• Breaking News

    Tuesday, April 6, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-06

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-06


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-06

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Calories burned during low intensity longer workout vs shorter high intensity cardio workout?

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 03:32 AM PDT

    Hi, I'm pretty new to fitness and cardio workouts.

    Recently, I tried a 10 minute HIIT workout and at the end I was really out of breath and my chest was burning. Since that workout was really hard on my knees, today I tried a low intensity 38 minute workout with no rests in between. Compared to the other workout, I was sweating way more but I wasn't out of breath.

    Which is better for burning fat and weight loss? Thanks!

    submitted by /u/oatmealsupreme
    [link] [comments]

    Abs workouts only end up working out my legs

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 05:33 PM PDT

    Hey guys. I am super frustrated since I cannot seem to get past a barrier in my abs workouts. Every time I do abs workouts, my legs end up KILLING me after 20 or so reps and I don't even feel my abs burning at all. My form is probably wrong, but i've done machines and crunches and all the like and every single time I find my thighs are flexing really hard and they end up putting me physically incapable of continuing. I need to be able to do 80 crunches in 2 mins in about 4 months, and right now I'm sitting at 45 before my legs literally cramp up into a knot. Thank you for any advice you may have.

    submitted by /u/FallBreakVolunteer
    [link] [comments]

    Full planche push ups attempt / progression

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 05:33 AM PDT

    Full Planche Push Ups

    I've finally managed to do a set of pretty clean planche push ups without arching my lower back! Overall my shoulders are still compensating for the lack of core strength but progress is still progress

    For my routine I've only been training half lay planche push ups, pseudo planche push ups as well as half lay planche press ups :)

    submitted by /u/hydraxon13
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for advice and want to learn more about HIIT trainers

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 05:35 AM PDT

    Hi everyone! I am a developer of an app called interval timer++, which provides HIIT trainers with some convenient timers to help them get started easily. I'd like to ask a few questions to learn more from HIIT practitioners like you guys.

    1. Do you use any apps on the mobile device to assist you while doing the HIIT training? If so, what kind of apps are they?
    2. Do you always watch the screen on your phone while doing the HIIT training?
    3. Do you listen to music while doing the HIIT training? Which one do you use more often, a voice box or a headset?
    4. Do you watch tutorial videos while doing the HIIT training?

    Welcome to leave your comments, share answers, training routines, or anything related to HIIT!

    submitted by /u/Cute-Jeweler
    [link] [comments]

    L-Sit and flexibility

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 06:08 PM PDT

    Hey guys,

    I try to do L-sit pull-ups but im way to unflexible. When I try to do a normal strech for my hamstrings (e.g. bending over and trying to touch my toes) I feel the strech on the backside of my knees and in my calves. So I wanted to ask, is it possible that my calves are the limiting factor and not my hamstrings? And do you guys have any effective streches to solve my problem?

    Thank you very much <3

    submitted by /u/babyAlpaca_
    [link] [comments]

    What’s your experience with the recommended routine in the FAQ?

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 06:02 AM PDT

    I currently do a lot of biking, walking, running, yoga, and light dumbbell exercises for fitness, but really want to improve my ability to do compound body weight exercises.

    At this point, I can't perform the full expression of many of the moves in the recommended routine. I'm good on squats, but can't do a single pull-up and can probably only do one push-up with super solid form.

    Has anyone here tried the recommended routine as a true beginner to body weight fitness? If so, did you start at the first step of the progressions (i.e. scapular holds for pull ups) and gradually work your way through them? Were the suggested progressions sufficient for building the strength you needed to eventually do the full expression of the moves? How long did it take to advance from one progression to the next for some of the exercises you struggled with most?

    submitted by /u/SpookyGoulash
    [link] [comments]

    How to cheaply do weighted calisthenics?

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 03:18 PM PDT

    For my training, I combine weightlifting with calisthenic movements. However, some days/weeks I'm too busy to go to the gym during gym hours, so I train from home.

    I have a pull-up/dip power tower station, gymnastic rings, and tube resistance bands. I have a 40 lb box of permasand and an 8 lb frying pan that I use with a dip belt (not even space to comfortably combine them both together though). I've mostly outgrown the box because I'm already doing 3-4 sets of 12-15+ reps for weighted dips and chin-ups.

    Weight plates are still super expensive where I am and I've looked into kettlebells but haven't found anything reasonably priced for them either. Any suggestions?

    submitted by /u/CancelTheTV
    [link] [comments]

    Multiple goals

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 08:01 AM PDT

    How can you combine learning one arm handstand and training calisthenic skills ( planche front lever) and do some basics to keep up? Feel like one arm handstand take all the time in world and feels hard to try get other calisthenic skills with out workout for more than 2 and half hours! Any help it will be appreciate

    submitted by /u/goiss10
    [link] [comments]

    Recommended Routine Update.

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 07:14 AM PDT

    Is the RR still planning to get an update? I remember reading a post pre 2021 about a few different programs being made following the primer I believe. Haven't used Reddit in awhile so was curious if anyone knew.

    submitted by /u/thepronu
    [link] [comments]

    Don't know if this is the right place to post but I know f**k all about how many sets and reps I should have, I'm 6 months or so into bodyweight fitness, Is this too much, any tweaks?

    Posted: 06 Apr 2021 06:50 AM PDT

    Upper:

    Tricep Dips (10 Reps 3 sets) Band Flyes (10 Reps 3 sets) Incline Pushups (8 Reps 3 Sets) Decline pushups (8 Reps 3 sets) Diamond pushups (6 Reps 3 sets) Bicep band curls (10 reps 3 sets) Band lateral pull (12 reps 3 sets) Dumbell Snow angels (12 reps 3 sets) Wide Pushups (10 reps 3 sets) Prone Dumbell shrugs (10 reps 3 sets) Dumbell woodchops (8 reps 3 sets) Band overhead presses (10 reps 4 sets)

    Abdominals:

    V Crunches (8 reps 3 sets) Dumbell side crunches (8 Reps 3 sets) One legged oblique situp (8 Reps 3 sets) Bicycle crunches (8 reps 3 sets) Explosive Dumbell toe touches (8 reps 3 sets) Dumbell overhead to squat (8 reps 3 sets) Standing ab band crunches using door (10 reps 3 sets) Band flutter kicks ( 8 Reps 3 sets) Raised Dumbell Situps (8 Reps 3 sets) Band Russian twists (8 reps 3 sets)

    Lower body:

    Band deadlifts (8 Reps 3 sets) Jump squats (8 Reps 3 sets) Pistol squats each side (6 Reps 3 sets) Glute bridge hold (60 3 times sec) Goblet squat (10 reps 3 sets)

    submitted by /u/LuvLego7inch
    [link] [comments]

    Any tips for working out when one arm lacks full ROM?

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 02:54 PM PDT

    Severe elbow break has caused a permanent bone block so I'm lacking the final 15 degrees extension in my right arm. Can play havoc with my back on long cycles (have to remember to kept left arm suitably bent) and is hindering my progression with bouldering. Seems rather than utilise scapula strength the shoulder rolls over to gain extension. Bicep gets bigger, pec doesn't.

    Figure I've just got to consciously adjust but wondered if anyone has gone through similar/has any tips? Like, my handstand will never be the same. Always adjust left arm to compensate or will not using its full ROM cause other problems?

    submitted by /u/opiumgordon
    [link] [comments]

    12 weeks following the GMB Planche Program

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 10:10 AM PDT

    I've been training planche (very loosely) for a couple of years now, and I thought it would be interesting to follow an online program for 12 weeks and see how that would impact my progress.

    My problem is that I have a habit of working on many skills at once, so although I can perform a variety of bodyweight skills, I find some skills take me a long time to progress, especially because I lack proper structure when working on achieving them. I hoped that following a program may change this!

    I put together a video which explains the program and includes a compilation of my progress over 12 weeks (I filmed each workout and selected my best planche hold from each week). You can watch the video here - https://www.calisthenics-101.co.uk/video-12-weeks-following-the-gmb-planche-program - though for those of you who are only interested in the 12 week progress compilation, skip to 00:02:32.

    For reference, the GMB Planche Program was created by Ryan Hurst and is free to access on the GMB website here.

    I'm interested to know if anybody else has tried any other planche programs, and what you thought of them?

    Overall I would recommend trying the program (it's free after all), but I'm not sure if there are more effective programs out there for me to try? Has anyone here followed Simonster or FitnessFAQs program for over 12 weeks?

    What I did like about the program is how simple it was. Although it's technically a program, it's probably better described as the framework for a single workout which you repeat up to 3x per week. The structure and sets never change, and each workout has you focusing on two different planche variations, with the goal being to advance to the harder progressions as you improve.

    I'll also finish by saying I'm pretty new to YouTube, so any feedback would be welcome!

    submitted by /u/rickdonohoe
    [link] [comments]

    Flexibility and skills pairing

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 01:13 PM PDT

    It's more motivating to work on flexibility if it directly helps the skills you are training. So what would be good skills to work on alongside flexibility goals? I'll start with those I can think of

    - Pike
    L-sit, V-sit, scales, toes to bar. Somersaults in pike position. Pike press to hs.

    - Pancake
    Straddle and stalder press to hs.

    - Front splits
    Split leaps, perhaps front/back walkovers.

    - Box splits
    The better the splits the easier the straddle version of various skills (e.g. front and back lever, planche, straddle press).

    - Bridge and thoracic
    Backbends, walkovers, contorsion hs, chest stand.

    - Shoulder flexion
    Straight and even more so mexican hs.

    - Shoulder extension
    V-sit (I've seen this done two ways, more shoulder extension and less pike compression and the other way around), manna, skin the cat.

    submitted by /u/snupy270
    [link] [comments]

    What should I do with my life?! Calisthenics wise. :)))

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 02:10 PM PDT

    Before we dive in, a bit of a rant. It's the end of the Covid lockdown and the gyms are about to open, but during the lockdown I rrsorted yet again to the calisthenics basics, doing high reps. I haven't had this much fun in a while, having felt the eagerness to train. It's been a difficult year, I must say, with family member illnesses, my own minor health issues, turmoil within the local political scene which affected all of us, relationship ups and downs, side hustles drying out and what not. I found the enjoyment in training I haven't felt in a long time. The reddit community has been very helpful and to all of the guys having patience to answer the most tedious of questions I give sincere gratitude on my behalf. You guys gave a direction to my overtjinking brain and I can't thank you enough. Now let me get back to the topic. I have some questions regarding my training in the future: 1. I can do 20-25 dips on my first set EASY. Pull ups, 10-12. Is this a huge discrepancy and should I start doing weighted calisthenics or wait a bit longer for the pull ups to catch up? 2. I can take a LOT of volume and still recover well enough even though I'm in my thirties. This means that push pull legs type of split works best if the frequency is 2x a week, meaning some kind of a 4 day split, but not upper lower. I like to do pull ups and dips twice a week, legs once, maybe a fee isolation movements on the push and pull days. 3. Pull ups seem to go down a lot faster than other movement patterns if not performed regularly. Is it me or is this really the case? I have been able to do 18 to 20 reps in a set. 4. I would like to make pull ups and dips main movements in my training along with barbell squats and deadlift just for the sake of deadlifting. I started to dread the bench press, but enjoy the dips. In terms of hypertrophy, I know that exercise selection makes little difference as long as they are compound movements you can overload easily, which you can do with dips. Will these changes have negative effect on the existing development? 5. I noticed that in the sport of street lifting you have two disciplines, a max weight competition and 24/32 kg for reps. Are there any routines out there geared towards this, and how would a person with my stats reach that level, what would be the plan of action? I do not wish to compete, but rather have a goal to steer towards. I recently pulled 20 kg for one rep pul up, felt kinda easy. 6. I did an emom workout recently where for 60 minutes i did 2 pull ups 4 dips. Felt alright, but it bumped my numbers by two reps per every set. Is this a viable way to train for endurance at a given weight or is it a momentary effect of sorts? 7. Is it ok to do a certain number of reps with a given progression and then regress to fulfil the volume demand, e.g. archer push ups left side, then do regular in the same set, do the same thing with the right side? 8. Been doing JnT 2.0 in the gym, really liked the program, is there a spreadsheet that someone made for weighted calisthenics? To those who would give their comments and opinions, thank you for raking time to read through the text. Looking forward to your response.

    submitted by /u/godgivengulas
    [link] [comments]

    I just had a crap workout, my progress is so slow, and I'm getting to the point where I feel like I want to give up

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 08:52 AM PDT

    As the title says, things aren't going too well for me in calisthenics. I started on the 15th februrary 2021 (7 weeks ago), and I'm using calisthenics rings, as that's all I have available to me. I have a small section of bar that, if I bend my knees, I can practice dead hangs and pull/chinups when the rings get too tough (which is often). My progress has been slow. I *have* made progress in my 7 weeks, I can admit that. Generally, I've gotten better at every excersize except pull/chinups. My "routine" is basically just focusing on dips, pushups, rows, pull/chinups, squats and maybe planks (I really can't be sure if they do much for me tbh). Whatever progress I have made is pretty small, and on certain days (like today's workout) I feel like I'm at a point where I've barely made any progress. What frustrates me most is pullups. Since the first day I started back 7 weeks ago, my first goal was to do 1 pullup on the rings. That's it, 1 pullup, a fairly achievable first goal, or so I thought. Obviously with all my whining it should be obvious that I *still* can't do a single pullup. To get to that first rep, I've been doing negatives and chair assisted pullups (basically you lower the rings, set out a chair in front, and rest you legs straight out on the chair, so you can perform the initial pullup movement with some weight taken off your legs) every workout (I workout 3 days a week). I can *barely* do 1 chinup, which I'll admit is 1 more than I could do 7 weeks ago, but still it's a struggle just for 1, especially when I get to the top. I'm just getting tired of being stuck in this ultra noob mode, where I can barely do most basic excersizes past 5 reps, and not even being able to do 1 pullup. What makes it even worse for me is that I'm an 18 year old male. I should be well capable of doing these basic strength moves, and knowing that most other 18 year old males can do atleast 1 pullup just makes me feel weak and useless. Sorry for all my whining and self pity, I just feel low at the moment.

    submitted by /u/Lonely_Durian40
    [link] [comments]

    CAN CALISTHENICS HELP MY SHOULDERS

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 05:21 PM PDT

    Hello, newbie here looking for much needed guidance.

    I have incredibly narrow and small shoulders + traps and it is an issue that affects me everyday.

    I never noticed until I started doing flexibility routines, as I would feel dozens of cracks and pressure between my muscles and bones. It is basically impossible for me to put my arms above my head fully.

    I get cracks so hard when I do certain motions, that it hurts. Making certain movements gives the sensation of stuff grinding together and feeling awkward.

    I have very poor range of motion on my shoulders as I have to extend my arms outwards to make them go back. This blocks me from doing certain calisthenic and flexibility workouts.

    This is an issue that brings me great pain everyday. I have started Chiropractic therapy to fix my spine and imbalances, but it is not sufficient in terms of my shoulder problem.

    Does anyone know of ANYTHING that could possibly aid me in this? I'm tired of the immense amount of pain I feel every day.

    I'm about to turn 20, and I want to stop thinking of other peoples shoulders when I see them. Its seriously an issue.

    Thank you so much for any help.

    LINKS TO PICTURES

    https://ibb.co/nn6y3hp

    https://ibb.co/bgysZMc

    https://ibb.co/HTNj3gr

    submitted by /u/RenValdivia
    [link] [comments]

    Strenght and hypertrophy in the same workout

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 01:39 PM PDT

    Hi, I'm creating a new calisthenics workout based on a PPL routine:

    M: pull T: push W: legs T: pull F: push S: legs S: rest

    And, on my push days, I would like to know if I can train in the first part, chest/triceps hypertrophy, then shoulder strenght (train for straddle planche)

    That's the chest/triceps part:

    (1min between each set and 2min between each exercises)

    Elevated diamond push up 4 x 10 Archer push up 4 x 10 Chest dips 4 x 10 Elevated diamond push up 4 x 10 Straight bar dips 4 x 10 BW triceps extensions 4 x 10

    And that's the planche part:

    4 x max tuck planche (2:30s de rest)

    3min de rest

    -4 x max planche push up (1:30s de rest)

    3min de rest

    -4 x max tuck planche (1min de rest)

    3min de rest

    -4 x max pike push up (1:30s de rest)

    3min de rest

    -4 x max planche lean (45s de rest)

    Do you think it's a good way to train? Could you give me some advices pls

    PS: I don't train a lot of triceps bc I already have a huge triceps compared to the rest of my body and I don't want to train it more to don't have big arms and little body

    submitted by /u/MdsCali
    [link] [comments]

    How do I increase reps per set? I can only increase sets as a way of progressive overload.

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 06:39 AM PDT

    Hello kind redditors, sorry for my bad English. I've been working out for close to 1 year now. I'm 21M, 176cm tall and 63kg (about 139 lbs). My starting weight when I started working out was 55kg (121 lbs). I couldn't even do 1 push-up when I started, had no workout or sports background at all.

    Do you think I should gain weight? My final goal is calisthenics skills like handstand, front lever, planche and building enough strenght to do them and I heard too much weight is bad for them.

    Equipment I own and use: gymnastics rings, resistance bands. I don't have a bar or parallel bars.

    Max chin-ups is 6, max pull-ups is 5, max ring dips is 4 and max push-ups in a row on floor is like 30. I'm stuck at trying to increase the reps but I can only increase sets every week. I track progress for every single workout.

    The program I use says I should do 3-5 sets of 6-10 chin-ups and 3-4 sets of 6-12 pull-ups and 3-4 sets of 8-10 ring dips.

    Since my max chin-ups is 6, I started by doing 3 sets of 5 reps and 3 sets of 4 reps for a total of 27 reps. Since my max pull-ups is 5, I started by doing 5 sets of 4 reps, for a total of 20 reps. For dips, I use a red resistance band and started with 3 sets of 8 reps for a total of 24. I use a push/pull/legs type of thing. My rest time per set is 2 minutes for chin-ups, 2:15 for pull-ups and 2 minutes for dips.

    After 1 month of doing this, I've been increasing the sets for everything. Last workout for chin-ups I did 3 sets of 5 reps and 4 sets of 4 reps for a total of 31 reps. So in 1 month I added 4 total reps pretty much. Is this bad? How much should I be doing extra weekly? Today is pull-day and I'm going to try to add 1 more set of 4 reps. I don't really have problems adding sets.

    For pull-ups, last workout I did 8 sets of 4 reps for a total of 32 (12 more than when I started, maybe I should have started with higher sets). Next workout I plan on doing 9 sets of 4 reps. And the reason why I'm adding sets is because I can't seem to add reps.

    I'd prefer doing less sets of 5 reps but when I try to do 5 reps on first set, my body kinda gives up and next 1-2 sets I'll be able to do 4 reps but after that I can only do 3 or 2.

    For dips, I started with 3 sets of 8 red banded dips and after 1 month I'm at 4 sets of 8 banded dips. And I feel like on last 2 sets, form starts to break down heavily. Would you guys recommend I stop using band and start doing them normally? Since my max is only 4 and program says 8-10 reps per set, do I just need to double the number of sets I do if I don't use band? Or is it better if I keep using the band? I can't seem to add reps even with band.

    What i want to ask is: is adding weight out of question since my number of reps is so low? What can I do to increase my max reps per set by 1 on those exercises? I've been stuck on that max for months now.

    I should add that I also do Archer rows, rows, bicep curls, pelican curls, face pulls as complementary exercises on pull day, respecting the program sets and rep ranges.

    I saw nice progress on rows and Archer rows, I'm able to do same reps as before but at a higher intensity. On the other exercises though, I'm stuck and can't progressive overload which is frustrating. I do the same sets and reps every week on them.

    I'd love to be able to do 5 sets of 5 pull-ups for example, but that for me is not a reality right now. Or 3 sets of 6 chin-ups and 2 sets of 5.

    I should note that my max ring dips has been stuck on 4 for at least 4-5 months. My max chin-ups and pull-ups been stuck on the same for at least 2.5 to 3 months.

    My diet is good I believe. I completly cut down sugars and everything I know is bad for health. I sleep 7-8 hours per night minimum. I'm a lost soul and my only goal is to get strong while looking lean.

    Thank you guys and I hope you can share your experience and help me out!

    submitted by /u/Nyxont
    [link] [comments]

    What would you ideal fitness park look like?

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 05:40 AM PDT

    Hi everybody,

    We are a group of students from the Netherlands who are looking to create a (small) fitness park at our university, so our students can get together and workout on campus. While we are familiar with calisthenics and bodyweightfitness in general, we would not consider ourselves experts in this field in any way. As such, we would love to discuss any ideas you as a community may have to make sure the park provides the proper tools for effective training.

    Some additional info:

    • The available space is around 35m by 25m.
    • We want to make sure students of different heights and experience levels can get a proper workout in.
    • Most equipment needs to be fixed in place as there is limited supervision on the area.

    No matter if it would be in terms of a specific type of equipment to use or more in general on things to consider when building a fitness park, we are keen to hear your thoughts on this!

    submitted by /u/PlacemakingCampus
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment