Weight loss: Mothers and Their Affect on Weight |
- Mothers and Their Affect on Weight
- I had 99 Problems and Losing 30lbs solved 30 of them
- I'm done being fat, I keep "trying" but I lack the effort and knowledge of weight loss. i will take any and every advice that can be given here. Body images included.
- I’m no longer overweight!
- From obese to future PT
- Family telling me I'm "too skinny" but I think I still look fat. How do I know what perception is accurate?
- The End of My Weightloss Journey!
- How I lost 35 Pounds in 60 days - Motivation & Self Discipline
- *Forgetting* your good intentions as soon as food is in front of you
- Lost 25 lbs and made my cardiologists day
- How to beat the vicious circle between depression and weight ?
- Can I eat the same dinners as my family?
- How do I (22F, 160cm, 150 lbs) lose about 40 lbs in 15 weeks? I was 52kgs 3 years ago and that was when I felt the best and most comfortable in my body.
- Please help, I cannot lose weight
- Former athlete feeling like a stranger in my body
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 26 June 2021? Start here!
- [F/29, CW: ???lbs (SW: 196lbs)] After losing 56lbs and getting close to my goal weight in 2016-17, I guess I'm back after a regain.
- I need some advice please.
- Take it slow!
- What can I do to see that number move
- This was long overdue. My journey, my tips
- Weight Loss Mistakes
- Happy at my progress
- Thinking about how much weight I have to lose... [Motivation Post?]
| Mothers and Their Affect on Weight Posted: 26 Jun 2021 04:43 AM PDT As my friends and I reach middle age (yikes), I often reflect on how our parents views on food/weight/exercise have influenced how we in turn look at ourselves and our current weight. I never recall my mother ever talking about her weight or being on diets. She never really actively exercised although I never saw the woman sit down during the day. She had friends who would do aerobics etc and occasionally I would join in with them. She never mentioned my weight. It just wasn't a thing. We also ate mostly home grown and cooked food and eating out was a rare treat. I was also a kid that while I could sit all day reading - I could also just as easily play outside all day until sundown. On the other hand, I have friends whose mothers made them paranoid about gaining weight. One friend in particular was an excessive exerciser. Not because she enjoyed it so much, but because she was terrified of gaining weight. I never had to work to keep my weight down until I was late 20's. Then a sedentary job and lack of exercise started to catch up with me. Added to that - I what I would call a "hearty eater". I do enjoy good food. Now I do have to watch what I eat and seek out opportunities to move but one thing I find different in my view than others I have seen is I don't tie my weight to my self worth. I don't vilify myself or any food. I didn't enjoy being overweight, but I didn't attach any personal failing to it other than - probably should have eaten a bit less. Anyway I want to say that what you do/don't do can have lifelong effects on your children and to thank my mother for modelling what I consider to be a healthy body image. [link] [comments] |
| I had 99 Problems and Losing 30lbs solved 30 of them Posted: 25 Jun 2021 12:04 PM PDT Early this year I tipped the scales at 195lbs. As a 5'9" woman, I was shocked and appalled that I was so close to 200lbs and so close to the obese BMI. I've always been athletic and muscular! (note, because I'm pretty muscular I have always trended higher in the BMI scale so I'm quite alright with a 24.4 BMI). Lockdown depression got me bad and 195 is the most I have ever weighed: 10lbs more than my college depression weight and 31lbs more than my "happy and maintaining weight" at 164lbs. In January I saw a post here that said "in March, we're going to start seeing progress posts from New Years resolutions. Do you want that to be you, or do you want to read them regretfully?" I've held that in mind all year! Even though my journey didn't really start until late February. 3 months and 25 days later I am happy to announce that I weigh 165!! I started taking medication to help with anxiety which killed my appetite and the first 15 melted off in a few weeks it feels like. The meds also helped me control my hunger and not use alcohol to numb my anxiety. I didn't do anything fancy:
That's it, that's all the changes I made. Yogurt for breakfast, kale for dinner, exercise. I lost 30 lbs in 4 months. Below is a list of problems improved/solved through weight loss and addressing my mental health:
I think the tl;dr: for me is, take care of the root of the issue, mental health, and the other things will resolve themselves, physical health and weight. Thanks for reading and good luck to everyone on their journeys! I want to lose about 20 more pounds, which would be the lowest I've weighed in a long long time. I think this extra weight will really help my running. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 12:14 AM PDT Intro: Hi "R/Loseit", my Name is K (22M) and currently living in Toronto, I'm 5'9" and I Weigh roughly <170kg (~375lbs). I'm looking for advice on proper dieting, better eating habits and exercise advice. this is going to be a long post where I will provide a detailed general Information of myself in this post but ill also include TLDR just in case. Background: So I have been (morbidly) obese for a very long time, as far as I could remember I have been overweight since I was 10 years old. since that time, I've been growing in age as well as size with the exception of certain moments where I've lost some weight in my teenagerhood, but now at 22 years old and an estimated 170kg , I've really had it. in the past I've tried many different diets, but I couldn't find one that fit with me or one I would commit to, so my eating habits are not only poor but also out of control. the last time I tried my hardest to lose weight was mid Oct 2021 to early Dec 2021. when I was trying to lose weight at the time, I tried to do a complete cold turkey sugarless diet while counting calories to a max 1800cal/Day and go out for a long walk once or twice a week. unfortunately I cracked this balance when I went back to my home country for the holidays and ate all the delicious holiday food and snacks I hadn't eaten in 2 years. so that leads onto today, 6 months later and I've been on my old/current Diet and Daily Habits. Old/Current Diet: so something you should know about me is that I'm a college student living with 1 roommate at the moment. not that justifies or explains anything, but what that means is I solely provide myself with what I eat. that said. my current dietary consist of a lot of carbs and processed goods like fast food and pizza, but I mostly also eat like 1 footlong meatball sub from subway with 2 cookies and a diet Pepsi (no, I'm not diabetic) 3-5 times a week. while its not rare, its uncommon of me to cook for myself because I'm honestly a lazy person. that's not to mention the few times I also snack on sweets for sugar like ice cream, homemade milkshakes of large sized volumes, candy bars and cookies. the times I do cook are actually quite healthy cause I do salads, white rice and a nicely seasoned chicken breast or sirloin steak I prepare myself, but like I said. I'm a lazy person and prefer to pay someone to make me the foods I eat. when I dieted and work out a little bit last time I did lose some weight and dropped from 165kg at the time to 163kg in less than 2 months; However, since I moved back to Toronto in late Dec 2020 and quarantined for 3 weeks, I fell back into my for-mentioned diet and continued on it for 6 more months till present day along with no proper exercise. I do not own a scale, but based on the amount damage I did, I came the conclusion that I weigh that much as of what I said. Daily habits: as for-mentioned, I am quite a lazy person, I mostly stay indoors 3/4 of the week, playing video games , doing other indoor activities, and lay on my bed all day until I go get some food. only time I go out for work 1 to 2 days max (that's all my management provides me), so I don't do much for myself in terms of daily body motion. my condition is honestly whack and I also live on a hillside, so going out for walks feels like climbing a mountain and that leaves me sweaty and exhausted simply from walking. it also feels extremely discouraging cause I cant walk without feeling bad about myself next to the people who don't seem to have trouble walking near me and while it doesn't seem like a big deal, my overthinking mentality makes it seem like a bigger deal than it is and it just unmotivate me even more. Why am I posting this?/why am I trying to lose weight?: honestly aside from health benefits and longer lifespan, I want to start expanding my wardrobe cause being a big guy, most fashion don't generally good on me imo. as for why posting here, i need advice, on all accounts. that means i want tips on eating better, what to eat, how much should i eat and how to handle exercise better like how much should i work out, how long and what should i do first and what i can do to build up and lose weight faster. TLDR: 22m, weighing at <170kg (~375lbs) looking for general advice on diets, eating habits and exercise routines to better himself for a brighter future. Image of body, view at own risk (me in shorts): [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Jun 2021 07:01 AM PDT I'm now just barely in the normal weight range for my height. I stepped on the scale this morning and I had just squeaked down .4lbs into that healthy range, but there I was. I still have a little bit to go because obviously I'd like to be securely in that range, but I'm gonna celebrate this. I owe y'all so much. I'm more of a lurker, but I'm here with my upvotes cheering each and every one of you on. I love celebrating y'all's success. You make me believe in myself. I deeply appreciate the vulnerability so many of you show when you share your frustrations and setbacks. When things aren't going perfectly for me, I'm able to tell myself it's okay because I've seen y'all stumble and still have success. Also, this might sound silly, but when my own willpower and motivation lagged, I had this tiny voice in my head that was like, "you gotta make them proud." So thank you, lovely internet strangers. Thank you for building this supportive space. Thank you for sharing resources that taught me about my body, that empowered me to make changes, that helped me build a better mindset around my body and my health. Y'all are freaking awesome! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 05:06 AM PDT I was overweight to obese my whole life, but it was never too noticeable as I always was active which gave some shape to my body even though the lots of fat. But I knew it, and hated it. I never cared people thought I was 100kg instead of 130kg. September of 2020 I reached my maximum weight ever, 152kg with 6ft. Had done 2 diets before in my whole life which kind of had progress but I always bounced back. Now, 9 months later, it feels like I am no longer pregnant lol. 23yo, 115kg with only 15 more kg to lose for my ideal weight. I am a very wide Boi lol, which I hated, but now with a still bulky but clearly active and healthy body, I love every bit of my genetics now and will make the best of it. List of what made me successful this time:
My workout plan now is 5 days a week, 2 times each group muscle. A 1 hour walk everyday + 30min online YouTube cardio (from boxing workout to kpop dancing, I do it all llol as long as I have fun with it) and around 3 times as week 10 minutes with a jump rope. My diet is 2000 calories a day with 150g minimum of protein and on Mondays around 4000. I eat a meal 2 hours before the gym, after the gym and then diner. Sometimes a late night snack like light ice cream or any low calorie sweet I made. With around 6 months to lose the extra 15kg I want slowly and keeping my muscle, I feel amazing and my dreams changed. Was working as a designer but found my true passion. Will be taking on a school to get my PT license so I can start my dream of helping people lose their weight with no bullshit, with no no coke 0 miss, with no oh you can't ever eat bread. No one knows how it is to lose weight when you re obese and addicted to food. I want and will help people achieve better health and look hot while they know it. If you feel like you need help feel free to dm me or comment, I'll do my best through my experience and passion for nutrition and sports that I never thought I'd have. Thanks for the read and never give up, imagine how good it is to look back and know you are doing better. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 04:46 AM PDT Male 25, 5'11 and 159lbs. I still have belly fat and love handles, I don't think anyone could really call me "skinny". I used to weigh 280lbs and lost the weight quickly with vegan keto + fasting. It is quite a restrictive diet but I've managed well, now I'm slowly increasing calories and adding more carbs back in. I've had a lot of weird reactions to my weight loss from friends and family. I'm not sure if it's jealousy, shock or genuine concern. My girlfriend and mother are convinced I starve myself and have some kind of eating disorder. They are constantly trying to feed me unhealthy and non vegan things which is extremely frustrating. It doesn't help that one time they heard me throw up after eating, but it was just because my body wasn't used to eating a lot of high carb food after being in a deficit so long. They think I did it on purpose which really annoys me. My gf even cried once explaining how concerned she is about me, but I'm a healthy weight! She is quite a bit overweight herself so maybe she doesn't understand what a healthy weight is, I try to explain though. She says I look underweight and like a different person. She also says it makes her feel disgusting that she weighs more than me. I try and get her to lose weight with me but she can't seem to commit. However, I do maybe have a distorted view of myself too. I bought some new clothes recently, jeans in a 34" waist and XL t shirt. The jeans hung off me and I couldn't believe it because in my mind there was no way I had lost that much weight. The XL t shirt was comically huge. I ended up going down to a 30" waist and Medium T shirt. So I guess I think of myself as a lot fatter than I am. I still have a fat belly though. I wanted to lose about 5-10lbs more just to see if I look less flabby but I know the reactions will be even more extreme. I don't know what to do. Should I ignore them and do what I want or stop losing weight now? [link] [comments] |
| The End of My Weightloss Journey! Posted: 25 Jun 2021 05:40 PM PDT Hey all! I just want to say a big thanks to everyone since 2018 who has inspired me, discussed our struggles & successes, and overall just being the community that got me to where I am today. After maintaining at 160-170lbs from 275 for 2 years, this morning I got a tummy tuck done to remove my loose skin. It finally feels like the end of the journey :) For those who are just starting or in the midst of everything, I know through dedication and determination you can reach your goals. You fuckin' got this! Thanks again for everything - I wouldn't have gotten far without this amazing community. [link] [comments] |
| How I lost 35 Pounds in 60 days - Motivation & Self Discipline Posted: 25 Jun 2021 08:29 PM PDT Sex : Male Age : Twenty Seven Height : 174cm (5 foot 8 inches) Starting Weight : 134.8kg (20th April 2021) Today's Weight : 119.2kg (26th June 2021) --------------- My Story Hi everybody! I'm going to start with a very negative part of my life. I was diagnosed with severe depression at the age of 20. I am now 27. I started taking 6 pills every morning at the age of 21 (still do) and they really opened up my apetite! I started eating everything, no control whatsoever. No exercise either, I hated exercise since I was a boy. P.E was a nightmare, I was bullied constantly. I never wanted to play football and I was always the last one chosen from the class. Anyways at almost 135kg in my peak last April, I was having difficulties taking a shower, I started running out of breath during a 7 minute shower. Stairs in my house became a nightmare. Then I decided no more. --------------- What I did - Change 18th April 2021 I bought a stationary bike. I couldn't simply go to the gym, due to obvious covid restrictions. I also bought a kitchen scale. Those two are very important, they changed my life. Then two weeks ago I bought a Fitbit watch and it further improved my determination. I started weighing everything I eat and I logged every food, every drink I consumed. Simple as that really. --------------- My Methodology - Planning Basically I count calories, yes. I always try to burn close to double of what I consume. For example if I eat 1600 calories in a day, I try to aim for a TDEE (Total Daily Energy Expenditure) of 3200. If I eat 2000 calories in a day, TDEE of 4000. You get the idea. --------------- The Why - Reasoning I got tired of running out of breath, feeling like a blob in front of a TV in my prime. I have been single for 3 whole years now. I've got a bunch of female friends, my best friend is even a female. I always got friendzoned because of my weight and honestly it made me feel useless, it made me feel like a mule crap in clothing. No more :) Any questions please ask I am determined to help anyone and everyone in this. I want to be inspirational and a motivation to everyone struggling like me. Why? Because you all deserve to enjoy life and live it to the fullest. No one is irrelevant, remember that ;) [link] [comments] |
| *Forgetting* your good intentions as soon as food is in front of you Posted: 26 Jun 2021 04:49 AM PDT Looking for advice, i have all the best intentions to eat well and lose weight but the minute I hear about / see food it's completely forgotten! Then afterwords I feel so guilty, construct a plan, fail at temptation then repeat the cycle. I joke to people when it comes to food I'm possessed by FattyPatty but it feels true! If I plan to eat healthy or take my own food to work, the minute someone mentions something bad I'm right on it! I spend so much time as well worrying about money but then in the moment will spend unnecessary amounts on food. Please help me control myself and shut Patty out! [link] [comments] |
| Lost 25 lbs and made my cardiologists day Posted: 25 Jun 2021 08:48 AM PDT I've been dealing with a ton of health and psychiatric issues the last few years and it led to a lot of weight gain and a mild arrhythmia. I've been on a thyroid suppressant and beta blocker for a few months now, which has allowed me to start exercising and eating a caloric defecit again (my mild hyperthyroidism was making me famished but I wasnt able to burn enough to compensate). At yesterday's cardiologist check up she was sooo proud that I've lost 25 lbs and thrilled my HR and symptoms have significantly improved. She literally told me I made her day and "I don't get to have many visits like this" (most her patients are seniors). And that made MY day! lol Anyway, it was so sweet I had to share :) [link] [comments] |
| How to beat the vicious circle between depression and weight ? Posted: 26 Jun 2021 03:21 AM PDT I got depressed because I gained a lot of weight during lockdown which ruined a few things in my life ( athletic performances, self-esteem, gets in the way of my interest for fashion…) but I have a hard time losing the weight because of said depression. I am losing slowly but it's very difficult and I tend to get discouraged quickly especially with exercise. I do love exercise through, it's just that I have literally no energy some days because of the depression. I don't want to go on meds because I can't risk weight gain which would just make the problem worst. I have about 30lbs to lose. Already 15 lost. Do you guys have any tips to manage weight related depression while losing weight ? I try to remind myself of my progress everyday but I miss my old life, my confidence etc SO bad. I know that things will get better as I approach my goal too, so should I just accept the discomfort for a few months and keep pushing no matter what ? [link] [comments] |
| Can I eat the same dinners as my family? Posted: 25 Jun 2021 06:40 PM PDT Just in smaller portions and still lose weight? Have any of you had success doing this? I am so tired of trying to cook 2 meals in order to lose weight. I have a lot of dieting noise in my head from many years of trying to lose weight and diets. I cannot get my head around the fact that I can eat yummy bolognese with my family and still lose weight. It would make it so much easier if I could do this, but something is holding me back from actually believing and trusting it. My first week has been very good, I have walked for an hour each day and I have lost 2kgs. But I am finding dinner time a real challenge, and I end up feeling deprived when I have my chicken and brocolli, and the kids have their yummy pasta etc. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 06:57 AM PDT I have small body frame. I have slowly been losing weight eating 1200-1400 calories a day. I workout sometimes and my stamina is ok. I was going ok but suddenly I have an important event to attend in last week of October. I am planning to continue with this 1200-1400 calories a day diet and add workout daily to this. will it work? I somehow went from 52kgs to 72kgs in a year, did dieting and moved all day and went to 61kgs in 7 weeks, maintained it for year and went up to 73-74 kgs due to very bad eating habits (staying in hostel and only eating junk and take aways). I reached up to 78.8kgs (highest) and am now slowly losing. [link] [comments] |
| Please help, I cannot lose weight Posted: 26 Jun 2021 06:14 AM PDT I am a 5'7, 250lb, 20 years old female. I work out most days, and my maintenance calories should be about 2600. For the last 2 weeks I've been eating a strict 1400 gross calorie diet (all foods are weighed and measured), but I have lost literally 0.0 lbs. What is going on and how can I fix this? I'm so frustrated right now and just want to know what I'm doing wrong. In the past I've also tried this same calorie limit for a month with no change, as well as keto for a month (it worked for my boyfriend so I wanted to try it), neither of which worked The only thing that worked was in my first year of university eating once a day for dinner, which meant my daily intake was ~800 calories, which I know is not healthy so I'm not keen on doing it again [link] [comments] |
| Former athlete feeling like a stranger in my body Posted: 26 Jun 2021 01:27 AM PDT For context, I am a 5'8 25 year old woman. My family has always really valued healthy eating and exercise, which I feel very fortunate to learn about as a young child. I was always really thin and athletic, since my family would always go on walks, hikes, bike rides, play outside, etc. Then I got to high school and started rowing which I immediately fell in LOVE with. Everything in my life revolved around rowing, so I ate and worked out to improve at my sport. I also rowed in the "lightweight" category, which for women means you can't weigh above 130 lbs (this caused a lot of disordered eating issues, especially as a tall-ish woman like myself). I continued rowing in college until I got a terrible back injury from overuse and had to stop rowing. This was also the same time I met my now fiancé, and we started spending all our time together. He's the absolute love of my life but....he eats like crap. For the last 4 years, I've been eating like I never have in my life-fast food, eating takeout all the time, huge portions, etc. I'm so embarrassed by it, and I feel like I should have known better than to let myself get to this point. So, in short I've gained 50 lbs since high school and feel so lost. I do have quite a bit of muscle on me, because I still absolutely love working out (most recently I've been getting into powerlifting). I have gone on diets and lost 10-15 lbs by tracking my food and eating in a deficit, but have always gained it back and then some. Now I need to lose around 20-30 lbs before my wedding next year. I feel so ashamed that I let myself get to this point, and I know it's just because of lazy poor food choices, and I truly feel like a stranger in my own body. This is supposed to be the body of an athlete. This is what I pride myself on and always have. How can I find some acceptance in the reality of my situation and feel okay with the fact that I have some fairly significant weight loss ahead of me? I know HOW to do it, but I just don't know if I have the willpower, because every time I look in the mirror or step on the scale I'm reminded that I failed to live up to my identity as an athlete. Has anyone felt this way before? [link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 26 June 2021? Start here! Posted: 25 Jun 2021 09:31 PM PDT Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweight Our bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You Start The very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. Tracking Here is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your Deficit How do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. Exercise Is NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel *awesome* and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, Run It can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. Acceptance You will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resources Now you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
* Lose It Compendium - Frame it out! * FAQ - Answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 05:45 AM PDT This might be quite long, as it chronicles a good few years now! Started this new life in early 2016 at my highest weight of 196lbs. What made me realise and make the change was that my size 16 jeans were becoming too small, and I was about to go into Size 18. I didn't want to go up in sizes anymore. I was tired of feeling sluggish and slow, and tired of seeing all my clothes fit poorly - or worse, be uncomfortable to wear because they were tight! After many months of changing my lifestyle, going to the gym 3 times a week and with the help of the Pokémon Go craze of 2016 I lost 56lbs, got myself down to 140 which is a weight I had not seen since I was 16. Except this time, I was fitter and god did I feel good. I found a job I enjoyed and moved out of my parents' home, and my lifestyle habits of eating well remained with me for a while. I fell off the gym slightly as it was inconvenient for me to get to for a while (I had no car at the time). Then the realities of living alone began to strike. I had less money, and when my partner moved down and was unemployed for a time, very poor. I could no longer afford the gym, so I cancelled my subscription. My mental health was suffering as a result of "living to work", and with my outlet for my mental health no longer being there, I began to sink. I managed to keep my head above water long enough for January 2020 to roll around, with a view to return to the gym in February 2020. We all know what had happened then. Lockdown came, I became inactive. I was furloughed from work for a time, and got lazy. At best, I left the house once a week to go shopping. I was covid-compliant, but inside I was suffering so much (and I hadn't even realised at the time). I drank more often, and my diet started to waver a bit too. With my partner being laid off from a temporary job just before lockdown, I was once again supporting a household on my own. It was tough and worrying. Things got better, though. By September, my partner found a job, we were able to save a bit of money again and the pressure for me was off! I always had going back to the gym at the back of my mind, however with the lockdown rules in my country ever-changing, it wasn't long before the gyms were once again shut. This was just frustrating for me at this point - I'm not too big on exercising outdoors during the autumn/winter months, so I once again waited. It took until April before the gyms were open again, but I too was nervous about going back given that Covid was still very much around, and a gym didn't seem like the safest of places to be. So I waited. I made a pledge to sign back up to the gym as soon as I got vaccinated. Got my first jab, then six days later travelled to see family. It was then I realised that I didn't have to worry so much - if I can travel across the country and be fine, with minimal immunity from Covid, surely I can go to a gym which will definitely have social distancing procedures in place? Pretty much the day I got back home, I signed up to the gym again. I've been so eager to do this for months, but so concerned about catching Covid that I was putting myself off of doing it "just in case". I was excited - not only do I get to work towards the fitness levels I had in 2017, but I also have my mental health outlet back! Been going for the past week. I fully intend to go 3 times a week, and complete Couch to 5K. It's different this time to 2016, when I went hard. Probably too hard, because I wanted to burn as many calories as possible. Now that I'm going again, my main concerns are my fitness levels, my mental health and getting the body tone I want again. It feels nice not pushing myself so hard this time, and it's just made me realise that for me, the gym was never "a slog" or "punishment", but something I did because it was best for me, both physically and mentally. I don't know how much I weigh now, exactly. I don't know if I want to find out - my last weigh-in at Christmas had me at 160, so that was a gain of 20lbs since 2017. +20lbs in 4 years is nothing to be ashamed of, especially when there has been a lockdown in between. I'm not too bothered about my weight this time, anyway. I know it'll take less than 4 years to take it off again, but I've got things that take priority over the number on the scale this time. That being said it would be nice to get to my ultimate GW of 126lbs. I'm excited. I can't wait to see my old fitness levels again. I'm currently putting money away every once in a while for a new wardrobe once I get there. TL;DR: Poverty, lockdown and other factors meant I hadn't attended the gym in a long time and gained approx. 20lbs. Finally went back this week after covid-related concerns and being vaccinated. Feels good. Going to the gym this time not to lose weight, but to get fit again and as an outlet for my mental health. I'm excited to see the results. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 02:35 AM PDT M 20 6'4" CW 381 GW 200 So I just checked the TDEE calculator after starting OMAD and IF 4 Days ago only eating 1500 calories a day. I end up finding out my maintenance calories amount is 3408. So doing nearly a 2000 calories deficit. My question is how dangerous is what I'm doing? I'm not concerned about the macros at this point and have only been drinking water. Should I decrease my caloric deficit? If so by how much? I decided I wanted to make changes in my life from starting my journey to earn my degree and hopefully try to become a police officer once I'm done. So I have 4-6 years to become physically healthy so I'm ready for the physical challenges that come with becoming and being a police officer. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 06:54 AM PDT Hello 👋 nice people Today is my Day 1. I have 26 kg to lose. I'm 37, m. I want to lose weight to look better in my clothes and to take my kids to the pool and feel great. I'll take it slow this time. Something I've never tried before. I failed at crash dieting many times. If I had tried losing weight slowly and organically years ago, I would've been a chiselled renaissance statue by now (but I'll keep my own "equipment" thank you). My plan is to restrict my calories, moderately, and I'll generally aim to eat, drink and move better. I'm new to this sub, so I don't know how the accountability thing works. But it would be so nice to do this with someone. [link] [comments] |
| What can I do to see that number move Posted: 26 Jun 2021 04:08 AM PDT F/5'4"/180 I've been working out 3-4 times a week for the past three months and I've been eating between 1300-1400 calories for the past month and I've been steadily GAINING weight. I've lost two inches off of my waist (I'm at 31 in) but like?? I gained 13 lbs in three weeks. I'm 5'4" currently 180 lbs and I started at 167lbs. This sucks. Idk if it's increased water intake since its summer or muscle but whatever it is I'm not feeling great about it. My usual routine at the gym takes about an hour- I do 30 minutes of weight training on my arms and back, 15 minutes of cardio (spinning or elliptical) and 15 minutes of stretching and abs. I don't want to have to go back to starving myself to see results but it's just really annoying to keep putting in the work just to go in the opposite direction of my goal. [link] [comments] |
| This was long overdue. My journey, my tips Posted: 25 Jun 2021 12:19 PM PDT So, here we are. I made it. It probably isn't the most life changing weight loss you might have seen around here, but I'm f****** proud of myself. Not for being leaner but because it's been a tough year, always home with lockdowns and whatnot. The thing I'm mostly proud about is developing healthy eating habits. F/31/157cm (5'1") SW: 64kg (141lbs) on March 2020 CW: 51kg (112lbs) A little background for you. I was always lean. I never really had troubles with my physique and I used to eat a lot without even thinking about it. That changed six years ago. I started gaining weight after my father's death, I was eating the same amount of food but I stopped being nearly as active as I was before. Then I moved in with my (then) boyfriend, a 6'5" man, and we ate the same things and the same portions. Naturally I've started gaining weight, until I reached 64kg (141lbs). My original weight was around 47-8kg (103,6lbs - 105lbs). Eventually we broke up in oct 2019 and during the first 2020 lockdown I suppose I took a really good look at myself and realized I didn't like my figure anymore. Looking at my closet, it was full of black, baggy clothes that I unconsciously bought to hide my body and I was fed up. I realized I didn't like people taking pictures of me and I didn't either because I was so ashamed. So, during the first months I've started having smaller portions without really thinking of macros and I did a lot of cardio every day. I naturally never ate breakfast, ever since I was a kid, so I was basically doing IF with portion control. In the second part of my journey I started doing less pure cardio workouts and doing more HIITs. Around that time (I think it was during 2020's fall) I really started to learn more about nutrition and macros and how to lose more fat in a smart way without losing muscles. I incorporated more and more protein and earlier this year I began doing weightlifting, reducing HIITs to one time per week. As of now, my routine consists of a 20-minute Vinyasa yoga every morning and weight lifting 4 times a week and a HIIT session one day per week. Ever since life has started to come back to pseudo-normal, I've been going out every other day and I couldn't bother tracking calories. Also, after the 1.5 years I just had I want to enjoy the time I spend when I go out, so I'll have a drink and eat whatever I want. I adjust accordingly the following day, having a lighter meal for lunch. I've been maintaining my weight for a month now, using this system. To be honest, I'd like to cut just a little bit more to lose those "vanity kgs" because despite putting on a good amount of muscles, I still look "soft" and I'd like to look more toned. The muscles are really visible on my arms, my shoulders and back, but I still have some stubborn belly fat. But I'm taking this month to recharge, before starting again. The most important thing though is that even when I reach my vanity goal, I don't think it will be the end of my journey, just the start of a different one. I now know what it means to eat healthy and focusing on nutrients and I don't intend to give that up. I've learned so much during this and feel like a more complete person because of this knowledge. And, as a token of gratitude towards all of you and your precious insights, I wanted to share some of the things that worked for me, hoping that they'll help some others too. If you've made it this far, these are some pictures that show where I'm currently at: https://imgur.com/a/i4cA5xJ TLDR; lost 13kgs and lost my boobs in the process. Plan your meal around protein I don't remember where I've read this but it has been the singular most helpful piece of advice in achieving my goals. Prior to starting this journey, I was accustomed to think of the main source of carbs and eventually I would pair it with some vegetable or little to no protein at all. So I made it a habit to think of the selected source of protein and then decided what to pair it with. Indulge. Don't be too hard on yourself Don't eliminate foods, instead think of a way to pair them with something more nutritious. Do you want that bag of crisps? Find a way to work them in your diet. Have the crisps with some form of protein or fiber. I'm doing this and I found out that not only I don't eat the whole bag anymore (instead I save it for later) but I'm happier too and less stressed. I don't really like the idea of a cheat meal/day. If I was craving something I'd try to have it in some form in my diet, whether half a portion or having a lighter meal before/after. This prevented me from getting obsessed with food that "I couldn't/shouldn't have". Edit: in addition, I forgot to say. If you're comfortable counting and tracking calories, think of weekly averages instead of daily caloric quota. Negative figures on the scale. When counting calories and macros, the most important thing is using the scale but it can be quite a palaver to do so, especially when using multiple ingredients. So I usually put the ingredient I'm using on the scale, hit the "tare" button and then scoop out the amount I need and use the negative figure to log it in whatever app I'm using for tracking (currently MFP). Make food interesting When cutting, food choices are limited, it's true, but make use of spices. They add flavor without contributing on the caloric side and this will make food more fun to eat, especially if you're planning to eat grilled chicken for the umpteenth time. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 05:25 AM PDT Exercise mistakes – why your workouts aren't effective Diet mistakes – things you're missing and misjudging Psychological mistakes – why you're struggling to get started or keep going A mistake of choosing certain products – the fads and gimmicks that you need to stay away from Dangerous practices – avoid these like the plague and never look back Going on a crash diet Crash diets might seem like the logical thing when you realize that you really want to lose weight. Maybe your diet and weight problems have been years in the making, and now you are desperate to get rid of it. Crash diets will help you lose weight and initially, you will see significant results, however, they are not sustainable and before long you'll have to go back to eating more food. Once this happens it's almost impossible to not put the weight back on. So avoid going down the so-called "quick weight loss" route! Skipping meals Who told you that missing meals was a good thing? It's certainly not! More than a few people have been misguided into believing that simply eating fewer calories than you use up is all you need to do to lose weight. This is true overall, but that just overall. There are certainly wrong and right ways to make sure you consume less than you use. In a pseudoscience kind of way, it makes your body think there is a lack of food. Your metabolism will slow down after missing meals, and you may develop headaches and feel a lack of energy. Taking weight loss pills and injections These products are marketed as near miracles and draws vulnerable people into its dishonest lair. An example is the HCG supplement which is derived from the uterus and naturally present in pregnant women. The effect it has on you is supposed to suppress your appetite, thus making you lose weight. Unfortunately, it also tells you to eat 800 calories a day, which brings it into low-calorie diet territory. Not eating enough calories for many consecutive days is starving yourself, it lowers your metabolism and once you finish the diet (and lost significant weight) you'll put on loads of weight very easily. Doing the same exercise routine over and over So you start a healthy weight loss plan, everything's going great and you've lost quite a few pounds. You're eating the right foods, sticking to mealtimes, and following some great exercise routines. But you notice that you're not losing any more weight, what's going on? Your body has got used to your little routine, you not going to get any fitter or change your body anymore once you've adapted to your activities and diet. Increase the intensity and/or do different workouts to start seeing more weight loss and increased fitness. Not taking action – I'll start tomorrow! I should make an "I'll do it tomorrow" box, then I'd be rich. I witness people put things off that matter the most all the time, afraid to start doing something today, right now. It's easy to give in to insecurities and fear, it stops you from becoming the person you want to be and actually is on the inside. I know all too well, I suffered from it myself. I put off not quitting my miserable job and leaving exercise until the following week (only to do it all over again). Don't be afraid to begin, it's the only way you're going to make a change in your life. Worry not about the details, find one thing and try it out – an exercise, cutting back on soft drinks, anything. Comparing yourself to others I know that when you look around you see fit people everywhere, it's what you want to look like. Even worse is when you see other people successfully losing weight, and looking very happy about it. You're wondering why you're not making the same progress. Let me tell you, we are our own harshest critics. When you are desperate to achieve something patience is not a thing that comes naturally. You must remember that everyone is different – we have different genes, mindset, diet, exercise routines, and more. It's not right for you to be comparing your progress with others, it's just not the right kind of comparison. Just compare your progress with yourself. Look at the results you've achieved and go from there, which brings me on to the next mistake. Not tracking your progress When I say tracking I mean keeping a journal and entering information into it regularly. I recommend a weekly measure of vital stats – weight, inches, body fat content (if you have the equipment) – and daily food consumption. Also include exercise – workouts and how much you do of them. With these stats, you can very clearly see how much progress you are making, and nothing is more motivating than seeing results. There's another highly valuable side to tracking stats and that's for reviewing and adjusting your diet and/or fitness plan. Only by adjusting every few weeks or so will you experience highly effective weight loss and fitness gain. Using big plates No jokes. You'll naturally want to fill up the plate you're eating from, by using a small plate you'll put less food on it thus limiting your portion size to avoid overeating. Eating too quickly There's around a 20 minute lag between eating and your brain acknowledging the intake of nutrients. Eating fast means that you won't get a chance to realize if you're actually hungry or not, and this usually leads to overeating. Make a conscious effort to chew your food more, take a breath between mouthfuls to slow your pace. More than occasionally I've eaten so quickly that I thought I was still hungry, after a short break I regretted eating so much and just had to slouch on the sofa for the next hour. Even go as far as making your meals harder to chew if you must. But once you get into the habit of eating slower it'll not be a problem, it's getting the habit that needs some conscious effort. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 26 Jun 2021 07:27 AM PDT I am 5'7 and have been steadily losing weight since I left an abusive relationship (my ex would get angry if I wasn't having incredibly large portion sizes and eating junk food with it. Stress from the relationship also made me snack). I wasn't too bad before and was 136 lbs at the start, but over a period of 7 months, I am down to 121 - 122 lbs (for me it was mostly moving to a vegetarian diet at home, cutting out junk food and eating healthier followed by exercise where it was usually 30 minutes some days on the treadmill, a walk, dance, aerobics, or elliptical). I am thrilled with where I am at. The only thing that sucks is now none of my clothes really fit. They all look pretty baggy on me and I have no idea what my size is anymore. [link] [comments] |
| Thinking about how much weight I have to lose... [Motivation Post?] Posted: 26 Jun 2021 07:25 AM PDT Hey All, So, I've lost about ~40 lbs over the last six months, and though I've kind of stalled out a bit, I'm still watching my calorie intake and exercising 5-6 times a week. I feel good about my weight loss, and I have met some of the goals that I wanted to fitness wise, but I can't help but think of the long way that I have to go to get to my goal weight. I am still about 123lbs overweight. Which is just still so much. Mentally, it's hard to think about. I don't feel the need to slack off, or give up, but how do you all stay motivated when it comes to losing weight, especially when you have a long way to go? [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment