Weight loss: Today is the lightest I've been in three years |
- Today is the lightest I've been in three years
- Down 51lbs since August! (30M)
- Guys! Don’t give up!! EVER!
- I dont want to lose 30 lbs, I want to do a cartwheel
- Never realized food could hurt this bad
- Attempt #5438
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: November 6th, 2020
- Reaping the consequences of "I'll start next month"...
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Friday, 06 November 2020: Today, I conquered!
- Keep losing or Stay put
- Feeling so hopeless
- 24-Hour Pledge - Friday, 06 November 2020 - The Plan for Today!
- I don’t know what to eat. I starve & end up binging.
- Big wake up call for me this week. 147kgs
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 5
- I'm getting frustrated as I can't seem to lose weight.
- Update on weightloss
- How does 5 years of age (25vs.30 y/o) affect the effectiveness of losing weight?
- I’ve been hesitant but it’s time.
- Has anyone here taken a break from booze to lose weight? How did you reincorporate it into your life?
- CIRCUIT TRAINING FAT BURNING AT HOME WORKOUT
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Friday, 06 November 2020? Start here!
- Daily Q&A Post for Friday, 06 November 2020 - No question too small!
- Wobble be gone ... losing it in your 40s?
| Today is the lightest I've been in three years Posted: 05 Nov 2020 02:47 PM PST I'm not yet at my goal weight--still got a long way to go on that--but today is the lightest I've been in four years. Back in 2016, I (28M) started counting calories and exercising more, because I'd finally hit the point where I was unhappy with my weight. For reference, I'm 5'7" and was about 218 lbs or thereabouts. I succeeded in getting down to 205, but then a bunch of stuff happened--I got laid off, a big personal project I was working on took off, I didn't have time or focus to give to my weight for a while. I fell off the wagon. Over the next few years, my weight crept back up, and then settled at 225, going up and down and up and down and never really changing. Recently, though... I'm still not back to reliably counting calories, but I've started cooking for myself instead of getting takeout, and eating much smaller portions. I found some small packs of noodles where if I cook just one, it's enough for lunch or dinner and I don't overeat, which was a problem preciously when I'd cook a big mess of spaghetti and eat more than was reasonable for a single meal. I've been able to exercise more, because I'm working from home and don't have to spend time every day commuting to the office and back. For all these years, I've been weighing myself every morning and tracking it in MyFitnessPal, even when I've been forgetting to track calories, and I noticed on my timeline today that the last time I was this light was in 2017. Every time between then and now I'd reversed course before I'd gotten to this spot, and gone back up to 220 or 225, but now I'm at 211 and the trend shows no sign of slowing down. Honestly, this isn't as dramatic as other posts I've seen while subscribed and lurking on this subreddit. But it meant a lot to me, and I wanted to commemorate the occasion, so that I could look back and remember it later. [link] [comments] |
| Down 51lbs since August! (30M) Posted: 05 Nov 2020 06:01 PM PST Not sure how much this will interest people, but I am proud of myself! Sometime this spring, during the height of lock downs, I stepped on the scale expecting to see I had gained 10lbs. I hadn't gained 10lbs, but 30lbs. I was the heaviest I've ever been at 368.8. I was experiencing back pain, acid reflux, and other issues. This was a low point for me in many ways. I had gone from college athlete, an offensive linemen, to someone who could barely walk around the block. I turned 30 not long after I hit my heaviest and I began to wonder if I would see 30. I began to think that all of my hard work, all of my potential and promise, was amounting to nothing. I was going to lose the battle with my health, and sooner rather than later. Late in the summer we were able to resume working in our office. The last weeks of August I began meal prepping, counting calories, and walking at least 10,000 steps each day. This week, I broke through 50lbs lost! 317.8! I feel so much better. My blood pressure is lower, acid reflux is gone, and my clothes fit so much better! I can get into clothes that had stopped fitting! I have also learned a great deal about myself, perhaps I could write about that another time. As I write this, I'm finishing my meal prep for the next few days. There is more work to be done! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Nov 2020 08:50 PM PST This is a celebrational/motivational post On 8/17 i weighed 180LBS. Today (although it may not seem like such a achievement) i stepped on the scale before the shower and it said 162.2! Just for measurements i'm 16, 5'6 and 162.2. It feels so good to know (and see) that my hard work is paying off! Enough about me though, I want to motivate others. Whatever you do, DONT GIVE UP!! Seriously! There were days for me where I had eaten waaaayyy over 1500. There were weekends that I had eaten around 3000 calories. There was always another day though. Just because you binge today doesn't mean you have to tomorrow. If you mess up once or twice ITS OKAY! Just keep at it. Not every day may be perfect for you, because things happen. Just try your best to do better the next day. I see people on here go on binge days, weeks even, i just want to let you know your journey will not be all the same or it's all gonna be easy. If it was as easy as it was no one would be struggling. I mainly made this post to motivate some of you guys, so keep counting those calories, tracking those steps, and even if you mess up, try again tomorrow! p.s if no one has told you recently, I love you and you're doing the best you can. Great job! keep on going! [link] [comments] |
| I dont want to lose 30 lbs, I want to do a cartwheel Posted: 05 Nov 2020 09:30 PM PST Remember the episode of The Office when Pam makes a board for everyone's new year's resolutions? Creed wrote that he wanted to do a cartwheel and the joke was that it was such a silly and nonsensical goal to make? That episode got me thinking about how I USED to be able to do a cartwheel, in college back when I played sports. And with the 80-90 lbs I've gained in the years since then, I'd have to lose significant weight, just for my arms to be able to support me. I thought of how many pushups I'd have to do before they'd have the strength. The amount of fitness I would need to achieve to be able to actually do a cartwheel is significant enough, that I've decided it's my new goal. I'm not adding more raw veggies to my diet in place of other foods because I want to lose weight. I'm doing it because it will help me do a cartwheel. And that mental shift makes the diet stress easier, somehow. [link] [comments] |
| Never realized food could hurt this bad Posted: 05 Nov 2020 10:49 PM PST Food is fucking delicious but holy fuck does it hurt. I was on keto for a few months and it wasn't perfect, but I wasn't hating it. I say this because after a couple nights of anxiety that led to binges, I've been mindlessly eating and can't seem to stop myself until I'm in physical pain. I'll be snacking and not even realize that I'm over eating until I'm nauseous and overstuffed. I used to eat a lot, but it never made me feel like this before. Like my tastebuds demand food but no other part of me agrees. Anyway, I'm really, really struggling right now. I don't want to lose the progress I've made. I'm swirling between the happiness that food brings me and the sadness of not knowing how to make this stop. Still, I guess I'm kinda grateful for the clarity this has brought me? Like I never knew my relationship with food was this bad. I've gotten to the point where I just feel bad for myself. Not even in a self-pity kinda way but in a "I'm trying to comfort a lost inconsolable child whose parents are nowhere to be found and its incredibly awkward because I have no idea what I'm doing" kinda way. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Nov 2020 07:32 PM PST I've been contemplating making this post for the last couple days and then saw today it was my cake day and figured what the hell. I've been trying to lose weight for so long. It feels like I tried everyday but inevitably gave up. 2 years ago I was at my highest weight of 263 lbs. I'm 5'2 so it was not a great look and I was beginning to feel super shitty due to my weight. So I decided to change it. And I did. I did CICO and exercised and got down to about 235lbs. I've been a yo yo dieter all my damn life (but don't worry i'll start tomorrow after stuffing my face!)but this seemed sustainable! Alas, I fell off the wagon. Then got back on.. and over the last 2 years I have maintained anywhere from 220-240lbs. Then quarantine hit and I ballooned right back up to 250lbs. I was starting to feel terrible again and so once again decided to try to lose weight. That was 44 days ago and I am down 16lbs and feeling great. I really am hoping that I'll stick to it this time. My goal weight is ~140lbs depending on how I look/feel. So I'm posting this with the vague hope of some accountability. Everyone in this group is so awesome so cheers everyone and good luck with your respective journeys:) [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: November 6th, 2020 Posted: 05 Nov 2020 10:15 PM PST Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences! [link] [comments] |
| Reaping the consequences of "I'll start next month"... Posted: 05 Nov 2020 08:56 PM PST Well I've gone and done it now. Being fat my whole life, I've never actually felt an urge to lose any sort of weight. It's always just been "Meh, I'm fat. But that's never been a bad thing for me. I can walk just as well, hell I even jog occasionally. I can lose weight in a few months, life is too stressful right now anyway". I've always felt the need to put things off because nothing has ever been urgent or felt urgent for me. There were a few holidays where I'd stress myself out and bust my @ss to lose weight... to no avail. Each year I'd just steadily gain more and more and more and more. The more I pushed off the time I'd actually dedicate to losing weight, the more weight I gained. After spending 10 years at a steady ,220-250 (yep, you read that right). I always told myself "Well, I'm not 260 so I'm good." "I'm not 280, I'll be fine" "At least I'm not 300". Well here I am. I'm 300 pounds and I can't walk more than 10 minutes without stopping to sit down because my back hurts so badly because I sit on my ass all day. I'm 300 pounds and just now discovered a sort of gash under my belly fat roll from what I assume is it being moist and the friction. It hurts and I'm scared. Seriously if anyone has advice please help. 300 pounds and worried that I'm never going to get married because I'm not sure my boyfriend will deal with my insecurity issues due to weight. But really, I'm just disappointed in myself for always putting things off and never taking care of myself. I'm sad and pissed off at the same. I wanna go back in time and kick my @ss. I'm not really sure what else to say besides please start now before you end up like me. Don't subscribe to this subreddit and think "Oh I'll just poke around when I need motivation when I eventually start". Just do it, start now. [link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Friday, 06 November 2020: Today, I conquered! Posted: 06 Nov 2020 12:09 AM PST The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)
Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Nov 2020 03:37 PM PST Used to be 5'11 and 140 in my early high school years but got up to 220 and 6'1 by the time of graduation thanks to being lazy and fast food. Was tired of people making comments about my weight so in February decided to change. Dropped from 220 to 170 as of this morning and feel a lot more confident and attractive. Problem is i'm still 19%BF and when I see people that I haven't seen in a while they always mention how i've grown my hair out but no one seems to mention the 50 pounds i've lost. Wanted all your honest advice on whether I should keep going into the 150's (162 before christmas is my final goal) or settle when I get to 162. Thanks [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Nov 2020 04:27 PM PST While most people were complaining about quarantine weight gain, I lost 37lbs. I was on top of the world. I was diagnosed as a diabetic and after struggling with high blood sugar for months, I managed to make my blood sugar start with a 9 consistently. The doctor said if I lost weight, I wouldn't have to worry about my sugar anymore. I was happy. I was on track to getting rid of my diabetes and for the first time in years I was this close to being below 300lbs. I bought an exercise bike and cycled for 2+hrs daily, I did 20:4 IF and even successfully water fasted for 3 days twice. Then, I started to work again and all of that stopped. I lost the motivation to do anything. Even extra hobbies I took up. I stopped exercising and I pig out. I am a teacher which is a highly stressful job especially during these times. When I get home, I am physically and mentally exhausted and I succumb to all my cravings. My mind just tells me to eat, eat, eat. I crave for junk I've never even liked before. I can't even look at my exercise bike anymore. I just don't want to exercise. It's been 2 months since I've been trying to get back on track and I have failed each time. I try to fast again but I can't. I try to eat healthier but I just eat more junk. I try to exercise but I can't be consistent. My sugar is once again consistently 240. I've just been overcome with hopelessness. I've been avoiding the scale for a while now. I know I put on weight but I never expected that I would put back on 20 of the 37lbs that I lost. I am now once again 320lbs. As I'm typing this, I'm trying to hold back tears. I feel so useless, hopeless and defeated. I just ate a huge bowl of food. I can't help myself. I don't feel like I can do this on my own anymore. I feel so disgusted and disappointed with myself but I don't even know where to start again. I don't even know how to lose weight again. [link] [comments] |
| 24-Hour Pledge - Friday, 06 November 2020 - The Plan for Today! Posted: 05 Nov 2020 08:08 PM PST Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track. Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing > I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me? Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution. Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message. On reddit, your vote means, "I found this interesting" (...read more about voting on reddit) [link] [comments] |
| I don’t know what to eat. I starve & end up binging. Posted: 05 Nov 2020 11:00 PM PST I'm 19, female, 215 lbs, and a binge eater. I'm lactose intolerant & allergic to shellfish. My calories that I need to consume are 1200-1500 but I rarely eat enough to get to that point. When I don't eat enough, I binge. You see, I recently took a blood test & received news that I don't have diabetes YET but my blood sugar levels are elevated. I also realized that my blood pressure is staying in the 130-140 zone. Which, isn't good. :/ Look, I don't know what to do. I do yoga so working out isn't an issue (I sweat a shit ton from yoga) & I just want to lose weight. Here are foods that I eat: Eggs, mandarins, plantains, pineapples, broccoli, bread (rarely & only whole wheat), pasta (only the banza brand), cashews, raisins, prunes, dates And I drink only water. I don't have protein powder. Here are some foods that I binge: SNACKS. It doesn't matter what snack but any snack. Chicken nuggets, frozen meatballs, dumplings, Chinese food, chicken wings, cookies, crackers, granola bars, etc. For breakfast, I don't know what to eat. I used to force myself to eat the Quaker Oats brown sugar oatmeal but then I realized that it literally takes up my daily goal of sugar (25g). I also realized that I ate it so much that I struggle to consume it now. Its the same with tuna. For lunch, I skip because I don't know what to eat. I used to eat fruit from cans that were drained but then I realized that they have a lot of sugar. Sometimes, I eat cashews if I have any. For dinner, I have chicken breast (4 oz) with broccoli. Or, I'll just make homemade chicken noodle soup with mostly broccoli and carrots. I stopped buying plantains because I kept binging on them & gaining weight. Hopefully someone can help me out. I'm completely lost & I need to lose weight before I actually get something bad. [link] [comments] |
| Big wake up call for me this week. 147kgs Posted: 05 Nov 2020 09:41 PM PST Had a bit of a shock this week. I knew that I out on a bit of weight and wanted to get rid of the belly now I'm back in the city. I bought a nice shiny new set of scales and when I hopped on, it showed I was 147kg. I never thought I was that heavy! I knew I had a bit of a gut, but because I lift heavy, I thought a lot of the weight was muscle. I've identified my snacking as a problem after tracking myself for a couple days, because my calories from meals is a solid 2200-2500, but when I add my evening snacking that can easily go up to 3500-4000 calories. My diet is now focussed on being a high protein 2300 calorie diet, leaving a few calories from my weekly balance so I can still have a couple drinks with friends or a (healthier) snack when I watch my shows on a Saturday night. I've cut out fizzy drinks, and generally not consuming calories after 7pm, but will leave a protein shake until then if i've been a busy bee that day. I know this ain't going to be a short affair, because my body sits nice between 105 and 95 kg with the lifting I do. But I hope to shift a lot of the weight by my birthday in march, and if I do, I will have earned the right to purchase my own kilt (gotta represent the homeland). I got that shock on Monday, and the scale shows I've lost 1.8kg in my first week, but I'm willing to bet that's more water weight than anything. Here's to the long journey! I'll be sure to give bi weekly updates on my weightloss and training! Edit: Forgot to state my height, I'm 6'4" [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 5 Posted: 05 Nov 2020 06:58 PM PST Hello losers, Getting to it on day 5. Weight by end of month (200 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning. Stay within calorie range (maintain): Better today, still not fabulous. 999 day streak on my fitness pal. Exercise 5 days a week: Lunch walk & a HIIT video. 3/5 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Getting after this one. Other self care item in my future is a hell of a shower. 1/1 week. Nanowrimo 1666 words a day: 6800/50000 words. Will try after this post. Try a new recipe once a week: Fried parsnips so far. Tasty but I'm not sure they were any better than the roasted ones I usually do. 1/1 weeks. Express gratitude: Grateful for the health of my people so far. Grateful for binner. Grateful for a good nights sleep hopefully ahead of me. Also grateful for a partner that can cook a perfect egg. Simple things. Your turn kids! [link] [comments] |
| I'm getting frustrated as I can't seem to lose weight. Posted: 05 Nov 2020 02:17 PM PST Hi all, I hope all is well on your end. Current stats: 5'3.5", current weight 171 lbs, goal weight 120 lbs I started working out around September, about 2-3 times a week, and gradually increased it to 5-6 times a week around the middle of October. I've been counting my cals loosely and been trying to do IF from 10-6, but sometimes I would give in and eat at night (sometimes light snacks or fruits). I haven't really tracked or calculated my macros, should I do that? My workout routine is as follows:
I switch between 10 lb and 15 lb dumbbells. I can feel I am getting stronger, I can lift the 15s at times, I can do proper push ups, I have better cardio endurance. I would weigh myself frequently and I would hover around 168-171 lbs. Even though the workouts are becoming more doable, I don't seem to be losing weight? I also measure my body and nothing has changed. Should I keep going? keep tracking? should I cut down my calories or increase it? Any help would be appreciated! I'm going nuts and it's very frustrating when there are no results at all. Thank you! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Nov 2020 09:33 PM PST 14M SW260 GW190 CW225. Im 35lbs from my goal weight and 35lbs from my start weight and honestly I didn't think I would make it this far. I thought that this would be like my last weightloss attempt where I said I would skip a day and never stopped skipping. But something clicked this time, maybe it was lifting with my dad in quarentine or that I wanted to get a girlfriend. Whatever it was its kept me going and the changes are phenominal. My jeans are looser, much much looser. Shirts that I wore before and stopped wearing because I got too fat for them now fit well. I have visible wrist bones which is new. Im more coinfident and my man boobs are more muscle than fat. Its really been a journey and I have 35lbs left but if I beat it once I can beat it again. [link] [comments] |
| How does 5 years of age (25vs.30 y/o) affect the effectiveness of losing weight? Posted: 06 Nov 2020 12:50 AM PST Five years ago when I was 25ish i decided to become more healthy and lost roughly 15-20kg between January to May. I went from not ever really exercising to running ~3km a day 5-6 days a week plus playing some badminton for fun with a friend once a week for roughy 1-2 hours. In addition to this I cut out all sweets, soft drinks and alcohol. When I look back to this time I don't see it as it was difficult or mentally challenging. I just did it mainly to feel better rather than losing weight. Due to this I wasn't on top of documenting my starting weight, but I know it would've been around 75-80kg and when summer came I was around 60-65kg. Now to my question. I'm now 29 and roughly 80kg heavy again due to I worked in hospo and falling out of the routine. In addition to this, covid isolation/quarantine sadly also added a few kgs. Six weeks ago I started my new project of losing weight. I'm running 3-3,5 km three days, resting one, running three and so on. I also wanted to try out yoga and have been doing yoga everyday for 43 days in a row as this post. (Yoga with Adrienne on YT, 30 day challenges) I never got back to drinking either alcohol or soft drinks since I cut them out my first time. I have a love for baking so sweets and pastries are eaten occasionally but not regularly. Now I have noticed a difference feeling "tighter" / "slimmer" but after at this time six weeks after starting running/yoga my scale still says 79-80 kgs. How much difference does 5 years (being 30 instead of 25) make when it comes to weight loss? I'm still patient and know that losing weight shouldn't and can't really be rushed for a healthy lifestyle. But still curious. Thank you [link] [comments] |
| I’ve been hesitant but it’s time. Posted: 05 Nov 2020 09:28 PM PST Hey all, I'm a lurker and decided it's finally time I bite the bullet and ask for some encouragement, advice, pretty much anything you can give me. Back in May I started phentramine. This magical weight loss drug. And I lost weight on it. As of September I was 4lbs short of losing 50lbs. I didn't binge, I didn't eat half as much, and the meds made it so I didn't even want to eat. Hell, half the time I wasn't even hungry. After 4 months I thought that maybe I can handle it by myself. Flash forward to now, 2 months off of it, 10lbs back and counting. I can't manage to control my hunger, I don't have the energy to work out like I did on the meds, I've lost all discipline and want. I feel like a failure. Like I can only lose the weight on medication. I'm about to go to my doctor and ask for another run. My husband is a huge supporter and will do anything with me that I do to help me. But I feel defeated, overwhelmed, and I don't know where to start. I felt so good losing the weight in every aspect. I still had about 80lbs to lose to get to my goal and a healthy weight but I felt great and I just let it all go. I was really into calorie counting, but I'm a mom of 4 kids 5 and under. The time it took, even a few minutes, were killing me. The time to meal prep is a chore that I don't feel like I have time for. I feel like I've hit a mental wall. But, I need to start again. and so, I need to post here. I need accountability, I need someone who felt or feels the same way to say it's okay. I don't know what I need. But, maybe if I post I'll feel like I have to work on it. My starting weight before was 286, down to 234. My goal is 170 Now, SW 244, GW 170 [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Nov 2020 11:23 AM PST At the beginning of Covid I recognized that I was drinking way too much. I made a deal with myself that I would not drink any alcohol until bars reopened. I also started exercising and eating healthier all around the same time. After about a month, this deal evolved to "I'm not going to drink again until I hit my final weight loss goals". My problem was never drinking every day. It was drinking too much whenever I decided to drink. I had the same problem with food. Portion control was a massive issue of mine that I seem to have gotten in check. I want to be able to enjoy a beer with friends on occasion and every now and then fully let loose at say a bachelor party. I'm a 28 year old 6' tall male. I was 340 on March 22nd. I'm 243 today. My final goal is 199. Has anyone else followed a similar path in regards to alcohol? I'm curious to hear your story. [link] [comments] |
| CIRCUIT TRAINING FAT BURNING AT HOME WORKOUT Posted: 06 Nov 2020 02:25 AM PST Circuit training is the training in which certain exercises groups to form an exercise circuit. In-circuit training, a person has to perform the exercises consecutively one after another and complete the first cycle. As the first cycle completes, one has to start the first exercise to complete the next circuit. And the cycle goes on. Here, we are going to perform 2 to 7 cycles, depending on the compatibility level. Moreover, the compatibility level varies from beginner to advanced. Furthermore, perform each exercise for 30 seconds, and the rest involves in between exercises should be 10 seconds and between circuits should be 60 to 90 seconds. Currently, I am performing a BEST FAT BURNING WORKOUT WITHOUT EQUIPMENT and if done properly with a good diet you'll see amazing results. Practice this circuit early morning empty stomach to achieve better results. Perform each exercise for 1 minute. This circuit includes
SETS-
REST-
[link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Friday, 06 November 2020? Start here! Posted: 06 Nov 2020 02:24 AM PST Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweightOur bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You StartThe very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. TrackingHere is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your DeficitHow do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. ExerciseIs NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel awesome and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, RunIt can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. AcceptanceYou will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resourcesNow you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
[link] [comments] |
| Daily Q&A Post for Friday, 06 November 2020 - No question too small! Posted: 06 Nov 2020 02:01 AM PST Got a question? We've got answers! Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small. TIPS:
[link] [comments] |
| Wobble be gone ... losing it in your 40s? Posted: 06 Nov 2020 01:35 AM PST So I am on the hefty side. Been fine with it for the most part and have no desires to be starting Inspirational Insta feeds or achieving a thigh gap. I love a bit of chunk but it's starting to really creep up there now and it's making my job difficult as I get older. Early 40s now and I am getting tired quicker, have a lot less energy in general ... and it's starting to affect my mood and desire to get out and about whereas I used to be quite social. So I (F/41) currently weigh 107.5kgs. Would like to drop about 20-25kgs. Have no clue where to start. I am diabetic type 2. No meds. Hate gyms. Currently do no exercise because I work full time in a physical job, for four kids ages 9-16 and spend a lot of time helping partner with his business book work. So ... time is scarce :(. I love cooking and a wide variety of foods and pretty much eat anything. Had a brief foray into keto with some success but missed carbs too much and thus when started to eat them again found that weight just settled back in. Any suggestions of what others find doable when your exhausted at the end of a long day/week? I've got a family I also cook for where the younger kids (step kids) are fussy pains in my rear... I cook for them 5 nights a fortnight. The partner is more or less like me ... chunky and loves his food and would like to lose some wobble. The old kids eat everything... Any suggestions welcome Thanks 🙏 [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment