• Breaking News

    Monday, March 1, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-03-01

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-03-01


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-03-01

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:01 PM PST

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I wanted to give back to this community by creating MyBWF - a telegram bot that tracks your workout progress for you.

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 06:45 AM PST

    EDIT: Wow the response has been incredible! It's possible that the bot is unresponsive for some, please give it some time, I'm working on it as fast as I can!

    I love the idea of tracking my workouts, but I am too lazy to sit down in front of my PC and manually type in my reps and sets into Gdocs / Excel / what have you.

    I also didn't want to download yet another convoluted fitness app that I'll probably forget about when actually doing my routine. So I created a simple lightweight telegram bot that aims to assist you when you're performing a workout.

    Current features:

    1. Create workout routines, or save a specific RR progression (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
    2. Track your reps and sets for each exercise
    3. Time your workouts
    4. View past performance of the current exercise on a set-by-set basis
    5. Export all your workout data

    4.) was particularly important to me because (IMO) knowing at what part of the exercise you are progressing (are you starting off stronger than before, are you improving on your last few sets, etc) is more meaningful than just the total (and average) no. of sets and reps.

    There are still some features I am working on:

    1. Stats page that displays a graph view of all your past workouts and progress
    2. A publishing feature for if you have a specific workout that you would like to share with the community (only if you guys are interested in this particular feature)
    3. Being able to edit workouts once they have been created

    If there's anything else you would like for me to add please let me know!

    Example pics:

    https://imgur.com/gallery/O6HySBa

    Check it out here. https://t.me/BodyweightFitnessBot

    submitted by /u/ciwii
    [link] [comments]

    What exercises do you do on this calisthenics set up?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 04:16 AM PST

    Click on the link below as I think Reddit cropped the image, from phone app view anyway.

    https://imgur.com/gallery/A4HzdDw

    I always see it in calisthenics parks. Sometimes i see people doing pike pushups and tricep dips on it. But then what is the pole in the middle for?

    submitted by /u/beertricks
    [link] [comments]

    My first moth of calisthenics! Oh boy I am adicted!

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 12:11 PM PST

    So last month I decided to start working out after getting inspired through this subreddit. I posted my first workout (https://tinyurl.com/74ezt7jv) and got so much love from everyone, it got me so pumped for more. Now one month in and I am hooked! Here is a comparison from day 1 and day 30 - https://imgur.com/a/fr6p3oz. I didn't expect any change but I see small ones and feel a ton :D

    I did darebee's Hero's Journey for 3 weeks then switched to RR as my ring setup was completed (after safety modifications recommended from you guys <3)

    My week now look like this: mon/wen/fri i will do RR, tue/thu/sat I run and in between I play with the skill exercises like handstand, l-sit or front-lever, like random when I wait for food, laundry or water to boil for tea. Just having so much fun with it. I am very bored on sundays since I have my rest day then.

    I also reduced my unhealthy snacking a large amount and increased the size of my meals to gain some weight.

    All in all, so happy with where I am going and already seeing progress. I want to thank all of you here at r/bodyweightfitness for inspiring me and getting me started!

    I know some of you started training at the same time as me, please leave a comment and tell us how your training is going, let's keep getting inspired.

    Pease and love

    submitted by /u/plasticcrab
    [link] [comments]

    12 Month Home Workout Transformation

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 09:10 AM PST

    https://imgur.com/gallery/nE5trE3

    Howdy Folks!

    This is my one year transformation, this is from March 2020 right after I got quarantined and banished from the gym. Since then, I've been fucking grinding home workouts lmao.

    I did this with bodyweight fitness, dumbbells and a pull up bar. My workout split during this time consisted of push, pull, legs at home!

    For nutrition, I basically practice lean bulking and eating high protein everyday. A lot of single ingredient foods to stay lean. I go into more depth about my diet in my free diet guide!

    For cardio, I'm honestly so lazy with it rn lmaooo. I legit just try to walk daily, I'll push my cardio harder when the sun actually makes it way out, but Winter in Oregon hurts differently.

    For recovery, this year I'm doing one to two days on (working out) one day off. It's been working really well for me so far and of course 7-8 hours of sleep every night when I can.

    Anyways, hope you guys learned something! I really enjoyed this process and I'd highly recommend fitness for anyone out there looking to get their lives back in order/ make a change.

    submitted by /u/Sam_Wick
    [link] [comments]

    Did three ring muscle ups in a row today and would like to share what I learnt about ring muscle ups!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:33 PM PST

    1)False grip strength

    Developed a good false grip through false grip training (doing ring dips and pull ups after practicing my ring muscle ups for about 10 mins).

    My false grip slipped a lot at first and I was considering getting chalk but you reach a point where you develop enough pain resistance and forearm strength till you can do false grip work without slipping and being distracted by the pain!

    I learnt the hard way that wrist prep is really important because false grip is really hard on your wrists at first.

    2)Push and Pull strength

    Made sure I could do about 5 really deep ring dips(resting briefly at the bottom) and 5 ring pull ups where I brought the rings really close to my chest

    3)Gaining control during transition

    Worked on my ring muscle up negatives where I could get decent control on the way down and I didn't just lose my grip at the bottom. What helped me here was 1)squeezing my overhand grip and biceps on the way down 2) developing false grip with more volume training.

    Negatives are pretty hard on your elbow joint, so I suggest using a stool like such to practice the transition https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47FZV6GZK70&t=10s&ab_channel=AntranikDotOrg

    4)Technique for transition

    There was a point where I was pretty sure I was strong enough to do a ring muscle up and my false grip was well developed enough, but I couldn't seem to make the transition over the rings. I watching videos and tried stuff like pulling the rings close, making sure the rings touched my chest before making the transition but they didn't work.

    Then I watched this one video which finally helped https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2ycF1UZmr8&t=541s&ab_channel=WODprep The tip which did it for me pretending to be superman ripping open his shirt. So basically touch your chest with the rings and pretend to rip open your shirt.

    I think this cue really helped me keep the rings closer to my body, which is a key ingredient. When the rings are too far apart, it becomes a lot harder to push yourself over the rings.

    Extra info:

    I trained using a PPL split and doing about 10-15 mins of ring muscle up work at the start. My pull days I would do 3x8 false grip ring pull ups and 3x8 false grip rows. My push days I would do 3x8 deep ring dips and 3x8 Russian dips. So basically each day has 2 movements that are related to the ring muscle up, with the second one being an easier progression of the first.

    I would suggest warming up by putting the rings at nipple height and practicing the movement with your feet in full contact on the ground like in this video at about 2:33 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSBbjbe-HcQ&ab_channel=TaoPhysique plus the muscle up transition drill I included above https://www.youtube.com/watchv=47FZV6GZK70&t=10s&ab_channel=AntranikDotOrg.

    My progression for the ring muscle up ring muscle up negatives -> ring muscle up from kneeling position -> proper ring muscle up from dead hang with legs straight in front of me (because my pull up bar wasn't high enough for legs to be straight).

    The first few weeks when my false grip was weak was basically me trying to do a ring muscle up negative, failing, then just practicing the 2 above drills for about 10 minutes.

    submitted by /u/Epicgeorge
    [link] [comments]

    What is your favorite ab exercise to do throughout the day?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 10:39 AM PST

    I do max hold planks every 30 min while working from home. Was wondering if anyone else does similar stuff?

    submitted by /u/austinicepocalypse
    [link] [comments]

    Maximising muscle recovery?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 07:17 AM PST

    I know of the obvious eating well, sleeping well and such. I'm wondering about physical things, such as an ice bath, massages and more. Are there any techniques to use to maximise muscle recovery and get back to working out as soon as possible, minimising the chance of injury?

    submitted by /u/Qoribu
    [link] [comments]

    Hitting PR

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 09:52 AM PST

    I just want to say how satisfying hitting a PR can be especially when you're not expecting them. I have been doing the RR for about 3ish months. At the start I was barely able to do a 25 second dead hang. I can now do close to 2 minutes with two hands. I tried a single arm dead hang about 2 weeks ago and barely cracked 5 seconds and realized how hard they are. I finished my workout today and thought I would try again. I surprisingly hit 25 seconds per arm which stunned me. I remember seeing 1 arm dead hangs and thinking to myself yeah right those look impossible. I am about 185lbs so it's nothing too crazy but for me it's definitely a small achievement. My point is don't focus so much on what you want your body to look like and set goals for getting stronger because they're just as motivating.

    submitted by /u/konficker
    [link] [comments]

    Bodyweight routine for glutes

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 03:41 AM PST

    Hi everyone!

    I am 23 yr old male who has done weightlifting for around 6 years until covid happened and then was forced to train at home.

    Before that my weakest point were always the glutes and had to work super extra hard to keep my body balanced looking.

    The first few months of lockdown I kept a bodyweight routine with some weight in a backpack and bands; but since summer I moved to another city and have not been able to bring any equipment apart from some bands and stopped doing any leg work completely and replaced everything with yoga classes (strong vinyasas).

    I have obviously noticed a lot less muscle in my legs and glutes and I would like to get it back; so I have been adding a couple of lower bodyweight routines a week using only a couple of bands I was able to bring with me; but somehow I feel like I don´t seem to be able to get to that hypertrophy without a bit of additional weight.

    My question is, is it possible to work and grow some glutes without any equipment apart from some bands or would it make my life easier to buy a couple of dumbells?

    Also another question is I have always had some difficulty in waking up my left glute so I feel like my right one has mostly always gotten most of the work. What are some tips you guys have to really activate the side that takes a bit more work?

    Thank you and hope it was all clear!

    submitted by /u/daninunu97
    [link] [comments]

    Ring archer muscle up thoughts ?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 09:32 AM PST

    This is a new exercise that I just came across and would like to share it with you guys.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NM2RW-HfmKg&ab_channel=AlphaDestiny

    Although I can't perform it I think it might be a good accessory for the iron cross and assit general pulling strength if the regular ring muscle up is easy for you. (plus I think it looks pretty cool)

    What are your thougts on it ? (Its benefits, carry over and whether you think it might be worthwhile to implement in training)

    submitted by /u/fortval
    [link] [comments]

    Prolonged DOMS in over 30s?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 01:45 AM PST

    I'm a 35 year old guy that's pretty much hopped between different programs for the last 15 years, with huge breaks in training, primarily due to lack of commitment.

    I've been doing the RR for about 5 weeks now and my rest/diet/hydration/sleep etc I think is all in good check.

    My muscles are often times still so sore 2-3 days later that it prevents me from wanting to train. Is this something that will lessen over an extended period and I should just get through it? Or is it a possible sign of an undiagnosed medical condition? Or simply age related? I can't really do massages etc atm due to Covid.

    Any reassurance/help much appreciated as I'm absolutely determined to stick with this, just looking to avoid potential injury.

    Thanks in advance.

    submitted by /u/sumbodysumone
    [link] [comments]

    30 DIPS IN ONE SET! How I got There

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 08:42 AM PST

    https://youtu.be/XAzSlgct2ok (30 Dips @170lbs)

    Stats: 5'10", 170lbs, 3 years of Training (with a focus on weight training)
    Progress: Went from a max of 23 reps to 30 reps in three weeks.

    Nutrition: Maintenance Calories.

    PROGRAM: 3x Week Frequency, same set/rep scheme for all 3 days.

    1x10@+100lbs Weighted Dips for a 10 rep max set, followed up with 3 sets of bodyweight dips to failure.

    Try this out if you're struggling to add reps to your dips!

    submitted by /u/SelfiesSuck
    [link] [comments]

    What are good beginner tips on starting ring training?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 03:17 AM PST

    I wanted to do something new and fun for my training specifically for my push ups and dips and few others so I decided to try them out through using rings. Bought a pair just now from rep fitness. Currently atm though for back Im still trying to progress on doing proper regular chin/pull ups on a bar to work on my back strength before ever starting them with the rings.

    What are good tips for someone's who's starting on rings?

    submitted by /u/Raging1000
    [link] [comments]

    [Question] Compare: Deadbug vs Hollow Body Hold

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 10:19 AM PST

    Stats: 18 M, 6' 1.5" , 170lbs

    My routine is basically an A day that focuses on upper body stuff, and then B day that focuses on lower and core stuff. It's pretty stupid but it works well enough.

    I'm looking to better understand the pros and cons of the deadbug vs Hollow Body Hold in relation to their effectiveness in building core strength along with pitfalls.

    submitted by /u/yeetus2048
    [link] [comments]

    Can the minimalist routine be done daily?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 07:40 PM PST

    I've just resumed training after a long break and I've been getting muscle shivers and soreness after doing just 3 circuits of the minimalist routine. This got me thinking, can MR be done daily or do I have to space it out like the other routines?

    submitted by /u/DeadPangolinWalking
    [link] [comments]

    Can the Asian Squat help with hypertrophy or strength at all, or just mobility?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 12:55 PM PST

    For people who have trouble squatting due to mobility issues, it is commonly recommended to practice the Asian Squat. A while ago I did 1 minute every day for 1 month, and by the end of the month I could for the first time in my life enter a deep squat without falling over.

    I have not done it for a while and decided to start doing it yesterday. It totally burns my legs and is very hard. I'm doing it about 5x a day, holding for one minute each.

    I'm curious if practicing the Asian Squat can actually lead to hypertrophy of the legs, or otherwise strength gains, or if this is only useful for increasing mobility?

    submitted by /u/chinawcswing
    [link] [comments]

    Is Calisthenics harder for Taller and Heavier people?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 07:11 PM PST

    Sup. I'm 6'2 and 210 lbs, I can deadlift 465, Squat 405 and bench 235. I've been incorporating some Calisthenics exercises and I'm surprised because basic stuff like pushups are very hard. Like I can only do 25 in a row, pull-ups like 5 in a row and I can't do a handstand. Meanwhile my friend who's like 5'8 and 160 lb can do handstand push-ups, Muscle ups etc but he can barely bench 155 and can't even deadlift 200.

    submitted by /u/Valuable-Dance6794
    [link] [comments]

    How to balance rowing and body weight fitness?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 02:54 PM PST

    I row on the rowing machine everyday, normally a 20 minute row for about 4000 meters. How should I fit body weight fitness into my routine? I know that it's recommended to work out only 3 times a week to allow for recovery.

    My questions are can I row and do body weight exercises on the same day? Also I wonder where to put rowing in my regimen because it is cardio but at the same time it is also a full body work out, basically my question is how do you guys balance cardio and strength training? I'm 19 if it matters

    submitted by /u/Far_Grass_785
    [link] [comments]

    Intense cardio in the morning and eating in the afternoon (OMAD)

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 04:39 PM PST

    Is this safe to do? Im 17 trying to get into omad diet while doing cardio early in the morning such as burpees and an intense run. Is skipping breakfast and waiting to eat lunch a good idea? My schedule only allows me to workout early in the morning so is omad even a good idea for me? Need advice asap

    submitted by /u/Comprehensive-Leg441
    [link] [comments]

    Home Gym Foam Flooring?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 04:11 PM PST

    Looking for advice or feedback on foam flooring for a home gym. Any direct experience and links would be very helpful. This is for a 16'x16' area, cement floor in a basement. The type of work outs would be boot camp type with light weights. TIA

    submitted by /u/ABigHairyGuy
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment