Weight loss: I’m a obese man who just ran a mile without stopping for the first time in my life. |
- I’m a obese man who just ran a mile without stopping for the first time in my life.
- Hit my goal weight this morning!!!
- i’m doing it. it’s hard. i’m doing it.
- I'm back down to where I was before the worst breakup of my life.
- 30 lbs lost since the begining of the pandemic
- Forgot to bring lunch to work yesterday. Tested myself, and ended up surprised myself
- I need help losing the rest of it...
- i have been eating below 1000 calories on the daily for 4 months already i cant seem to stop
- NSV: I can rock climb now
- Weight Loss: How'd your family & friends react?
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: November 5th, 2020
- Failed Many Times Before - Now Down 80lbs and Almost 2 Years of Consistent Weight Loss
- You're retraining your body - be sure you retrain your mind as well! A story of visualization.
- Please sign my petition so halo top will bring back old flavors!
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 4
- Words that I never thought mg family would say
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Thursday, 05 November 2020: Today, I conquered!
- Stuck around 3kg from healthy weight help!!
- 24-Hour Pledge - Thursday, 05 November 2020 - The Plan for Today!
- How can I repair my relationship with food?
- Going back to the gym after gaining weight - anyone else been here?
- Losing weight for theatre. And for my wife. 24M. 6’ 243 lbs starting
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Thursday, 05 November 2020? Start here!
| I’m a obese man who just ran a mile without stopping for the first time in my life. Posted: 04 Nov 2020 05:02 PM PST I occasionally run for a half mile or less, but I usually just walk on the treadmill at an incline a few times a week. Today I decided to just go for it and run a full mile and I actually accomplished it. I'm a 6'1" 27 year old man and so far I've went from 323.2 pounds at the end of June to 271.5 pounds as of today. Back then I wasn't active at all and didn't care to be until I decided to start losing weight. I don't know exactly how long it took me to run a mile since I decided to while I was already on the treadmill, but I want to say it was around 10 minutes. Not great, but it's a start. I didn't drop down to a walking pace at all until I was finished. I feel like I had the endurance for more, but all the fat bouncing around made my back hurt something fierce. You all may think this post is pointless. I just felt like sharing. This is literally something I've never been able to do before, even when I had to run a mile in high school gym class when I weighed less. Looking forward to running some more. That is all. [link] [comments] |
| Hit my goal weight this morning!!! Posted: 04 Nov 2020 07:30 AM PST 56F, SW 279, CW 160, Weight lost 119 lbs. I began this journey on 9/27/19. Goal was to lose 1.5 lbs per week. It took 53.5 weeks. Average of 2.22 lbs per week. The last two months have been the slowest, averaging 1 lb per week. No surgery, no exercise (despite constant nagging 😂) I did it through counseling at a non-surgical weight loss clinic at my local hospital. It's hard to summarize a year's worth of dietary counseling into a sentence or two, but mainly monitoring carbs and protein. At least 80g of protein per day and no more than 100g of carbs. The biggest challenge was accurately counting the carbs and protein in non-packaged foods. MyFitnessPal has a database from other users' inputs. It can vary wildly and be as accurate as you might guess. So I'm basically on the Lean Cuisine diet 🤣. Anything pre-packaged that can accurately tell me what the counts are. My biggest take-away from it all is how easy and scientific the process was. The weight just fell off. Calculations of basal metabolic rate versus food intake - hmmmm. Wow. Is that it? Biggest challenge now is to maintain it. I hope it will be as easy as the losing part! I suspect it won't be, though. Good luck to all my fellow losers!!! There is hope. Get help. Seriously - get professional help. It wasn't expensive. Basic doctor co-pay each month for first six months then once every two months. [link] [comments] |
| i’m doing it. it’s hard. i’m doing it. Posted: 04 Nov 2020 08:49 PM PST hello! i'm a 23 year old woman. i have binge eating disorder. in 2017, i gained 80+ pounds. all of the sudden, i was on diabetes, cholesterol, and blood pressure meds. i knew that i was going to die faster than i should if i didn't do anything about it so i went to residential treatment. as of now, i am 69 (lol nice) pounds down. it's been a long process and it's not all about losing weight. it's about getting my life back. it's about breaking free of this disorder that has consumed so much of my life. the weight loss is secondary. i hope i can help someone who is going through the same thing by posting this. some days, i can't tell a difference. some days i feel like i've lost a million pounds. it's hard, y'all. keep going. stats: hight: 5'11 highest weight: 295 current weight: 226 goal weight: 199.9 [link] [comments] |
| I'm back down to where I was before the worst breakup of my life. Posted: 04 Nov 2020 08:28 AM PST 2019 was a really hard year for me, in the beginning of the year, I dated this guy that didn't really care for me at all, he lied and cheated and gave me hsv-2 (herpes). After that I hit rock bottom, and I noticed that my weight started to go up, to 200lbs from 184lbs, and no matter what I tried I couldn't stop it; now looking back I realize that I was dealing with a lot emotionally, I felt worthless and depressed. However, I've worked to remedy that, I reconnected with people that truly care for me. This community, along with others, and my sister, who is also trying to lose weight, has been so supportive of me and has help me through my depression so much. Today I stepped on the scale and saw that I was back at 184lbs. I wanted to cry because it feels like I am finally able to let that horrible relationship go, and even though somethings like the hsv will stay with me forever from this guy, I can still control somethings like my weight, the people I let into my life, and my drive to be better then I was the day before. My plan it to get down to 140lbs and I'm so confident that I can make it. Thanks for reading! [link] [comments] |
| 30 lbs lost since the begining of the pandemic Posted: 04 Nov 2020 03:32 PM PST Since the start of the pandemic I started to macro track so I could feel some sort of order in my life. It has not only helped me stay sane but I've also gone down to my goal weight while doing it! I am a 5'5' female, starting weight was 170ish now I'm down to low 140's. I had 1450 calls a day, and tried to get a minimum of 100 grams protein and then let the fat and carbs fill in the rest, which varied depending on the day. My top five tips for keeping to my macros were: 1.) Drinking water with stur (or sturr?) it's just a stevia based water additive that tastes good. This helped me kick my diet coke habit. 2.) Started every day with eggs and lean ham (sometimes added bell pepper) in a skillet. Some days I really didn't want this, I would have rather had something sweet. But I noticed when I my first meal of the day was low carb it significantly altered my satiety throughout the rest of the day. 3.) If I wasn't hungry in the morning, I didn't eat breakfast until I was hungry! Sort of a pseudo intermittant fast, but mostly I was just trying to stay true to my hunger signals. 4.) Keep a freaking ton of veggies always cut up in the fridge. I should probably put this as my top tip. Works great if you are at home all day and are a bit food addicted. 5.) I basically always avoided dessert. I know, this sounds so lame, but I made sure I had fruit or a built bar for dessert. I just stole this coupon code off retailmenot: BUILTBARSDEAL - I think it is 20% off. I usually keep at least a box on hand- coconut was my favorite. [link] [comments] |
| Forgot to bring lunch to work yesterday. Tested myself, and ended up surprised myself Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:01 PM PST This isn't my first rodeo with CICO or weight loss. My last true attempt was in the Spring of 2018 and, honestly, it ended disastrously. It was all or nothing. I became obsessive and punishing towards myself, and it was quickly spiraling into an eating disorder. I, thankfully, still had enough presence of mind to stop before it was too late and made the decision to put a stop to any type of calorie counting until I got my head on straight. After a lot of personal ups and downs in the past 2 years and getting to my highest ever recorded weight, I finally got to a mentally healthy enough place to try again. This time, I decided to go the complete opposite way and do slow, gradual changes. COVID had completely messed up my routine and sports practices, so step 1 was getting my workout routine back on track. So I started working out again in June. July saw me eliminating soda. The beginning of August was just sticking with the current routine, but the tail end of August I felt right and was the start of tracking with CICO. Everything has been going well the past 2+ months. I log everything and take things day by day. Yesterday though, I completely forgot to pack a lunch to bring to work. Because I've been doing so well, I decided to screw it: I was going to go to Taco Bell for the first time in forever. To get the best of everything, I decided to I got a crunchwrap combo. I figured: eat crunchwrap. If still hungry: eat taco. And to top it off, I'd try and see how I did with a soda after not having any for 4 months. Not gonna lie, crunchwrap was a solid choice. Had a few bites of taco, but didn't want any more and ended up tossing the rest. The true test? The Pepsi. I had a small sip. Had another. And then was just done with it. Like, don't get me wrong, the cola flavor: still liked it. But that's it. Just... thought it was a nice flavor, but not anything special and I didn't really have a desire to keep drinking it. Part of me was honestly expecting to fall off the wagon for a day and maybe struggle for a few days following. But... this thing of soda that I could've drank in an INSTANT months ago is still sitting full in my car cupholder. It's kind of crazy how things have changed in just a few months. I'm taking it as a sign that my gradual changes are working, and that I can do this. It's the first time I've ever really felt that what I've been doing with CICO is a sustainable life change and I felt the need to share <3 [link] [comments] |
| I need help losing the rest of it... Posted: 05 Nov 2020 12:01 AM PST I started at 780lbd (5'2" F) and Im at 330lbs now from dieting alone but I've plateaued out and I need to exercise. (my goal is 230-180lbs) I have ALOT of "apron fat" that hangs to my knees and makes it so I cant walk well. I tried looking into some form of shape wear or belly binder sort of deal however I've never worn one, and the shape wear I do find is for a much much smaller woman. Does anyone have a link to a product I can use or any sort of ideas? I cant do swimming, I have other health problems, it has to be walking. Ideally Id want the fat lifted up and pushed into my belly area tightly so I can freely move my legs Thank you kindly in advance. [link] [comments] |
| i have been eating below 1000 calories on the daily for 4 months already i cant seem to stop Posted: 04 Nov 2020 06:36 AM PST hi reddit! this is my first time posting about this so please be kind. it's kind of long so i hope you bear with me. im a 20-year old 5'2 female weighing around 53kg. i used to weigh around 70kg back in 2018 and i decided to lose some weight before entering college. i mostly just eliminated rice from my diet and did some cardio workouts 5 hours before going to bed. i went from 70kg to 63kg and i was so happy! i entered college feeling fresh, confident, and beautiful. i felt like i had a major glow-up because i became confident in the way i dressed, too. in short, i was very happy with my self-image. and then quarantine started. aside from the fact that i was devastated (because i was a people's person + i was so afraid of my family getting covid), i also started to pinpoint the bad things about my body: flabs of fat here and there, things like that. i became so critical about my body. i hated how my thighs would and belly would jiggle and how my chest was too big. i had a short neck and fat face, too. i decided to lose weight. initially, i worked out (cardio) everyday without fail for an hour and a half. i diminished my intake of food too, but just by a little. 2 months later, i lost 2 kg and 2 inches around my waist. my family was praising me for the weight loss, i was still not satisfied. im pretty sure my self-dissatisfaction came from the things i see on social media and youtube. i keep seeing "lose 10kg in 3months!" and stuff like that and i... kind of pressured myself into doing so? come july i decided to do an extreme calorie deficit: at first it was just a mild, healthy calorie deficit. i just substituted my rice with some vegetables. aside from that, i still continued my daily cardio workouts consisting of a lot of jumping. and it worked. less than 3kg later, i was still unhappy, and terribly so. i just started calorie counting really bad. my lunch would consist of a small pieces of meat or poultry and lettuce (because they were low in calories) and a shitton of water. i dont eat breakfast too because i'm A.) either asleep till 11am or B.) on the days i wake up early, i just wait till 12nn to eat. for snack, a single piece of wheat bread with butter and a cup of coffee, and for dinner, the same amount of food i took during lunch, sometimes even less. i dont eat beyond 6pm and wait till 12nn on the following day to eat. all in all, i know i eat around 900 calories a day or less. on good days, i take it up to 1000 or 1200, but the thought of eating beyond 1000 calories breaks my heart beyond words, and it's been going on since july. my aunt asked blatantly asked (but i can sense the genuine concern) if i had anorexia, and i denied it on instinct. our family shies away from mental issues so i didnt really know how to respond. reddit, please help me. i know i should see a nutritionist, but the pandemic is forfeiting my rights to go outside and seek help. plus, it's expensive. i want to go back and enjoy food again, and be confident again like i was when i was at 63kg. i want a healthy relationship with food again, but i just cant seem to recover from this self-induced fever dream. EDIT: ahhh thank you to everyone who replied T_____T i really appreciate the advice and support. im going to try and reach out our college counsellors for this. i hope they respond to me because i heard theyre quite.... unreliable. i'll try to reply to all the messages and replies i received. thank you so much everyone <3 [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 04 Nov 2020 07:23 PM PST This year has been a huge year of change and growth for me. On New Year's Eve 2019 I joined a gym after leaving a high stress job. I weighed 213lbs at 5'3" (female). I was borderline disabled with horrific sciatic, so a lot of mobility issues, along with being prediabetic and prehypertensive. I started going to the gym on January 1 and while it was miserably difficult, I kept going. And then the diet started changing. And the weight started coming down. Then I incorporated intermittent fasting because I hated going to bed hungry. And then everything shut down in March. It was getting warmer though. I set a goal to walk a minimum of 3 miles per day. I kept walking. Some days I walked 6 or 9. One day I walked 12. I kept up with the fasting. The weight kept coming off until July. In July I weighed about 150lb. Nearing my goal of 135...i plateaued. Things were different, I was working, I was studying for school. I wasn't as keen on the fasting. And honestly? I was tired. I maintained weight between 145-150...and then my husband mentioned that he missed the gym. And I did too. So we rejoined. 12 days into training daily and I'm already shocked at what I can do. I'm getting so much stronger, I can run so much longer, and today I went to a rock climbing gym and found out ya girl can climb! When I reached the top of my first wall it felt like a metaphor for this whole year. It was so fun it almost makes me sad for the woman I was before this year. The one who watched from the sidelines as other people enjoyed being active. So my motivation is back with new meaning. I'm going to keep climbing. [link] [comments] |
| Weight Loss: How'd your family & friends react? Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:28 PM PST One of the most interesting parts of the weight loss journey is how the people around you react to your transformation. In the last few years, I've (25M) gone from 300-pounds to 185-pounds. From the friends I see everyday to the family I see once a year, I've definitely received mixed reviews. My coworkers treated me like a hero, my diet and exercise routine became a hot office topic. They'd constantly commend me for turning down donuts and tell me they envied my discipline. Super flattering, but a little weird. My Dad was super proud of me, as he too lost major weight in his early twenties. My Father-in-law was also very complementary of my work ethic and would share updates on his own journey with me. Unfortunately, old friends literally can't stop talking about how different I look. My Best Friends have endless jokes about my transformation, but they're always willing to give me props. My Brother-in-law is the same way, always got a playful jab ready. The women in my life reacted a lot differently, with the exception of my sister. My Wife is happy that I made a change, as my eating habits and health have vastly improved. However, she feels that I've gotten "too skinny" after my weight loss. My Mom, who lost 50+ pounds several years ago, is proud of my progress. However, she too thinks that I have lost too much weight. At a few points during my weight loss journey, she suggested that I stop losing and just maintain. My Mother-in-law, who is genuinely kind, is convinced that I starve myself. She's constantly shoving food in my direction, asking if I've eaten, and offering to cook. How'd your family & friends react to your weight loss? [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: November 5th, 2020 Posted: 04 Nov 2020 09:56 PM PST Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences! [link] [comments] |
| Failed Many Times Before - Now Down 80lbs and Almost 2 Years of Consistent Weight Loss Posted: 04 Nov 2020 03:13 PM PST I'm 33F, 5'7 and as of this morning I weigh 215 lbs exactly. I started by weight loss journey at 295 lbs so I've officially lost 80 pounds! I'm excited about that number, but there's been another number fact that has me more excited for some reason. I don't have 100 pounds to lose. If I was 115 I would be classified as a little bit underweight. "You have more than 100 pounds to lose to get to an appropriate BMI that's impossible!" was a common negative self-talk thought I'd have. I don't often fall into that kind of negative self-talk anymore, but man this is a great counter point to have should I ever get in that mental space. "Oh that thing you said was impossible to even start? I'm over half way done!" Anyone else have those kind of odd number victories? Prioritizing my mental health has made this journey so successful and it has me feeling confident as I continue. I worked really hard on valuing myself as I am at this moment, and to stop assigning value to some fantasy version of myself who is thin already. I'm not going to waste emotion on that or put my life on hold because I'm not her. She doesn't exist. But I do exist, right now, in this moment so that is where I should put my love, value, and care. And breaking free of maladaptive coping mechanisms like binging means loving, valuing, and caring for myself comes in the form of healthy choices, discipline, and self compassion for the moments I inevitably do mess up. That has made it so much easier to forgive myself and get back on track. I've got 75lb more to go until I get to my general goal zone and I feel really secure in my ability to do it. Specific bullet points that I think could be helpful to anyone else on this kind of journey: *I track calories as well as added sugar and sodium, but I haven't restricted myself from any certain kind of food. *I work on being patient. It's taken me about a year and 9 months to lose 80, so the "slow and steady wins the race" has been working for me and it's helped me properly settle into habits I want to have the rest of my life. *My eyes were opened to new perspectives on trauma and addiction (new to me) and how they have played a part in my life and my binge eating. Listening to Dr. Gabor Maté and Dr. Nzinga Harrison really gave me some ah-ha moments that lead me to better self-awareness and treatment. *Shame and self-loathing are terrible fuel. I've used them in weight loss attempts in the past and they can only get you so far, but won't last in the long run. [link] [comments] |
| You're retraining your body - be sure you retrain your mind as well! A story of visualization. Posted: 04 Nov 2020 05:49 AM PST I catch myself and so many others saying "but I've only lost XX lbs". Stop right there my friend. The physical efforts and mental preparation to lose that first pound is enormous, so please stop selling your efforts short by dismissing your little victories. The weight loss and transformation of your life is going to be a long series of little victories that lead to the big ones, that lead to the permanent ones. You will NEVER lose your weight in an instant, or overnight, or by thinking about a salad, or by thinking about taking the stairs. Results are acheived by turning your thoughts into action. On the way to the grocery store a few weeks ago, my mom, who has struggled to manage her weight her whole life, was brave enough to share with me, "I know it's not much, but I'm down 3 more lbs in the last month or so." So I over exaggerated my reaction and celebrated this with her in a BIG way! High fives, tears, loud congrats. Yet she wasn't celebrating with me, she still seemed down on herself. She couldn't be happy yet because it wasn't ALL the weight gone; she was dismissing this victory as not good enough. So I had this bright idea that I saw on a TV show 10 plus years ago. We get to the store, we don't get a basket so our arms are quickly filling up with items. After gathering our things, I ask Mom to come with me to the fridge section, and to bring an open mind. I take the items from her arms and nod my head towards the butter and ask her to pick one up. I ask her what the weight of this butter is and she doesn't know (she knows, she's just playing dumb lol). I told her that's one entire pound. I asked her to really look at it, really feel its weight and really see the size of it. Then I asked her to pick up 4 more (her total is 5lbs down now). She's struggling to hold 3 of them as she reaches for the 4th and 5th one. "Mom, you're holding 5lbs right now. So when you say "I've only lost 3lbs" I want you to remember what those 3lbs look like and feel like. Now slowly put them back and feel how light your arms become." She wasn't stricken with emotion but I think I opened her eyes a little bit about what she's accomplished so far. If you're stuggling to visualize and celebrate the weight you've let go of - go to your nearest store, and pick up that pound of butter, or 5 of them, or the entire box of 30- hold it for a few minutes, FEEL the weight of it and then set it back down. Walk away from the weight of that butter just like you're walking away from the weight you've released. Know your limits, lift within it ;) [link] [comments] |
| Please sign my petition so halo top will bring back old flavors! Posted: 04 Nov 2020 07:31 PM PST Hi Everyone, Halo top has recently "revamped" their whole range of products to only have pints over 360 and higher with none being 320 anymore. This is very disappointing for any fellow dieters and halo top lovers as we loved og flavors such as Pb cup and salted caramel. Please sign the petition to make these flavors available again! Thanks !! [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 4 Posted: 04 Nov 2020 07:09 PM PST Hello losers, Holy crapola this month is already started and going. Weight by end of month (200 lbs, preferably trend weight): Couldn't face the scale this morning. Stay within calorie range (maintain): Better today, still not fabulous. Approaching a 1000 day streak on my fitness pal. Exercise 5 days a week: Meant to but didn't get to getting. 2/4 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Yeah actually. Plus therapy which is a good self care item. 1/1 week. Nanowrimo 1666 words a day: 3568/50000 words. Will try after this post. Try a new recipe once a week: Fried parsnips so far. Tasty but I'm not sure they were any better than the roasted ones I usually do. 1/1 weeks. Express gratitude: Grateful that my car is so dependable. Car troubles delayed my partner's COVID test & it's nice to have a car I know won't blow a gasket. Also grateful for my sibling's test result coming back negative. Your turn kids! How goes it? [link] [comments] |
| Words that I never thought mg family would say Posted: 04 Nov 2020 07:34 AM PST I don't usually share anything to anyone that involves myself because I'm a little paranoid that people might think I'm full of myself but this one is just an amazing feat I achieved that I'm actually really proud of myself. I LOST 37 LBS SINCE QUARANTINE STARTED!!! GAH!!! I'm a 19 year old male that's approximately 5'9 and I started this quarantine at 86 kg and just recently hit that sweet old 69 kg (nice) It just feels really really good. All my life I've been called fat to the point that it's actually an opener to me. Family friend: Heeeey looks like you've gained weight Friend: I see you're still fat hello Because of this when I was around 16 I started developing slight eating disorders wherein I would try to barf out food after I ate or just straight up skip meals and don't enjoy life. BUT NOW IT ALL CHANGED! I'm more confident than ever and I can actually look at myself in pictures without the need of throwing my phone out the window. And all of my clothes don't fit right anymore (which is probably bad because I need new ones, but still I feel great) And just recently my parents asked me what's my current weight and they were shocked that I was 69kgs and asked "Hey don't you think that's enough" And I just smiled and moved on with my day. It just feels so good! I love that I can share it here because no one actually knows who I am. Tl:dr Been called fat whole life Lost 17 kgs Parents got shookt about my weight More confident than ever [link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Thursday, 05 November 2020: Today, I conquered! Posted: 05 Nov 2020 12:07 AM PST The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)
Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often! [link] [comments] |
| Stuck around 3kg from healthy weight help!! Posted: 04 Nov 2020 11:55 PM PST F21, Height 166cm SW 85kg, CW 72kg, GW, 1st 68kg then 60kg I've been working on losing weight since June this year and I've gone from 85+kg to now at 72kg. I feel a hell of a lot less potatoey but I'm not quite happy yet. I've been eating around 1500-1700 depending on how active I am during the day and my weight is just stuck around 72kg for a about 2 months and it's driving me nuts. I'm so close to finally having a healthy bmi for the first time in years 😞 My Bmr from memory is around 1550. I've found it more recently harder to stay closer to 1300-1400 calories per day which is what I was doing before. I can guarantee I'm not underestimating my calories. I've been doing it a long time and clearly it's worked when I was losing weight. I walk around 4km per day when I'm able to. I'm not really good at working out but the dogs going insane makes me have to walk them so I can't skip out on it. I've been having some unrelated health issues recently including my record long headache of 4+ weeks which I'm waiting for my neurologist referral to come through but its being amazingly slow. No pain meds work for it so it's been making it harder to exercise. Do I need to eat less or something? I don't know if I can stay lower than 1450 without feeling like I'm constantly hungry or feeling sick. My adhd meds generally wipe out my appetite during the day so I eat breakfast then usually only a snack for lunch and then an average sized dinner. I drink around 2l of water a day and try to eat healthily when I can. [link] [comments] |
| 24-Hour Pledge - Thursday, 05 November 2020 - The Plan for Today! Posted: 04 Nov 2020 08:07 PM PST Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track. Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing > I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me? Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution. Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message. On reddit, your vote means, "I found this interesting" (...read more about voting on reddit) [link] [comments] |
| How can I repair my relationship with food? Posted: 04 Nov 2020 09:35 PM PST TW: ED Last year I developed an eating disorder and, while I've managed to get over it, my relationship with food, eating, and body image has still never completely recovered. In the months following my return to normal eating I gained back the weight I lost during my ED and then some. (Note in case this is triggering: I didn't lose a lot during the ED because my metabolism slowed to a crawl. EDs aren't worth it.) Now I want to lose 25 pounds and I'm at a loss. I've tried different diets/fasting regimens but they've always been too intense and ended up hurting me, even though I was trying to be healthy about it. I don't have the willpower to be hungry anymore. My ED and some of my diet fads have made it so that hunger causes me great stress. My brain quickly goes into "oh fuck we're starving" mode and eating makes me feel calm again. I'm so tired of not feeling at home in my own body. I hate that I have to eat. I wish I could take appetite suppressants but I don't think I can afford them. I'd try something unhealthy if it could give me that "calm" food gives or make me feel nauseous all the time or SOMETHING, but I feel like I'm running out of options. I have a chronic illness that makes exercise impossible right now, which makes losing weight that much harder. [link] [comments] |
| Going back to the gym after gaining weight - anyone else been here? Posted: 04 Nov 2020 11:32 PM PST I guess I need some kind of reassurance/encouragement. I used to go to the gym and lift weights it was really fun I liked the routine of lifting and of course achieving small goals. 18 months ago I stopped. I lost my job and decided that stuff it I'm going overseas for a months so I did that and when I came home I immediately got a shift work job that completely sucked all my time and energy away from me and I never returned to the gym to keep up my progress. But in that 18 months I've stacked on a fair bit of weight and now I need to diet as well as get back to the gym but I have a mental road block of not wanting to go to them at my size and weight. I feel like I shouldn't be bothering to lift weights before I lose weight, before I was a little bit bigger maybe 10kg over but now I'm bigger than that and the self conscious is hitting me hard even though I know at some point I can't keep delaying. [link] [comments] |
| Losing weight for theatre. And for my wife. 24M. 6’ 243 lbs starting Posted: 04 Nov 2020 10:38 AM PST Hey all you awesome people. I made this account because I desperately need help. I'm a regular 24 year old guy in working my way through school. I've been married to my awesome wife for a little over two years. Anyways, I need some help being accountable in my weight loss journey. So I'm here!! I've got two reasons I'm losing weight.
So anyways, here's to starting my weight loss journey! Please follow along if you want to. Any advice or motivation you can give me is much appreciated. God knows I need it. [link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Thursday, 05 November 2020? Start here! Posted: 05 Nov 2020 02:24 AM PST Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweightOur bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You StartThe very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. TrackingHere is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your DeficitHow do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. ExerciseIs NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel awesome and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, RunIt can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. AcceptanceYou will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resourcesNow you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
[link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment