Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-12-29 |
- BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-12-29
- Tired of people saying that skills are easy!
- Did my first chin-up thanks to RR!
- Gaining squat mobility by squatting throughout daily life
- If Russian Twists are bad for your back, why aren't (hanging) windshield wipers?
- The Concise Review of The Naked Warrior by Pavel Tsatsouline
- A video that helped me: a kinesiologist that analyzes a pull-up movement problem
- Need some help with upper plan
- Walking
- Feel like i can never do a pull up/chin up
- Tips on making veins pop
- Lower body exercise using your Body Weight #shorts
- Sets of 25+ without fatigue
- What are the ideal dimensions for a homemade dip bar?
- My experience with bent arm movements for isometric holds
- Has anyone tried the Recoil S2 Pro suspension system?
- What equipment to buy in my journey to calisthenics?
- Push ups correct form?
- Going from 30% to 50% bw pullups safely
- For muscle growth, is it ok to do the same exercise everyday?
- Shoulder Mobility: How do I improve it?
- Forgot the skill?
- Calisthenics In the Winter
- Should the transversus abdominis be engaged at all time when you walk or stand upright(engaging the tva will suck your belly in) ?
- What to do about being skinny fat?
| BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-12-29 Posted: 28 Dec 2020 10:05 PM PST Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!
Reminders:
For your reference we also have these weekly threads:
Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter! If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here. [link] [comments] |
| Tired of people saying that skills are easy! Posted: 29 Dec 2020 01:41 AM PST I am 190cm, and I learned the Front planche(my bad, meant to say front lever) , I have been working for it for around a year and a half (it was hard as hell) Everyday I train at the park and I see many people, of course they think that front lever is the easiest thing in the world, but this one guy, Yesterday he came up to me and said "are you training calisthenics?" I replied yeah and we talked a little, he seemed like a cool dude even though he was bragging about himself I just thought to myself "hey its fine everyone has a little bit of a ego." Then before he left he said that his "calisthenics master" friend will come tommorow. So its the next day (today) and his friend comes, not really lean but pretty jacked (manlet) and he asked me to show him some skills, I showed him my front and back levers, Tuck/adv planche, then he started telling me that its the basic skills, any novice can do that. I asked him to show me how he does it, he refused due to "bad elbow." They leave go to eat food or something then 20/30 Minutes later they come back and he shows me the handstand and says that its the most advanced bodyweight handstand. I am tired of people who see the full planche and think that its easier than the pull up or handstand, I am not saying people should respect calisthenic athletes more just dont be a dick, it has happend to me more than 5 times where people take the time out of their day to say that my skill is easy and useless when they can barely do a pullup. EDIT: thanks for the support but I fucked up Instead of front Lever I wrote front planche..... Roast me if you want, hahah I can only do adv tuck and tuck planche. [link] [comments] |
| Did my first chin-up thanks to RR! Posted: 28 Dec 2020 12:47 PM PST I am a 5'9 female who for the past 21 years has had the upper body strength of a noodle. But after just six weeks on RR, I successfully completed a full chin-up from dead-hang. This program works so well!! Edit: for more information, I currently weigh around 70 kg. I did RR as described in the FAQ, and started with 3x5 negatives (since I could hold a dead hang for 30+ seconds pretty easily). Then once I could do 3x8 negatives (each one like 4-5 seconds long), I noticed I could pull myself halfway up pretty easily, but was struggling to do the latter half of the chin-up. So I started adding static holds at the top with my chin above the bar, and so my routine would be something like 3x5 negatives with a 3 second hold at the top. [link] [comments] |
| Gaining squat mobility by squatting throughout daily life Posted: 29 Dec 2020 10:59 AM PST I've struggled with squat mobility, and I know GTG is a known and proven method but I just wanted to share my relative success in gaining mobility and some stability in squatting via literally just using good squat form doing everyday mundane activities. Loading the dishwasher, grabbing low items, taking out the trash, various yardwork, cat petting whatever. Anything I need to be lower to the ground for, I squat, no bend. I'm tall and I have to get lower to wash my hands, so I get in like a half/quarter squat. I try to take any opportunity I can to challenge myself and create some resistance even if it's just gravity, and over the last year or so I've seen some real gains in stability and mobility. Granted I squat fairly low weight with bands and kettlebells, but I imagine it translates or at least becomes beneficial in some way. Mind you there is definite potential to look like a dumbass but my partner is slowly catching on and integrating this method, and it's worth the occasional "fuck you doing?" comments. [link] [comments] |
| If Russian Twists are bad for your back, why aren't (hanging) windshield wipers? Posted: 29 Dec 2020 09:05 AM PST Hello everyone, I have read here and elsewhere, that according to some spine-specialists, excessive rotation movement like russian twists are bad for your spine because your core is primarily tasked with keeping your spine neutral and stable and repeatedly flexing it in various directions is not sustainable. I never hear any of these criticisms directed at windshield wipers. In fact, a redditor in another thread on r/bodybuilding even recommended them as a more spine-friendly alternative over russian twists. Is there any reason for this? I enjoy diagonal leg raises/windshield wipers a lot more compared to your typical isometric line-drills like side-planks for oblique work. Is there a justification to do windshield wipers if you are convinced that russian twists are bad for your spine? Because WW could be considered russian twists where you move the lower torso instead of the upper torso. Anyone with more knowledge on the topic have some insight to share on this? Thank you! [link] [comments] |
| The Concise Review of The Naked Warrior by Pavel Tsatsouline Posted: 28 Dec 2020 12:35 PM PST The book has three main topics in order:
Techniques to generate maximal strengthIt talks about why it's important to have a full body tension and teaches how to tense a few parts of the body (such as the fist, abs, glutes, and etc) and how to breathe to have the full body tension. It talks about how these techniques will let us generate stronger strength. This actually works magically. When I applied the fist and abs tension in the middle of doing the rows, it actually suddenly felt easier. It felt so easy that I had to do 2 more reps than the previous set to meet my RPE of 7 goal. GTG (Greasing the Groove)There are already a lot of sources on the internet explaining how to do GTG. If you want to read the words from Pavel who, I believe, popularized GTG, this is a good place. It basically talks about why GTG works and how to execute GTG properly. How to do the Pistol Squats and One Arm Push UpsIt explains how to do the pistol squats (and its variations) and one arm push ups (and its variations). It also talks about how to progress from easier to harder variations. It has lots of pictures to demonstrate how each of these looks. However, if you are not interested in these two moves, you can skip this part. (This takes almost the half of the book). ConclusionI picked up this book to have a better understanding of GTG but I ended up having the most value from the tension techniques. If you want to have a better understanding of the tension techniques and/or GTG, it's worth reading. For the last part about the pistol squats and one arm push ups, I personally feel that you can just watch YouTube videos to learn how to execute them. Videos are a better tool for learning how to execute a move than pictures. Keep in mind that if you do choose not to read the last part, you are paying to read only the first half of the book. The book has lots of pictures throughout the book and is written in easy words. The book should be an easy read, therefore. ps. When I am researching which book to read and whether the book is worth reading, I often search the reddit to read reviews and find out what people think about the book by reading the comments (especially this one and /r/fitness). To help future searchers, it'd be really great for those of you who read the book to also put down what you think about the book in the comment! I hope this review can serve as one of the tools which the future searchers can use to decide whether it's worth for them to read the book or not. [link] [comments] |
| A video that helped me: a kinesiologist that analyzes a pull-up movement problem Posted: 29 Dec 2020 12:16 PM PST Hello ! On 2020-12-22, I achieved my first pull-up. I am very proud of this. One of my success factors is definitely that I am coming on this subreddit to keep the members updated about my progress. (See my profile). The community here is very cheering and positive. Thank you ! Regarding my pull-ups, I filmed myself doing 2 pull-ups on 2020-12-25, and, my left arm does 67% of the pull. I have no shoulder shrugging. So, I thought and told myself that I needed to find the source of this imbalance. When I do the band-assisted pull-ups, I see this imbalance at repetition 9 or 10. On YouTube, most of the channels on calisthenics are either in English or in Russian. I do not speak Russian. I watch videos of 2 French-speaking calisthenics athletes: Simon Hamptaux (Québec, Canada) and Éric Flag (Suisse / Switzerland). I am in no way affiliated with those high-level athletes ! I found a video on the Eric Flag channel from September 2020 about a kinesiologist (Major Mouvement, from France) that analyzes a movement problem of Eric Flag while he performs the pull up. The conclusion is that the muscles of the rotator cuff of the left shoulder of Eric Flag are not activated at the same time as those of his right shoulder. I found that very interesting because in my case, I think my problem is something similar, although I can't say for sure. The video on Eric Flag channel is here. Major Mouvement also has a separate video to explain the kinesiology details of Eric Flag situation here. For non-French-speaker, YouTube has a translated subtitles feature. So that's relevant here. I have been doing the exercises for shoulder rotator cuff recommended by Major Mouvement for a few days. I will film myself tomorrow to see if there is any progress. Thanks ! [link] [comments] |
| Need some help with upper plan Posted: 29 Dec 2020 12:07 PM PST Thank you in advance! In terms of equipment I have a wall mounted pull up bar and a squat rack with dip handles. All exercises will be in the 8-12 rep range and for 3 sets, then 4 sets then 5, before adding weight
Any things I should add or adjust to this plan? Cheers [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Dec 2020 11:32 AM PST So the gym at work is shut down again due to covid, and I don't plan on purchasing a membership elsewhere. I work 12-hour shifts 3 days a week and can pretty much walk whenever I want. With my diet in check is 10-15,000 steps during a 12-hour shift a decent aerobic workout and calorie burn? [link] [comments] |
| Feel like i can never do a pull up/chin up Posted: 29 Dec 2020 01:46 AM PST Hi guys, totally beginner here. I have been doing the negatives for ages and for now i can hold the negative chin up for 10 seconds. When it comes to real ones, if i jump just a veeeery little to the bar then i can make it so easily to the top, but never from a deadhang. I have tried retracting the scapulars but it doesnt work at all, and somehow i feel much harder to pull myself up when doing it. Same as pull ups. Why does that happen to me? I dont know what im missing, really need some help. Thank you guys and also sorry if my bad English made you frustrated. Help me out, been stucking at this for a long time:( [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Dec 2020 12:06 PM PST As the title suggests I'm trying to get more vascular and have my veins pop. Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated. [link] [comments] |
| Lower body exercise using your Body Weight #shorts Posted: 29 Dec 2020 11:38 AM PST What's going on? Today we are going to burn up the legs. I challenge you to do 3 sets of 10. If you've been wanting thicker legs, try this exercise. Best part, you're using your own lower body weight. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Dec 2020 11:37 AM PST If I train sets of push-ups dips pull-ups and various core exercises in a high rep range but avoid fatigue will I be able to add muscular endurance without adding mass? I am a distance runner working up to high mileage but I do other things for which I need functional strength like boxing wrestling and other random sports. [link] [comments] |
| What are the ideal dimensions for a homemade dip bar? Posted: 29 Dec 2020 03:30 AM PST My uncle is a smith and i asked him if he can make me some dip bars (dip bars are very rare to find and expensive where i live so its best to make it a home) and he told me to give him the dimensions for the dip bar but i dont know the best ones, could you guys help me out and give me the best measurements? [link] [comments] |
| My experience with bent arm movements for isometric holds Posted: 29 Dec 2020 03:20 AM PST Just some backround, so ive been training the front lever for over 2 years, and kind of got stuck on advanced tuck for most of it. I dont like the one leg variation, so ive been training to transition into straddle I know people always say bent arm and straight arm strength are different, but most people agree you should support your straight arm work with some bent stuff, a common variation is FL rows So ive been supporting my holds with tuck rows. I understood it was too easy and started training advance tuck rows. A few weeks later i got mediocre form and started going for reps. Now after almost a year i can do 10 advanced tuck rows with good form (pull to waist) but still at the same point with the straight arm holds (can hold straddle with shitty form for 2 seconds) Its not a complaining post, im just looking to share my experience and let y'all know that bent arm strength wont always transition into isometric straight arm stuff [link] [comments] |
| Has anyone tried the Recoil S2 Pro suspension system? Posted: 29 Dec 2020 10:51 AM PST Im familiar with the TRX systems, but Im in the market for a new one and I saw the Recoil system. The button-press adjustment and overall quality seem awesome. I need help deciding if it's worth $100 more. [link] [comments] |
| What equipment to buy in my journey to calisthenics? Posted: 28 Dec 2020 09:16 PM PST I used to work out very lightly at the gym for about 1-2 years. Since covid hit I haven't been going to the gym and honestly getting tired of weightlifting. I've been very curious about calisthenics since I've been seeing great physiques built from it. It also just looks way more engaging and fun. My question is what are the essential equpiment I should buy as a beginner? I've done some research and the must have equipment are pull up bars, rings, parallettes and dip bars. Should I be getting all 4 of these if I'm going to be following the RR? Or can I skip the dip bars? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Dec 2020 09:21 PM PST Hi! I've recently joined this sub with the goal of just generally gaining more upperbody strength (not a SMART goal sorry!!) from a background of no real strength training and only cycling, running and sports I enjoy e.g. Tennis, soccer I am currently following the minimalist routine and I really feel that I am getting better at push ups, but was wondering if anyone could give me a few pointers on where I could improve. Thanks! [link] [comments] |
| Going from 30% to 50% bw pullups safely Posted: 29 Dec 2020 03:10 AM PST Hi...So the heading says it all. What is a simple program that will get me from 30% to 50% bw. To get to 30% I've just been adding weight and giving it a go but due to the frequency of training I've suffered from elbow tendo-something-itis. My program is pretty basic and not based off a 1RM. I just started with 10lb for 5x5 for about 3 months, went up to 20lb 5x5 for about 3 months and so on until I got to 65lb 5x5. now I am stuck and my.method isn't working so well. How do I break this plateau [link] [comments] |
| For muscle growth, is it ok to do the same exercise everyday? Posted: 28 Dec 2020 07:15 PM PST If my goal was to gain muscles, is it ok to do the same exercises daily while adding more overload? For example, can I just do pushups, squats, pullups daily and then when it gets too easy, I can add weighted vest etc? or is it best to switch up different variations of exercises for muscle gain? [link] [comments] |
| Shoulder Mobility: How do I improve it? Posted: 28 Dec 2020 05:46 PM PST Hello good people of reddit, I come with a simple question which I have not found a satisfactory answer to. I desperately need to improve my shoulder mobility to reduce the risk of injury and improve movements. When I do the stomach to wall handstand, I can't extend my hands vertically to stop my back from deviating into the banana version. I know that since my toes are touching the wall I won't be able to fully hollow myself, as required in the handstand, because my feet are preventing me from posteriorly tilting my pelvis. But I still have stiffness when I extend my hands in my shoulders, and it frustrates me. Similarly, in certain movements like the pike pushup, I have a popping noise in my shoulder. Is it because of bad form? Misplaced my hands? Maybe my shoulders aren't depressed? Or is it connected to the lack of shoulder mobility? This one has been stumping me even longer that the mobility issue. I'm doing Phase 3 of the Move routine found here. Cheers and happy new years [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Dec 2020 07:41 AM PST About a month ago i was able to do 3-4 strict bar muscle up. Then i go on to learn the front lever, but i tried MU 2-3 weeks to not forgot. And last week i tried it but i can't did it, i was think its maybe a bad day. I tried today but again i cant do it. What are your thoughts why i cant do it? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Dec 2020 11:56 PM PST Im not gonna lie to you guys, working out at home regularly does sometimes get kinda boring. I used to go to the park and work out 24/7 during the summer. 90 degree weather, shirt off, getting the best pumps of my life as well as enjoying the beautiful scenery that the summer has created. But alas, its winter time and the temperatures have dropped in the 30's from where I'm at in New York. I know some people in this subreddit still workout in the park when its freezing cold. My question is, what do you guys normally wear when its freezing out and how do I stay warm in between sets when resting? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Dec 2020 06:36 AM PST Basically this is something that i can't seem to find an answer to. The transversus abdominis connects to the multifidus muscle and has a role in stabilising the spine. So for maintaining a proper posture isn't it necessary to keep the tva constantly active ? [link] [comments] |
| What to do about being skinny fat? Posted: 28 Dec 2020 10:55 PM PST I'm 19 years old, and "skinny fat". I am very skinny everywhere except my stomach, which bulges out noticeably. I have very little muscle definition, except somewhat in my legs (I do running). I've done a lot of reading about this, but there's so much contradicting and confusing information out there. One guy says that's wrong, and here's this amazing thing you can do to fix it. Someone else says that's crazy, instead you should be doing this. My main confusion surrounds the following claims:
My goal is not to get muscular, but to lose the stomach fat and gain a little definition in my arms/chest/stomach. I'm more than willing to follow a long-term plan (in any case, I plan to stick to something from now on, for my health if nothing else), however I'd also like to know what route will offer the quickest noticeable improvements. What can I do? What is true? [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from Reddit's Bodyweight Fitness Community . To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment