretful

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 10:26 PM PDT

    I need to lose weight. I've tried everything on my own and can never seem to stick with it. I impulsively bought a WW subscription and now I'm sitting here with a pit in my stomach thinking I made a mistake. All dieting really is is CICO and I think I should have just stuck with My Fitness Pal and counted calories rather than spending money on this. I feel horrible!! I usually get too caught up with calories and have a history of anorexia so my thought process was that WW would help me adopt a better mindset. But now I'm not sure I made the right choice. if I have enough willpower to use WW, then I would've had enough willpower to just count calories myself. Right?

    Can anyone tell me something great about WW to make me feel better? I can't cancel because I did the buy 2, get 3 deal and if I cancel at any time I get charged $64 which is more than I have to be wasting right now.

    submitted by /u/silverlily022
    [link] [comments]

    Free Talk Friday for 27 March 2020 - Come Talk About Anything!

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 10:01 PM PDT

    Happy Friday everyone! Free Talk Friday is a free discussion post. Come talk about anything you want, whether it's health/fitness related or not.

    So tell us, what's on your mind today? Any fun plans for the weekend?

    (Credit to u/HermionesBook for running these in the past.)

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I need help moving forwarded.

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 08:54 PM PDT

    Hi everyone, I(18M) have lost around 25 kg in the last the 5 months, right now I weigh around 75kg and I still want to go down around maybe 5 more kilos. I've achieved this simply by doing cico and it worked wonders for me but right now I'm at a point where I feel like I need to start building muscles as well as lose weight(I think I'm about 20% fat)

    So Just over last month I started doing 100 pushups a day, 3 weeks in I noticed a lot of improvements so I decided to build off that and start going to the gym, which I did, not as much as I would've liked but still better then before. Sadly, however, now with being stuck in quarantine and having taken a brake from exercise last week, I've decided to do my pushups again, but this time I decided to amp it up to 200 a day since I was doing easily over a 100 before I decided to stop.

    Now my question is if what I'm planing seems like a good idea, 200 pushups a day + cico to lose weight and build some muscles especially around my chest since I've got the most fat there compared to other parts of my body( thats why i started doing pushups in the first place)

    So, any help would be appreciated, what should I do ?

    submitted by /u/Fasol4
    [link] [comments]

    Can I just eat less i.e. portion control, at least to start?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 12:12 PM PDT

    I've started hundreds of times. The starting is the easy part for me. The staying started is where it all falls apart. When I only use CICO and MFP I have wild success, losing 20+ pounds in a month, but then after that first month I lose momentum and revert back to my old ways.

    My therapist and I are constantly working on reframing my goal setting mindset by employing the Premack principle, finding areas to slip in little changes or tiny habits as Dr. BJ Fogg says, and focus on Atomic Habits per James Clear. But reprogramming my brain is slow going. I'm making progress but not nearly as quick as I would like. Together we've determined that the easiest thing for me to do that has the highest probability of sustained success is to start way way way small and that is by continuing to eat how I've always (past 7 years) been eating, just eating less of it. No over stuffing myself, paying extremely close attention to what I'm eating allowing myself to eat what I want just not as much of it. If I want a candy bar I'm still going to eat a candy bar, just maybe not 3 or 4 of them at a time.

    Is this stupid? Do I just need to buckle up, keep trying again and again to do CICO religiously, follow my fitness plan to a tee, and just get on with it until it sticks? It hasn't worked so far but maybe I'm just not trying hard enough? Ultimately I'm trying to find sustained success and weight loss. And for the love of god I just don't want to start over again. I want to stay started, for good.

    I want this so bad and I want to be thin now but I am ready to succumb to what is realistic and most likely for me to achieve success with. I hope once I get going for a while, and stay started, then I can snowball into more and more positive changes like maybe working my way back to CICO and a regimented fitness plan. I just need to get and stay started, for starters.

    Any help, tips, guidance, constructive criticism, and pep talks would be most appreciated. I feel like I'm drowning here, paralyzed in self doubt and fear of yet another failure.

    submitted by /u/YouShouldWalk
    [link] [comments]

    Personal Story - 95kg to 85kg in Eight Weeks

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 07:30 AM PDT

    Hey guys, fully prepared for this to get lost in the ether of r/loseit but wanted to share my story anyway. Disclaimer: I know that my weight loss story is not particularly dramatic in terms of kgs lost and that my journey has been nowhere near as traumatic, difficult or (hopefully) rewarding as those of many of the fine men and women on here. Just want to tell my tale and let you know what worked for me.

    I'm 5'10" and growing up I was never massive. I played rugby at school and struggled to persuade my coaches that my performance was more important than my size when it came to team selection. Like a lot of people I then started to pile it on at university. Stopped working out properly except for the odd rugby match and seriously upped my intake of alcohol and crap food. By the time I was 23 I was on the chubby side for sure. I then spent six years in the Army which got me and kept me in shape but after I left in 2014 I started piling it back on again, finally hitting 95kg (210lbs, BMI 31 - obese) in January this year.

    I'd joined my local F45 gym in the summer and although I liked the workouts and went to sessions 3-4 times a week, I wasn't losing any weight. My diet and alcohol intake was not only cancelling out my gym sessions, it was adding more on top. I finally took action and signed up for one of their 8-week challenges. I committed to 6 gym sessions a week (Mon-Sat), no alcohol and a carefully controlled meal plan. Tomorrow is the last day of my 8 weeks and I've gone from 95kg to just under 85kg (210lbs to 186lbs). It hasn't been easy and I genuinely can't wait for a frosty beer tomorrow afternoon but it has been worth every turned-down trip to the pub and every early morning gym session.

    Some tips from what worked for me.

    First, find a form of exercise that you don't hate. I found (and find) it difficult to motivate myself when I'm actually in the gym so having an F45 instructor take over really helps me. There's no debating with myself on what I need to do or whether I've done enough. I just turn up and do whatever they tell me to.

    Second, there is no doubt that meal planning is a good thing to do but for me it was nowhere near as important as simply maintaining a calorie-deficit. In an ideal world, yes, my weight-loss diet would have followed the F45 meal plan to the letter (which was complex and expensive!). However, in the real world I shopped normally, packed my lunches instead of getting sandwiches at the office canteen and cut my portion sizes by a third. I knew roughly how many calories I was burning a day and roughly how many I was eating and 6 days a week I made sure I had a daily calorie deficit of 1000. Turns out that this is much easier when you remove alcohol and weekend takeaways from the equation...

    Third, I only weighed myself once a week. This was the right balance as it gave me short-term motivation, something to work toward but weigh-ins were far enough apart for me to see tangible results every Sunday. If I lost less than 1kg over a given week I knew I had to adjust my diet a bit or maybe go walking for a couple of hours on the day I worked from home.

    Finally, be patient. I've seen it said so many times on this sub and it's true. It took me four weeks of hard work before anyone but I could see any difference. In the four weeks since then I've been getting pretty much daily (positive) comments on my weight loss from friends, family and co-workers. Until quarantine kicked in that is!

    Thanks for reading - if you're on your own journey then keep going and give 'em hell. I promise it is worth it and so are you. I promise you that you're strong enough to see it through. Never give up and always love yourself.

    submitted by /u/BravoBanter
    [link] [comments]

    Wife has been gaining weight, and I can tell it’s taken a toll on her. What can I do to help?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:44 PM PDT

    Hey everyone.

    I've been lurking here a while and you all have so much great info to share, so I'm hoping you can help me with this situation.

    For some background, I'm 24 and she's 23, both have been involved in sports all of our lives up until we both graduated college a year and a half ago.

    Since we've graduated, I've maintained a pretty healthy lifestyle, I'm in solid shape, workout 4 times a week and eat fairly healthy.

    My wife though has struggled a bit more. The underlying reasons are clear as day, but I don't know how to help her and fix it. Since we graduated, she's increased her weight from roughly 120 lbs to close to 160 lbs. She has completely stopped her working out, she still eats mildly healthy, but her job is also a sit down job so she really doesn't have much activity.

    Over the last year, some situations have come into play that have definitely contributed to her lack of motivation. We've took on a full renovation project for our home that we've been super busy with. We both started new jobs, here in social work that plays a huge role with her mental state each day. She has family problems that have been stressing her out as well.

    Now I definitely think even with all of those contributing factors, she has become much more lazy now that she's not forced to workout. We literally live across the street from a YMCA and I still barely get her to go with me. We have 2 young pups that we walk frequently, and that's about the full amount of exercise that she gets in a week.

    Put all of this together and add the last contributing factor. A little over a year ago she was diagnosed with mild depression. At times it's hard watching her and not being able to do much other than support her, and I know her weight gain has made it worse. So many times throughout the week she mentions how much weight she's gained, and how horrible she looks and feels.

    What can I do to help get her motivation back without pushing too far? We have a trip planned to Ireland in late August that I know she's worried about looking bad for, because she's literally mentioned it every week since we booked it. Not only do i want to help for her health but because she's much happier when she's in shape. Pushing her how I am just isn't doing it, even when I ask her to go to the gym with me.

    Is this just a case of you can bring a horse to water but can't make them drink? Or what options do I have?

    Thank you.

    submitted by /u/Bdubs21
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Friday, 27 March 2020 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:09 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    > I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.


    On reddit, your vote means, "I found this interesting" (...read more about voting on reddit)

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment