• Breaking News

    Sunday, May 2, 2021

    Weight loss: I lost 33 kg (72 lbs) in a year

    Weight loss: I lost 33 kg (72 lbs) in a year


    I lost 33 kg (72 lbs) in a year

    Posted: 01 May 2021 04:16 AM PDT

    Hi, my name is Marco, I'm 24 years old and I used to weigh 136kg but within a year I lost 33kg and I now weigh 103kg. (NSFW Pic because no shirt)

    First I started going jogging and after the first months I also started altering my diet, becoming a "part time vegetarian" (I only ate meat on the weekend). What also helped was my job at Volkswagen in Wolfsburg where I usually walked 10k-20k steps every day.

    When I started jogging I barely jogged 2km in around 20 minutes but now I jog around 5km wihtin half an hour.

    Really proud of my progress so far, but I'm not done yet. I want to weigh around 80-90kg but I'm pretty certain I can achieve that by the end of the year :)

    submitted by /u/DerEchteMossi
    [link] [comments]

    I’m really excited about my progress but i feel i can’t share it :/

    Posted: 01 May 2021 03:44 PM PDT

    I 24f was 275 lb at my starting weight and wore a 20-22 on average. I'm going very slow to make sure this is sustainable and to avoid intense weight fluctuations due to unsustainable diets.

    I'm 239 and measurements say i'm a 16-18 depending on brand. I decided to put on a skirt i wore a lot in college that i haven't been able to wear in several years (size 18, tight skirt with minimal stretch). It actually fit, it zipped easily and didn't dig into my skin at all, it actually looks better on me now than it did when i was 21.

    I'm really proud of myself and want to share it with friends...

    But literally all of my close friends are recovering from eating disorders. I'm doing this in a total non ED way and am making small changes over a long period of time and only being at a small calorie deficit, but i know talk of weight loss can can be really triggering for them, and i absolutely don't want to cause them any distress and certainly don't want to cause a relapse.

    It's just frustrating cause i'm so so so proud of myself and i feel i can't share it with people close to me

    submitted by /u/PoliticalBitch69
    [link] [comments]

    I’m half the woman I used to be

    Posted: 01 May 2021 08:50 AM PDT

    To start with, I'm f39 5'6" SW 355 CW 177.3

    As of today, I have lost 177.7 pounds, and I weigh 177.3. That's half my body weight. The craziest part to me is that this is the last of my "milestones." Now is the final stretch. I started out at super morbidly obese. Then I celebrated getting under 300 pounds, being just morbidly obese, just obese, under 200 pounds, just overweight, and now this one. That's it. There are no more markers until my technical goal weight, under 155, which I picked because it's exactly 200 pounds lost, and it's the tippy top of a healthy weight. i may shed a few more after that, but veeeery slowly and after a break. Some days I feel like losing another 23 pounds feels like too much to face, but some days I feel totally unstoppable. It's been a wild ride.

    Just because people always ask, this has taken me about two and a half years, and I've done it through calorie counting and walking.

    Before this attempt, I have tried and failed to diet dozens and dozens of times, losing as much as 80 pounds and then always regaining it plus some. But this time is different. I'M different. I know it to my core.

    My biggest advice to people is to focus as much (or more) on the mental aspects as the physical ones. Read books. listen to podcasts. Read blogs. If you have food issues, work on them. Have very clear goals about what losing weight will really do for your life. It's completely changed mine. Be very patient, and utterly relentless. This takes tenacity.

    I genuinely thought I was a lost cause, so trust me when I say that if I can do not, anyone can.

    submitted by /u/IrrawaddyWoman
    [link] [comments]

    My friend took my photo at Christmas and it made me cry.

    Posted: 01 May 2021 04:30 AM PDT

    22 | 5'6" | SW: 117.5kgs/259lbs | CW: 93.5kgs/206lbs | GW: 70kgs/155lbs

    Christmas of last year, I was 117.5kgs (259lbs), the highest weight I've ever been, and I was absolutely miserable about it. On Christmas day, a friend happened to have a camera, and was taking photos of everyone, and when I saw them uploaded I was eager to see what shots they'd gotten. Unfortunately for me, it was a massive reality check and several of the pictures made me start crying, as I was shocked & horrified that I'd let myself get this big.

    In the new year, life changed a lot for me, in various ways. A big thing that happened was that I went through a breakup, which unfortunately kicked off my journey in a very unhealthy way, barely eating for a couple weeks. It did help me lose a few pounds to start out with, sure, but when I did start eating properly again, I discovered that I never seemed to need as much food as I thought I did, and I'd stop eating when I felt full, not when my plate was clean. I stopped eating fast food multiple times a week, started meal prepping, weighing my portions out & counting my calories. I also work out & play sports at least 3 times per week, too!

    Since January, I've lost 24kgs and I feel absolutely brilliant about it, and I'm at the halfway point to my goal weight! I'm so stoked with my journey & lifestyle switch, and I just have so much motivation to keep on going!

    Out of curiosity, I decided to put on the outfit from Christmas just to see how different I looked, and the resulting comparison photos have given me so much confidence that I'm going in the right direction 😁

    submitted by /u/hithisischelsea
    [link] [comments]

    Bf’s mom told me to lose weight, if she can do it I can do it too. I’d lost 20lbs since I last saw her and feel unmotivated to continue now

    Posted: 01 May 2021 06:05 PM PDT

    I saw my Bf's family today at his brother & Fiance's baby shower. We were only there briefly, & towards the end of our visit his mother comes up to me, telling me that I needed to eat healthy, and lose weight. She compared me to his older sister who's also a bit overweight, who was literally sitting three feet away and could overhear everything bf's mother was saying about her. She said I needed to lose weight to become more healthy to TAKE CARE OF HER SON (he's 28), and if she could do a nightly 2 mile walk, there's no reason I shouldn't be able to either. I told her I had a machine for exercising, to which she responded "Then why don't you use it? Use it!" I ended the convo there and we left. What she doesn't know is that I use my elliptical every day, and have completely changed my diet and lifestyle to become more healthy. Idk if I'm overreacting, but I was really sad and upset with these comments. It had been 6 months since I saw any of his family, so I'm not sure why his mother was acting like this towards me, she seemed angry. In my personal life, I was recently diagnosed with pcos and let me tell you, you have to seriously fight to lose pounds when your hormones are working against you. I didn't tell them any of this, and have no intentions to.

    I left that baby shower feeling really horrible about myself. Like all of this work I've put in to get around 200lbs was for nothing. His family sees me as extremely lazy, & as an unhealthy eater. My bf told me they've probably made comments to his other brother's wife about her weight as well, which is very frightening to me since she is very fit, only has a large chest by nature. I feel like they're serious fat phobics and as someone who has body dysmorphia and now pcos I have no idea if I'll ever fit into his family. I feel devastated now and don't want to continue. I feel like I already failed my weight loss journey.

    I was supposed to work out today but haven't yet. I honestly feel crushed. Sorry for venting, here are my stats. 22f 5'6 SW:222 CW:202

    submitted by /u/babygirlxia
    [link] [comments]

    My family makes fun of my weight even though I have been working hard for the past month and lost about 10lbs. Need some kind words.

    Posted: 01 May 2021 07:03 AM PDT

    Update: Oh my god! You guys are the best(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*.✧ I went to bed sad and angry but waking up and seeing all your comments I am so motivated right now. Not one person in my family said I am doing great and you all just flocked here to support me. Just wanted to let you guys know your words haven't gone to waste. I ran even more than usual today. I was so pumped up. I'll take note of all your positive advice and try to reply to each one of you. And when I finally lose weight I am going to send this post to my siblings so that they are embarrassed by what they did. It'll be nice to see them read the comments lol. Thank you so much again, everyone.

    So I am 5'6. SW: 165 lbs CW: 156 GW: 132

    I started my weight loss journey and overall fitness journey on 24th March. I started running in the morning, Yoga, and abs and legs in the evening. I also started eating healthy, taking protein, and noted everything I ate. I have exercised for 30 days straight now and never binged once on unhealthy snacks. I lost about 10lbs(4kgs) in one month doing all this. I know that losing this much weight won't show any difference yet but I feel stronger anyways. So I am proud of myself.

    But my siblings still make fun of me. They do it even more than before. I try to wake up earlier than them so that I can work out in peace. Today I was a bit late and was preparing to do Emi Wong's abs and legs workout when my brother walked in and said " why are you watching all these fit girls doing workout? You should watch someone who is fat like you." I said to him that it'll take some time but I'll also start looking like her. So he went on to say that nothing is going to change in your body. Your body has already given up. See now you have fat coming from your sides pointing to my love handles. I am very conscious of them so I was hurt. To change the topic I said I might start doing calisthenics to build muscle and he again made fun of me saying you can't do shit. I was embarrassed and in tears. He left but I couldn't bring myself to do the workout because I was so sad.

    In the evening my older sister was watering the plants and I stepped on the pipe by mistake. My sister shouted angrily " Get off the pipe your elephant." She could have said anything but she had to say something like this. Even though they all know I wake up at 5 AM to go running. I am eating healthier than them all. My sister is just (11lbs)5 Kgs lighter than me and she has no strength at all. She can never keep up with me while doing workouts.

    I have heard these comments all my life. But can't they see I am trying to make an effort here. I have started running for god's sake. I have social anxiety but still, I get out every day and pass those judgy looks coz I am trying. I am trying. I am a very introverted person so I don't show my feelings to others a lot. But today I just can't take it. Please I need some kind words today. I need to get up tomorrow and run again. Thank you

    submitted by /u/mirage1197
    [link] [comments]

    Progress: I lost 28lbs and gained muscle!

    Posted: 01 May 2021 01:43 PM PDT

    I want to highlight for those who are trying to lose weight and 'failing', it took me a year to find what would work for me. I hadn't lost 80% of the extra weight until late 2020. I tried various diets, but some diets made me want to binge eat uncontrollably, some made me gain. It's important to find the right diet for you, one that makes you happy and that you can maintain long term.

    I'm 5'7, 18F and have started my weight loss journey when I was 16. I wasn't overly large, but I probably ate upwards of 3000+ calories a day and was gaining rapidly. I also lived an incredibly sedentary lifestyle; I left the house maybe once a month and the only walking I did was from my bed to the computer. I had just surpassed my BMI being overweight at my heaviest, 156lbs. My weight gain was partly attributed to intense depression and anxiety.

    Eventually I realized I was practically being controlled by junk food, and the only reason I'd bother to wake up was to eat 2 family sized bags of chips or fast food. I hated living like this and it only made my mental health worse. I started small. I tracked my calories, and I tried to eat 3 meals a day. I didn't change what I ate quite yet, but through small changes throughout the years I had managed to drop 28 lbs.

    I only started working out at home with resistance bands and weights in 2021, and I'm so excited about my progress. I have NEVER had abs before and it feels amazing to see results from the effort I've put on my multi year health journey. I don't really have anyone to share it with, so I wanted to share it hereweight lossssss! This sub has been such a fantastic way to motivate myself and I'm so thankful to be apart of this group!

    submitted by /u/awkwardcro1ssant
    [link] [comments]

    In tears over graduation pictures

    Posted: 01 May 2021 09:21 PM PDT

    Hi, I'm new here so forgive me if this isn't right/missing something. I'm (F, 5'0" 165ish) currently in tears looking at the pictures taken hours ago at my college for my upcoming graduation ceremony. I started looking through them and within a few swipes, I thought to myself, "Who the heck is this?". This past year hasn't been kind to me, as I'm sure it hasn't been to a lot of people, but today was the wake up call that I needed. Tomorrow is a brand new beginning, and I'm going to take it. I really, really have struggled with calorie counting in the past, although I'm pretty good at getting myself to the gym or walk on a semi-regular basis. I really don't know how to plan attainable goals or not revert back to my old ways after a few days. Ultimately I'll take any and all advice if anyone has anything to share.

    submitted by /u/fivefootsleuth
    [link] [comments]

    4 years ago I lost 100 lbs

    Posted: 01 May 2021 08:14 PM PDT

    [Vent Post] In January of 2016 I (30 F) was 250 lbs. (25 at the time). I had a 3 year old and I had let myself go a lot. I decided enough was enough. By Sept 2016 I was down 70 lbs and I gradually lost the last 30 by July 2017. I got pregnant August 2017, gained 40 back but I was able to lose most of it over the next year(30lbs-ish) Then I got pregnant AGAIN. And this time I gained 60 lbs because I was high risk and on bed rest a lot. Well in the last 15 months since my daughter was born, I've lost 10 lbs. and I can't get anything else to budge. My diet the first time was low carb with intermittent fasting. The problem I have now is I can't intermittent fast because I'm still nursing. I also somehow developed an allergy to dairy and eggs in the last couple years and it's to the point that I'll be in agony after one egg or one piece of string cheese. My original low carb diet consisted of a lot of dairy and eggs because dairy has almost no carbs and eggs have none. I've tried cico but with 3 kids (one severely disabled) I don't have the time to constantly measure and track my calories. Low carb and IF was easy for me because it didn't require a lot of tracking after I laid out my initial meal plans. Now I'm just at a loss. It's kind of hard to eat low carb when over half of the low carb food options...aren't an option. I know, I know. Meat and vegetables. To be clear, I'll starve before I eat a fucking salad and hunk of meat for breakfast. I feel bad for my kids. I refuse to let people take pictures of me because at 210 lbs I feel like such a fat fucking failure. So since my daughter was born last year, aside from selfie's, I don't have a single picture of me with my kids. We don't have any family pictures. I wanted to take some during the holidays but decided not to because I couldn't stand the sight of myself. So here I am. Stagnant. Depressed. Wallowing in self hatred. Thanks for reading my vent post. I just had to get it all out somewhere before I explode.

    submitted by /u/BJMkrtychyan
    [link] [comments]

    Lost 45 pounds in 5 months

    Posted: 01 May 2021 01:54 PM PDT

    Hey everybody!

    I used to be very athletic prior to an injury I had to both my knees about 4-5 years ago (5'10" btw). I tried different sports but after a short while they all ended in enormous pain so I just stopped exercising at all. On exactly the 15th of November I clocked in at 203 and realized that I am not in a good shape and that I need to do a drastic change in my life; I needed to lose weight. Now it's the 1st of May and I clocked in at 157. Lurking on this sub helped me a lot with the lack of motivation but I've almost reached my goal, 150 pounds.

    I did IF for most of the time (around 1500cal. a day) and Keto in the last month. Now the only thing that is left to do is to shed the rest of 7 pounds and build muscle while maintaining my weight. The results might not be that impressive (for now!) but man am I proud!

    Before and after

    submitted by /u/ein-windir
    [link] [comments]

    Should I go ahead and join the gym?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 08:48 PM PDT

    I know this sounds dumb. like yeah obviously i should. But I just moved towns and started a new job at a warehouse doing order filling, which has got me on my feet all day. I start at 7am and don't get off till about 6-8pm, M-F. This has me averaging 10-11k steps a day (a huge step up and change from my prior average of about 1-3k on work days). And from this of course, i'm very tired and sore (i've even had to start wearing a wrist brace bc of possible carpal tunnel syndrome) when I get home after work and usually will just eat and go to bed since i gotta get up early the next day to do it all again.

    One of things i was most excited about moving to this town was finally being somewhere with a gym. I've looked into crunch fitness and it seems like a good fit for me bc i'd like to focus more on weight training, plus they have group classes like zumba which seem fun. I just am worried I might over work myself and get hurt/injured. i'm already pissed bc of my wrist/hand being this way and i've only been at this job for 2 weeks. (again, i know this sounds stupid, but i guess i'm just looking for someone to tell me to stop being scared and complaining and to do it anyway).

    For reference and if it's of any importance: F, 22, HW:320 lbs, CW: 230 lbs, 5'4" -my goals are to lose weight primarily but get stronger in the long run. i've been adjusting my diet accordingly and know about counting calories/macros, etc. that's helped me lose this first good amount of weight in the last few years.

    submitted by /u/lstaggs10
    [link] [comments]

    Healthy Lifestyle Thought: Feed Myself Like I Feed My Dog

    Posted: 01 May 2021 08:39 AM PDT

    I had a realization today... I treat myself with less respect and less focus on health than I do my dog. I make sure he has high quality food, enough for plenty of energy and a shiny coat, but not so much that he's overweight. I make sure he has treats for when we're training, enrichment activities so he isn't bored, and enough exercise that he has a healthy muscle tone. I do even more of those things for my equine athletes!

    I do none of that for myself. I eat whatever, sometimes healthy but sometimes from a drivethrough window. I eat every time I'm bored, instead of giving myself productive or non-food fun. Sometimes I workout, but mostly I don't.

    I need to give MYSELF the respect and care I have reserved for my dogs & horses, and weightloss is part of that.

    submitted by /u/WithAnAxe
    [link] [comments]

    Is it healthy to lose 1-2 lbs a week for everyone?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 02:04 PM PDT

    I feel that most of my problem was that I was emotionally eating because of grief and the loss of a loved one and due to winters.

    I started eating so.much.take out and processed food which I normally do not do. I was also working out more and doing weights so it seems it was a mix of maybe some muscle but also mostly fat.

    I'm currently 136 at 5'4. I'm usually around 120-125, or have been for most of my life. I would like to get back to this.

    This weight gain was gradual, I was 120 in August 2019 and 130 in October 2020. Now 136.

    I would realistically like to be at 125 as I look a bit healthier there and feel a bit better, too. So 11 lbs. Ive never had to lose weight before so not sure a realistic but healthy timeline.

    In my head, I am committing to about 12 weeks of getting back to how I used to eat: all whole and real foods, mostly fruits, veggies, meats, seafoods, limited grains, gluten, dairy, and sugar free except on occasion.

    Whooooooo boy, it's hard though- all I can think about is something sugary from Starbucks. Lol

    Thank you

    submitted by /u/Mediocrebutcoool
    [link] [comments]

    I feel as though I've already put on the Freshman 15

    Posted: 01 May 2021 10:08 PM PDT

    There's just so much snacking thats been happening since school started. My regular lunch is all junk food, combine that with the junk food I consider snacks, snacking, and now my meals sizes at home I've pushed to become enormous in size, none of it healthy, none of it offset by exercise, all of it piled on do to by doing. I can't do this anymore, I don't want to do this anymore, my problem is that I feel that I lack the willpower I guess I'd call it and I wish I could be taught that. Whenever I should go for fruit, I go for a doughnut, whenever I should go for water, I aim for a fatty version of coffee or juice. I'm tired of living like this, I don't want my future to be awful like my present.

    How do I redirect course?

    submitted by /u/IZY909
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: May 2nd, 2021

    Posted: 01 May 2021 11:08 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences :)

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: for the first time in my life I can comfortably fit into my (average sized) fiancé's clothes

    Posted: 01 May 2021 07:45 AM PDT

    I've always wanted to experience being the "hoodie stealing girlfriend" or wearing my boyfriend's sweatpants around the house or... Any of those silly things you know people do with their significant others when they're similar sized. But I've never been able to. I've always worn clothes 2-4x bigger than the people I was dating. They could wear MY hoodies (and they'd look like a little kid that just put on their dad's clothes) but I could never wear theirs.

    In the last 1.5 years I've gone from 265lbs to 175lbs (at 5'3") and my fiancé is about 165-170 (at 5'6"). He wears a size large hoodie, medium to large shirt, and medium to large sweatpants/shorts. I can comfortably fit into most of his clothes; both zip-up and pullover hoodies, some of his t-shirts, and most of his comfy shorts/sweatpants.

    I honestly never thought I'd see the day that I'd be under 200lbs, let alone able to wear my significant other's clothes. I might actually wear his clothes more than I wear my own now 🤭

    🎉 Progress! 🎉

    • SW(08/2019): 265lbs
    • CW(05/2021): 175lbs
    • GW: 160-165ish, I think. 🤷🏻‍♀️

    Methods/changes made:

    • Got a job that keeps me moving & on my feet 8 hours a day
    • Used MFP & a food scale borderline obsessively until I really learned what my portions should look like
    • Tried OMAD for a short span of time, it was not for me as I have had gastric bypass (in 2017) and can't really stuff down a days worth of calories in a few hour window of time 😬
    • Ended up going with 1200 calorie diet for quite a while - cut out snacking, focus on lean meats and veggies for meals, lower carb (but not keto low) and focus on protein & making sure I get enough fiber

    Now, I just kinda wing it. But I know what is good for me and what is bad. I know what my portions should look like and if I ever feel like I'm backsliding I go back to the ol' faithful food scale 😁

    submitted by /u/DarthNerdious805
    [link] [comments]

    What to do about my brother

    Posted: 01 May 2021 11:27 PM PDT

    I'm currently on a weight loss journey, but this post isn't about me, it's about my brother. He's 12, and his eating habits are starting to greatly effect him and our household. The only way I can describe him is that he's huge. Huge meaning wide, he's short and fat. We currently have no idea what he weighs, but he's definitely obese. He will snack all day, and makes frequent trips to the liquor store to buy more snacks after he eats the one's at home. Besides snacks he will also eat basically anything in large quantities. Like he would get something, then make multiple trips back to the kitchen, and end up emptying the container of whatever he's eating. For example if we have cereal, he will grab multiple cups/bowls of it throughout the day until it's gone.

    It's gotten to the point where I don't bake or bring any communal food home because I know my brother is going to eat 90% of it. I've started to quietly resent him because when I'm hungry, there often isn't much to eat in the kitchen because of him. One of the reason's I'm excited to live on campus is because he wont be there to eat everything. It seems that everyone else at home has started to become annoyed with him, and it all came to a head when he ate two sandwiches within an hour, and our mom yelled at him about how big he has become and how big he will be if he keeps eating like he does. She also banned him from the kitchen, and is making him ask for food before he get any. Also he's not allowed to go buy junk food at the store (I think this is a good thing). Lastly, she's going to force him to exercise everyday.

    I know guilting him, and making him adhere to a strict diet and exercise plan by himself isn't going to work. It'll probably make him develop another eating disorder if he doesn't have one already. I also know that the enforcement of this diet isn't going to be consistent, since he is rarely disciplined. So I don't see a reason to make him miserable for a couple days a week if he isn't going make any progress because of a lack on consistency. Lastly, no one else besides me is mindful of the food we eat. Majority of our family is obese, and I know it'll be hard to watch everyone else eat and enjoy huge portions while he thinks that he's being denied a normal amount of food. It just feels like this is a recipe for disaster, and while I do want him to lose weight and adopt better eating habits, I know my mom's solution isn't the right one. Do you guys have any advice on how to deal with my brothers weight problem?

    submitted by /u/Electronic-Ad6058
    [link] [comments]

    How do you make working out fun?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 07:58 PM PDT

    I'm overweight and I've been starting to workout, but it's so boring. I'm on the rowing machine just rowing non-stop for 20 minutes trying to watch a video, but not being able to hear anything or focus, or I'm doing a strength training exercise and I'm in pain hearing some upbeat music. Working out isn't enjoyable and I always dread doing it. What can I do to make it more enjoyable? I know thinking about the outcome will make me have a goal and exercising more would make it easier for myself, but I still don't like it! I still exercise I just want to know what I should do to actually enjoy it. Thanks!

    submitted by /u/Ok_Consideration6524
    [link] [comments]

    Rollercoaster mom’s rollercoaster journey

    Posted: 01 May 2021 06:09 PM PDT

    Hi everyone, it's me again looking for that community support! Two months ago in March the local amusement park announced their opening for May 15th. I was suddenly afraid of being embarrassed by not fitting in the seats properly when going with my children. My goal was set to lose 20lbs before the start of the season. I changed my meals, cut the calories, walked, walked, walked and did more walking. When I got tired of walking or the weather was awful I dove head first into chores around my home. I have been living the motto every day of "eat less move more". I was over joyed to find just over a week ago I had lost 18lbs and was going to hit my goal. Then the rollercoaster happened. Not sure if other women suffer this but my monthly cycle hit. My energy was zapped. My mood completely horrible. I tried very hard to stay cognizant of just eating less. But in one short weekend I had gained back 9lbs. I'm sure some was bloat and water weight. Everything just sucked. Today after a five days of not weighing in I decided to get back on the scale. My total weight loss is now 13lbs. Still sad to see I will not make my goal of 20lbs lost by the start of the season. But feeling so much better knowing I'm still at a deficit. Though I think rollercoasters with my kids are a blast, I'm not liking the rollercoaster of weight loss. Tomorrow is another day and a new chance at getting another step closer to my goal.

    submitted by /u/anonymitywoman
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 1 & Sign Ups for May

    Posted: 01 May 2021 02:19 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Happy May! Holy crapola, it's May! Hope you're ready to smash some goals!

    For the newbies to the sub reddit, please start here, so much good info!

    https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/wiki/quick_start_guide https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/wiki/faq

    And hey, maybe it's not a bad idea to review them anyway to you returning conquerors. I do occasionally to remind myself of the basics.

    Here's what we do in the DAC my friends!

    This is the sign up post (and day 1) to outline your goals, weight loss, self care, creative, whatever keeps your motor going.

    There will be a daily update post for you to chime in about how day whatever is going!

    At the end of the month, there is a wrap up post to reflect on the progress you made or didn't make & what you learned. Learning is progress my friends!

    We try to foster a supportive, caring place to discuss the actual day to day of deficits & counting & caring so much about how we fuel our bodies & lives. So be kind, interact if you like & hopefully you feel supported by the internet version of a push up bra! Leading by example, here I go!

    Weigh in daily, enter in Libra & report here even if I don't like it: Missed it this morning. Progress over perfection.

    Stay within calorie range (1800): 1800 is looking achievable today kids. 1/1 days.

    Exercise 5 days a week: Walked about this morning plus vigorous cleaning. 1/1 days.

    Self-care alone time & ten deep breath cycles a day: Check mark on the breathing. Check mark on alone time.

    Try a new recipe once a week: Any suggestions? X/4 weeks.

    Write 1500 words a day 6 days a week: Not tonight my friends, need some down time.

    Do a mindfulness exercise: Handled it when I was out & about. I was very present for some errands & sunshine through all the open car windows & sun roof was mindfulness on easy mode. I'm a sucker for that particular input.

    Todays gratitude list: Grateful for family of choice. I'm also super grateful for shot number two yesterday. I'm one step closer to feeling less existentially scared of literally everything lol. So very grateful for that kids.

    Your turn kids! Tell us about your day 1 & your goals!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Sunday, 02 May 2021: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 01 May 2021 10:01 PM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    * Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?

    * Did you log for an entire week? or year?

    * Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?

    * Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!

    ---

    On Reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily most the most read, most used, most interesting post on r/loseit by redding, commenting, and participating often!

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Great at first, then get discouraged

    Posted: 02 May 2021 01:40 AM PDT

    I'm a 31M , 6'0", SW:298 CW:290 GW:200. I started a little over a week ago, and am already down almost 10 lbs. Walked 2 miles every other day, cut way down on soda, and am counting calories for the first time.

    I don't know what it is, every time I start to do well, I feel like I lose that oomph I had to keep myself going. During the summer I was diagnosed with the dreaded virus, and as a result lost 25 lbs in 2 weeks. I wanted to continue on losing, but like I always do, I lose the motivation and go right back to my old habits.

    Now that I'm starting over the for hundredth time it feels like, I'm trying to figure out a real way to keep the motivation and discipline. I've tried apps, fitness trackers, etc..and none of it seems to work.

    I guess what I'm posting for is how do you keep the drive up, and ignoring the feeling that you'll fail so you just give up?

    submitted by /u/markhudson17
    [link] [comments]

    I never thought I'd have a weight loss "journey" to talk about...but here we go

    Posted: 02 May 2021 01:04 AM PDT

    22F, 5'4", SW: 170lbs / CW: 159lbs / GW: 145lbs

    Back in early-2019, I experienced a tremendous falling out with a group of people who I considered to be my friends (my own roommate even turned against me); I was also dealing with some emotional aspects of my relationship with my partner when we had to go long-distance. I turned to eating... Domino's, Taco Bell, you name it. Being a college student, you don't have the best options for healthy food. I was consuming my emotions to cope with my depression and anxiety. Even being on antidepressants (which I already was for about 2 years at that point) wasn't enough. Food was my ultimate comfort. Through binge-eating, I went from 140 to 155 in less than two months. I also failed a class and my GPA was bad enough that my school forced me to take a semester off.

    I was also in a bit of fight with my parents, so I moved in with my maternal grandmother and began to attend community college in her town. My goal was to lose weight, move on from my former friends, and prove myself to be a better student. Well, it was easier said than done. I bought a scale and downloaded an app called MyPlate. Things were going really well for a few weeks. One of the few friends I had left (and who wasn't associated with the group) was getting married. We motivated each other and I lost 6 pounds. I bought a dress and, while I still had a bit of a stomach, things felt like they were turning around. I got to see my boyfriend more and I was no longer binge-eating.

    Fast forward to November 2019. My other grandmother calls me (she's an alcoholic) while she's drunk. I didn't realize it at first and I was talking about how accomplished I felt with losing just a few pounds. She starts laughing at me and mocks me by saying, "What, are you starving yourself?" She knew that I had a problem with eating too much so this felt like a punch in the gut. Yes, she was drunk, but that doesn't excuse her behavior--especially when she's pulled similar shit while being sober. I tried to visit my dad more. As much as I love him, he doesn't have the healthiest food for me to eat. The same grandmother noticed I was gaining the weight back and had the audacity to ask me, "Are you pregnant?" Wow. I played it off like I wasn't bothered but I never brought up my intention to lose weight around her ever again.

    By the time I returned to my university (January 2020) after completing a successful CC semester, I felt like I could start my weight loss journey... again. However, I felt intensely discouraged when the scale now read 165. I was appalled at myself. I turned back to food, as ridiculous as it sounded. I had few friends, wasn't close at all with my new roommate, and was still in a long-distance relationship with my partner (who still did his best to support me). My emotions just weren't there. When Covid hit and I went back home to live with my parents (March 2020), I decided to work on personal projects. Then I thought about my weight again. Now I weighed 175. It was the most I had ever weighed and I literally cried. In June, I decided to start tracking my calories with My Fitness Pal and I did Chloe Ting's workouts on YouTube; I also started drinking nothing but water. I got down to 165 again and it felt great. But then my university announced that some classes were going to resume in-person learning and I couldn't back out of a credit that was required for my degree. So I went back to campus and starting consuming Bojangles (it was cheap and very convenient). I shot back up to 170 and this time my weight was "stumped"--it's like the scale wouldn't budge no matter what I did.

    My biggest motivator came in March 2021 (a month and a half ago). I was alerted by a friend who showed me screenshots of the former friend group still talking shit about me. It'd been almost two years at this point and my name was STILL being dragged through the mud. And as petty as this sounds, the person talking the most shit was someone who also struggled with weight issues and they were much bigger than me--I used that as my motivation and that doesn't sound healthy, but it's what I did. My thoughts: "If this person is heavier than me, and wants to consistently talk shit even though I've avoided them and am trying to move on, then bring it. If they ever see me in person again, I wanna prove them wrong. I want to be almost unrecognizable."

    So what did I do? First, I made sure that everyone who had EVER pissed me off or talked shit was blocked (Facebook, Snapchat, etc). Second, I downloaded the Fastic app and decided to try intermittent fasting. I did the 16:8 plan (where I fast for 16 hours and then use the remaining 8 hours to eat whatever I want). I drank half a gallon of water (daily) and made sure to burn 350 to 400 calories almost every day. When I lost 2 pounds in the first week, holy hell did that motivate me. I set my goal to be 145 because I figured that losing 25 pounds was realistic and healthy for me to do.

    I have been doing this for 41 days now (as I'm posting this). I officially started on March 22. I have lost 11 pounds; my BMI went from 29 to 27.8. I feel happier, my skin is starting to clear up, and I feel more motivated to do several things in general (including conquering my driving anxiety). I never thought intermittent fasting would be the game changer for me. I never thought I'd lose more than 10 pounds. This is fantastic and I can't wait to update. Also, I feel so confident now that I don't really care about looking unrecognizable or "better" than my former friend. I'm doing this for me and my mental health.

    TLDR: After struggling with losing weight on-and-off for almost 2 years, I gave intermittent fasting (16:8) a try with the Fastic app. I drank half a gallon of water every day; my calorie burning goal was bumped up to an average of almost 400 daily. I also made sure to block anyone who has ever wronged me--there's no potential for a reunion or "making up" so I put the nails in the coffin. Cutting toxic people out of your life really does wonders. I never thought I'd have a journey to share, but I'll be at my halfway goal (12.5 pounds) soon and I'm so happy. Also, having a wonderful and supportive significant other to reassure and encourage me is a blessing.

    submitted by /u/timetotalk9
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Sunday, 02 May 2021 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 01 May 2021 10:01 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.

    ---

    On reddit, your *vote* means, *"I found this interesting"* (...read more about [**voting on reddit**](https://www.reddit.com/wiki/voting))

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment