Weight loss: Announcement: We Only Look Thin Podcast AMA! |
- Announcement: We Only Look Thin Podcast AMA!
- medical professionals: What is something about being Obese in the hospital that you wish more people knew?
- Medical Professionals: What are weight loss tips and advice that you wish everyone knew?
- Lost 80lbs only to find out that I'm really ugly no matter my weight
- Small goal, but I lost 15lbs in the last 3 weeks!
- I struggle to eat healthy when food isn't easily available, so I started creating "zero-cooking" recipes that are healthy and can be made in 5 minutes, thought you folks might enjoy
- 80 lb weight loss today. My weight loss tips for getting started.
- Stop comparing your progress to others' -- this is not a race
- F/44/5’5”/SW 330/CW148 - I am 18 lbs from -100, 48.1 from Onederland, and 73 from my goal. I broke through my plateau!!
- Why do people see tracking calories as an unhealthy behaviour?
- I gained it all back and more - don't be like me.
- Got panda express after nearly a month of no fast food and I feel proud of what I got
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 29
- What are some good reminders or tips that help you "delay gratification"?
- 'Depression' from cheat days. Can't break the cycle
- (F 16) I ate too much and now I'm fat and wanna lose weight
- Have a hard time sticking to my calorie limit when someone disrupts my meal plans/time’s
- Starting over...again
- 31M 5'11'' Sw 220lbs CW 179. Very pleased this morning
- Weight loss plateau, need to correct eating habits
- Advice About Losing Weight While On A College Meal Plan
- Any women who have maintained their weight loss long term and then became pregnant, were you able to bounce back after your pregnancy?
- How do you deal with shin splints?
- How to encourage husband (6'4" 330lbs) to take weight loss seriously?
| Announcement: We Only Look Thin Podcast AMA! Posted: 30 Jul 2020 01:48 AM PDT The awesome hosts of the We Only Look Thin podcast, Catherine and Donald Wygal will be hosting an Ask Me Anything Event in r/loseit on Sunday, August 9th at 3:00PM Eastern Standard Time! Catherine's Bio: Hi, I'm Catherine and I'm 50% of this weight loss gang. I work full time, am a full time mom, a full time wife, and a full time inspiration to all those around me. I've struggled with food issues and my weight since I was 5 years old when I tricked my parents into leaving me at home alone so I could binge-drink a gallon of chocolate milk; it was 1980, so parents let kids stay at home alone back then. While in college, I let myself get up to 300 pounds and have zig-zagged up and down the scale dozens of times, until now, where after two years of incorporating slow, sustainable habits, I've settled in to my lowest weight since 5th grade. THIS time, with the help of my super-inspirational husband, I plan on keeping the weight off. You see, I used to think of weight loss like a syrupy-sweet Hallmark Channel movie, all happy endings and sunsets. THIS time, I realize that permanent weight loss is a lot more like the Friday the 13th movie franchise. You watch the first Friday the 13th movie and you're like, "Phew, he's dead!", and then the sequel comes out and you're like, "Oh, damn… he's not dead!" and then the third movie comes out and you're like, "SERIOUSLY?!! How can he STILL be alive!?!?!", and then the 4th movie comes out and you're like, "Okay, this dude is never going to die so we just have to learn to run faster than him and not go camping." Join us, won't you? Donald's Bio: I was born in the last month of the 1960's, but that doesn't make me a hippy. I've been happily married to my wife, Catherine, for 17 years. We've been married a total of 21 years, but 17 of them were happy. We, along with our daughter, live in southern California where we often say heart-felt hellos and good-byes to each other. Well, Catherine and I are heart-felt…. our daughter mostly rolls her eyes and winces at our very existence. I've struggled with my weight and have been a yo-yo dieter for as long as I can remember. At some point in 2015, I had decided that I was going to give up and just let myself get as heavy as I was going to get. I was successful in this endeavor and I reached the heaviest weight of my life. In March of 2016, I went to my doctor for a routine physical and I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes which does NOT run in my family. I was devastated, and I had no interest in losing any weight. However, my doctor told me that if I didn't do something, I'd very likely go blind or lose a leg or succumb to any number of complications from diabetes. Thankfully, Catherine had already been seeking outside advice and had already started losing weight. She was able to help me adjust my attitude and my thinking and I began taking "baby steps" in the right direction. It took me two years, but I managed to lose a little over 100 pounds and my blood sugar numbers went back into the normal range. Now, together, Catherine and I embark on the next phase; keeping the weight off forever! And being inspirational! And using exclamation marks! Join us, won't you? Mark your calendars, and get ready for a super-inspirational(-ational, -ational, -ational) AMA with two accomplished (weight-)losers who are in it for the long haul! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jul 2020 10:30 AM PDT Hi, I was thinking about this and my experiences. Sooner or later we will all end up in a hospital bed, It isn't something that you normally think about but for those of us who are obese and especially morbidly obese there are some things you need to know.
I am not trying to be mean. Not trying to hurt anyone, I have literally been on both sides. But people deserve to know. When medical professionals say, "Obese people are at a higher risk for COVID-19" These are the things we are talking about. turning patients with breathing problems is huge. Getting clear X-rays of people with lung issues... HUGE. Ease of intubation... you guessed it. Huge. EDIT:: I edited because my Bullets were all messed up. Thanks for all the input Everyone! Aww... Thanks for the rewards. EDIT 2: Some people wanted some positivity so I made a new Posts " Medical Professionals: What are weight loss tips and advice that you wish everyone knew? " Please join us https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/comments/i0e9fj/medical_professionals_what_are_weight_loss_tips/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x [link] [comments] |
| Medical Professionals: What are weight loss tips and advice that you wish everyone knew? Posted: 29 Jul 2020 07:47 PM PDT HI,Someone requested this and I thought, Hey why not?
I am not a weight loss genius, I am just a obese lady who has lost 30 lbs so far. I don't have all the answers, but these are things I try to hold on to. Drs, Nurses, Dietitians... What are little pieces of info that you wished everyone knew? Edit: Please disagree with me if I am wrong, let's have a discussion. [link] [comments] |
| Lost 80lbs only to find out that I'm really ugly no matter my weight Posted: 29 Jul 2020 07:17 AM PDT [F/20/5'8/220-140lbs] Hi. I started my weight loss journey 3 years ago at my highest weight ever - 220lbs. I was really heavily bullied for my weight in high school as most girls my age were like 125lbs at most. I thought that I was being picked on because I was overweight and didn't really care about my appereance. Fastforward 3 years later my old friends don't even recognize me on the street. I'm 4 sizes down, I carry myself well, I put make up on and do my hair like most girls my age. The picking didn't stop. I'm still the ugly one in my friend group (and It's not about them, they compliment and uplift me a lot and they're amazing people). I'm really confident in myself when we go out, I really am. I'm a huge extrovert and I put myself in social situations a lot. Confidence doesn't help. I really wanted to finally start looking for a relationship so I made a profile on online dating site. My female friends had a lot of luck there and have been basically bombarded with messages and they really wanted me to give it a try. I got 3 messages asking for sex in the first week and that was it. I once messaged all my 65 matches and I got 2 responses, both guys stopped responding after a few messages. No kidding. Trying different sites didn't help. I would go clubbing with my friends and watch them get hit on left and right. I would talk to guys on parties and get rejected before I even tried to make move on them. My mom told me not to worry as "guys your age only care about looks". Funny thing is, I really thought that I had the looks. After 3 years of ups and downs, eating disorders along the way, getting my life together and taking care of myself im still the ugly one. I feel really hopeless. It took 80lbs lost and basically a whole makeover for me to realize that no matter how much makeup I put on and how much weight I lose I still won't be attractive. I feel like all my hard work was completely pointless as I probably needed a plastic surgery consultation instead of a diet. Edit: Hi guys. I've read your responses and I'm thankful for every single one. I really do have some hope now. edit2: here's a picture taken on the same day as the previous one, I was around 15lbs heavier than I am now https://imgur.com/a/25ajr6Z please dont think im fishing for compliments, i cringe everytime i look at this picture after 15 minutes of not seeing it. edit3: you guys really made my day, thank you for the overflowing positivity! i wish i could keep up with all the responses edit4: I didn't mean to scare people who think may be not attractive off from losing weight. That was 100% not my intention. Before losing the weight I physically couldnt breathe after walking a set of stairs. I was type 2 diabetic and my blood pressure was as high as Snoop Dogg. I remember being scared of losing my feet at like 13 years old when they started to go numb. I couldnt shop for clothes in normal stores like my friends could. I was getting gross comments from my family about my weight. This post was written at my lowest point, right after a huge mental breakdown and overall shitty thoughts about my appereance that has been there for the last few years. [link] [comments] |
| Small goal, but I lost 15lbs in the last 3 weeks! Posted: 29 Jul 2020 08:24 AM PDT So this isn't one of those great posts about how I lost 200lbs over 4 years but it's still an important goal for me. 3 weeks ago I weighed in at 365lbs and this morning I was 350lbs! I haven't been doing anything fancy or being crazy strict like my last weight loss attempts, I'm just eating less. That's it. To maintain my weight I have to eat over 3000 calories a day, so I've been eating around 2000 normally and then having Saturdays be at maintain calories so I can enjoy myself. I've also been drinking massive amounts of water because I think a big portion of my calories comes from empty liquid calories. All the posts here have inspired me so much and this is the first time I've started losing weight that feels sustainable for a long time. It's easy, doesn't require much thought, and I can still eat foods that are bad just less of them! Thanks everyone and good luck on your journey to become healthier. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jul 2020 03:16 PM PDT I recently lost about ~15 lbs that I had gained over the past 6 months. I find it very hard to eat healthy if I don't have food readily available. I end up grazing or eating out if there's nothing in the fridge. I've tried meal-prep in the past but it ends up destroying my kitchen and becoming an entire afternoon's project. So, I'm trying this new concept where I make meals in under 5 minutes of cooking time with minimal cleaning. Below, I meal-prepped 10 healthy meals for lunch/dinner throughout the work-week. I hope you all find this helpful and can use it as a tool to continue eating healthy over the long-run. All of the following meals can be made in under 8 minutes each without using any pots or pans. If you microwave efficiently, you can get meal prep times under 5 minutes each. This took me 25 minutes total to make including cleaning. Overview
The only cooking utensils I used were:
Here's how it came out: https://i.imgur.com/vkOOzEZ.jpg https://i.imgur.com/m150Uz4.jpg Meal 1- Mexican Burrito Bowl (3 minutes)Ingredients for 2 portions:
https://i.imgur.com/WN4a44u.jpg https://i.imgur.com/VgsHbAG.jpg Meal 2 - Greek-ish Salad (3 minutes)Ingredients for 2 portions:
https://i.imgur.com/M724zxV.jpg https://i.imgur.com/JMizmcW.jpg Meal 3 - Lentil Tahini Protein Bowl (6 minutes)Ingredients for 2 portions:
https://i.imgur.com/oXcxdo7.jpg https://i.imgur.com/NY9VZA2.jpg Meal 4 - Tuna Sandwich + Salad (3 minutes)Ingredients for 2 portions:
NOTE: You may want to keep the bread and tuna salad separate so the bread doesn't get soggy, and then combine when you eat it with a fork, shouldn't take more than 30 seconds https://i.imgur.com/nBPJgLo.jpg https://i.imgur.com/SI4xF6c.jpg Meal 5 - Chickpea, Rice, Sweet Potato Bowl (8 minutes)Ingredients for 2 portions:
NOTE: You may want to add the hummus right before eating so you don't heat the hummus when warming it up, otherwise, you can eat it cold [link] [comments] |
| 80 lb weight loss today. My weight loss tips for getting started. Posted: 29 Jul 2020 08:35 PM PDT It's really odd. I can start to see the light at the end of the tunnel. 50 lbs more to lose I think. 315 > 235 > final goal of 185. Recently I noticed my hips, I run my hands over them and it's surreal. Also my fingers, mostly my bony thumbs. I guess they really were there all along. Here's what I recommend starting with:
2.5. Your idea of hunger is out of wack. You will adjust to being "hungry". When I was way fatter, I thought I was hungry all the time but it was really boredom. You will adjust and your hormones and stomach will shrink over time.
[link] [comments] |
| Stop comparing your progress to others' -- this is not a race Posted: 29 Jul 2020 08:19 AM PDT I've lost 41 pounds / 19 kilograms in the past 4 months through diet and exercise at home. People are congratulating me and telling me they wish they had the same progress. I am here to tell you now to stop comparing yourself to me or anyone else. You're only seeing a number, that's it. And there are 100 other more important things when it comes to weight loss. Here's more important things than losing X pounds:
Weight loss is not a race. It's like an ultra marathon that lasts your whole life. You need to develop life-long healthy habits to maintain both your health and your weight. Compare yourself to the person you were yesterday, not a stranger's numbers. To me, my journey is just beginning and I'm still far from my goals. But I'm taking it one day at a time. Current goal: fat loss (advice is appreciated). Good luck! EDIT: made the list a bit more clear. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jul 2020 05:35 PM PDT *edit CW 248 - typo, sorry, can't seem to edit headline I've been on this journey for 4 years. Less than a month ago, I was ecstatic at being lower than I've been in ages. Well that was 28 days ago and I'm only down a few more pounds since then but I'm just as ecstatic! My weight has been a roller coaster yo-yo ride in a small dingy on a chaotic sea since I was 20. I was 250lbs at 20 when I went to a trainer. I didn't stick with that trainer because I didn't feel like he was helpful at all, I worked as hard as he told me to and didn't lose weight. I never saw less than 250 on the scale after that. Until today. I'm below my plateau and I indented to keep on going. I want that first number to be a 1 so bad! My goal is to get to 175, and never go over that again for the rest of my life. For once I think I can do it! I'm doing 20:4 IF, low carb (50 g/day), cardio 3x week, healthy Whole Food, and paying attention to calories. I could probably be more strict, but quarantine and working from home, and general stress has me indulging in some light snacking. I have started making those snacks more things like cucumber and bell peppers instead of mixed nuts. Hang in there! Push past your plateaus! Sometimes it takes a minute. Like 20+ years. [link] [comments] |
| Why do people see tracking calories as an unhealthy behaviour? Posted: 29 Jul 2020 08:40 AM PDT The UK has recently announced measures to reduce obesity rates which I think is great. One of these changes is adding calorie information onto menus at restaurants, which would be amazing for tracking. However most of the responses I've seen have been negative and saying that this is unhealthy & triggering. While I understand that calorie information on menus may be triggering to those struggling with eating disorders, I've found these people (including some of my friends) seem to lump in all people who are tracking calories as having an obsessive/unhealthy relationship with food. Currently in the UK, 63% of people are overweight & obese, and less than 2% of people have any kind of eating disorder. Surely people should be happy that the government will be educating people on how many calories they actually take in when eating at a restaurant considering this?! [link] [comments] |
| I gained it all back and more - don't be like me. Posted: 29 Jul 2020 05:50 PM PDT Last year, I was on a roll. I (20F) went from 190 lbs to 150 with diet, and even ran a 5k! I felt amazing, inside and out. I could walk up stairs without gasping for air. I could look in the mirror and not feel disgusted with myself. And my relationship with food became so so much healthier. And then my mental health went down the drain. I lost it all. In the span of six months, I went from 150 lbs to 220 lbs. I am completely responsible for this. Perhaps I lost weight too quickly and became complicit. And I know mental health is important but maintaining a healthy relationship with food and your body can help it! Just don't be like me. Make your healthy habit SO INGRAINED that no matter what, you can follow it. [link] [comments] |
| Got panda express after nearly a month of no fast food and I feel proud of what I got Posted: 29 Jul 2020 07:08 PM PDT So I posted earlier about how I was steering away from fast food and I still want that to stay true, but I realized at 5:30 in the afternoon after only eating 2 oranges and yesterday finally eating something at 7:30 in the evening that I needed to eat something. My dad went out to panda and asked what I wanted, so I tried to find a healthier option than my go to of chow mein and 2 entrees of orange chicken. I got super greens as my side, beef and broccoli as one entree and green bean chicken breast as another side. 430 calories, 29g protein, 36g carbs, 3.5g sat fat, and a whole lot of vitamins and nutrients from the plentiful greens. It definitely is delicious to have it and I know it's a good energy booster for me. I don't have much problem with the salt or sugar because the veggies kind of overtake the flavor and its abundance in the meal. Just wanted to share this because I know I've looked at all fast food places to find the healthy alternatives, and a lot are less interesting to find any healthy option on the menu despite saying it is healthy. I've turned down like 5 other opportunities for fast food and I'm proud if myself for that accomplishment, especially in a household that is definitely a carb and bread lover. Having one sweet a day has really been holding me accountable to how much bread or sugar I consume without overdoing it. [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 29 Posted: 29 Jul 2020 06:26 PM PDT Hello losers, Holy crapola it's almost the end of the month! Some bum needs to get the sign up post up. Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning. 201.5 lbs trend weight. Stay within calorie range (1700 ish): Better today. Exercise 5 days a week: A wee walk at lunch but I got to it. 23/28 days. Self-care time (JOURNALING, working on love journals, beauty treatments, drawing 0/23 days): Therapy. Blergh. Try a new recipe once a week: An imitation crab salad with homemade sauce, a crock pot Italian wedding soup, Russian dressing & a chicken lemon orzo soup. I want to make a cole slaw only with a veg & dressing setup I prefer. 4/5 weeks. 50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: An attempt was made. 1/50 pages. No fast food or candy from the work dish: Streak day 3. 4 candy related lapse in judgement. Listen to my effing body: Body tired today. Inertia was a bit of a struggle I will admit. Be more mindful & express gratitude, avoid the hedonic treadmill: Puppies & baby aminals of all shapes and sizes are just lovely. Your turn! [link] [comments] |
| What are some good reminders or tips that help you "delay gratification"? Posted: 29 Jul 2020 04:03 PM PDT The biggest battle in losing weight for me, is my "instant gratification" mindset which prioritises a trivial immediate or short term reward over a significant long term reward. Is delayed gratification something that gets easier as we get older? What are some ways to practice delaying gratification - whether it's a mantra or affirmation, or something else? I know this sounds terribly stupid and at 30 years old I should know better, but often when I choose between a huge cheesy sandwich today, versus preventing type 2 diabetes over the coming decades, I choose the friggin cheesy sandwich. I guess diabetes prevention is such a long term reward that it almost seems abstract, not real and tangible like a cheesy sandwich right in front of you (replace with any high calorie, low nutrition food of your choosing). So losers, how do you motivate yourself to consistently choose the long term reward (absence of disease) over the short term reward (junk food)? [link] [comments] |
| 'Depression' from cheat days. Can't break the cycle Posted: 29 Jul 2020 08:28 PM PDT I recently fell into a cheat day(s) hole. I ate more than my daily calories on Saturday and even though I was still under my TDEE, it triggered the monster in me and I've been eating above TDEE ever since. Like somedays barely above TDEE and other days full on binges with thousands of calories due to poor, calorie-dense food choices. It has put me into a TERRIBLE mental space. I'm stuck in this cycle where I can't get control and go back to my diet but at the same time, the food is making me miserable and I'm hating myself and my life. I have an occasion coming up on the 8th of August and I really wanted to power through and look as good as possible (and feel as good as possible). I also had another occasion at the end of august that I was looking forward to maybe fitting into this specific pair of jeans for and I know not only am I making these goals less likely with each day that passes where I binge, but I'm undoing all of the dedicated hardwork I've put in for the last three months. I'm not sure what to do. :( I wake up and feel excited that today I'm going back to dieting (it's hardwork, sure, but I genuinely feel so much happier when I'm dieting and sticking to my goals) but then as the day goes on, work get stressful and I think more about 'bad' foods (and lots of them, I'm not the kind of person that has the willpower to just have a bite). And then by the end of the workday, it is as if all control is gone. I order delivery or go get fast-food and eat mass quantities and in the moment everything is okay but once I'm done, then I feel so sad and miserable that my heart hurts. I literally just got out of a binge as I'm writing this and I want to cry right now, the pain is so saddening and intense it feels like being dumped almost. Like that sort of true sadness. I have such a long ways to go too, that I really just need to stick with my deficit and keep making progress. Its not as if I'm close to my goal weight, I'm still morbidly obese. I was doing so well too- I could notice small changes, I felt better and happier each day knowing that I was chipping away at getting where I wanted to be and now I can't regain control over myself. Any advice. I'm literally in tears right now because I'm so scared that I'm going to do that same thing again tomorrow and lose control. I'm terrified with myself. [link] [comments] |
| (F 16) I ate too much and now I'm fat and wanna lose weight Posted: 29 Jul 2020 06:30 PM PDT So this all started as I began secondary school when I was 13. I remember being somewhat sporty and skinny and my diet was relatively ok for a 13 year old. But then secondary school begins and coming from a very well off family I received at least €5 - 10 everyday for lunch. In 1st year it was ok sometimes I wouldn't even spend more than €2 and I was still slightly active (although not as much) It was in second year I really started to turn into a glutton. There was a Domino's pizza that I would say I went there at least 3 or 4 times a week and spend my lunch money there, I asked for an increased amount of lunch money and I'd buy pizza, chicken rolls, chocolate, etc. By the end of second year I must've been about 40 pounds heavier then when I initially started secondary school. Third year was worse, I got into gaming and completely gave up on all physical activity. One of the worst things I remember doing was having like 5 or 6 euro change left over and just shoveling all of it into the vending machine. At this point I was.offially considered fat. Which leads to this year I started off the same, eating and sitting on my arse was all I did. By Christmas I was about 200 pounds (Gained 100 since secondary) and during lockdown was a whole lot of eating and inactivity. Until about a week ago I found an old school jumper from second year. I tried it on and if I had kept it on for any longer it would've been torn apart. That really hit home. I understand I've done this to myself, I wanna lose some. I don't know how much, but any advice I'd really appreciate. Thank you! [link] [comments] |
| Have a hard time sticking to my calorie limit when someone disrupts my meal plans/time’s Posted: 29 Jul 2020 04:32 PM PDT So I do IF and CICO and being 5'2 and fairly sedentary, every calorie counts. I eat around 1200-1300 and my TDEE is 1550 so there's really not a lot of room for error. This is sustainable for me, I focus on protein and whole foods and usually stick to it really well. The problem arises when my plans get disrupted, if I can't eat at the times I want or eat what I planned the night before, I lose all control and just eat anything and everything. And I get legitimately mad when someone tries to interfere with my plans. For example my meal plans and times were disrupted today because I had to go see my aunt and eat lunch with her. Even though it wasn't what I planned to eat today, I could have gotten a salad and it would've been healthy and fine and I would've stayed within my limit but noooo instead I ate a metric fuckton and have probably consumed about 2500-3000 calories, which fucking sucks because I was doing so well recently. Someone please help me with my all or nothing mindset. I just hate losing control over my eating habits. How to fix this? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jul 2020 03:35 PM PDT Spent the first 23 years of my life overweight and it was really bad from 21-23. I let myself get up to 331lbs. I had a realization one day and decided it was time to change. I wanted two things back then, join the Air Force and lose weight. Couldn't join unless I got down under 230. Long story short, I got down to 226 just after my 24 birthday and left for the military a few months later. Spent 12.5 years in the military always between 220-230. I was medically discharged due to hip and back issues. I have been out of the military for about 4 years now and I was 280 This past Sunday morning, yikes. Barely any exercise, late night snacking etc etc about a year ago I was down to 244, but let it creep up fast. I feel horrible, my joints ache, I'm out of breath fast and I have trouble playing with my kids. My wife is basically the same weight she was when we got married 13 years ago and I feel bad I have ballooned up. I started over again Monday, making better food choices, lifting weights and going for walks when my hip isn't hurting. I am hoping to drop 30lbs by Halloween. [link] [comments] |
| 31M 5'11'' Sw 220lbs CW 179. Very pleased this morning Posted: 30 Jul 2020 12:26 AM PDT Started cycling a lot during lockdown at the end of March, as it was all there was to do. Started counting calories alongside, and I'm very pleased to have lost 40lbs as of today, in a little over four months. I've got as far as 52 miles on my bike rides, between 2-5 times a week, and I'm a convert now. I haven't had to be too draconian with calorie deficit, as the uptick in exercise and the sheer number I was eating beforehand have made it fairly easy. I also dipped into average body fat % as well, which is smashing. Still got a spare tire and residual man boobs, but I hope another ten lbs will help shift that. I dread the prospect of having to do weight exercise to get rid of it as I loath it, but needs must. Just wanted to share my cheer, and to encourage others that it can be done! [link] [comments] |
| Weight loss plateau, need to correct eating habits Posted: 30 Jul 2020 12:21 AM PDT TL;DR: I've got a weird pattern of skipping meals and binging like crazy, haven't lost weight with consistent IF for months, need some suggestions on food I can either prepare quickly on demand or prepare in advance if necessary. Notes: I'm a 24 year old male. My apartment doesn't have an air conditioner, so using an oven is really not the best option for me. I do have an instant pot and a great set of nonstick pans, however. No cholesterol or blood pressure issues, my bloodwork has always been 'great' according to my doctors, surprisingly. I can eat meat and I'm not allergic to anything. I'd prioritize taste over effectiveness and cost. Honestly feel like my goal right now is to eat 'normally' rather than to lose weight, just figuring it out is hard. I've had luck feeding myself with egg sandwiches in the morning and pasta for a late lunch. Variety would be super helpful, as would vegetables.. Boring stuff: Hello, I was normally 165, lifted and worked out to 143, gained a bunch of weight over a year of antidepressants and job loss and whatnot to 181, and adopted intermittent fasting and a bunch of water to get down to 155. I'm trying to get below 150 before I start eating enough to maintain(even if that's overweight for my 5'6" height) I've kept up the intermittent fasting for the past few months though and haven't really seen my weight change. Kind of worried that I'm either eating too much or too little depending on the day. I have the issue where since I'm working from home I'm always being pulled into meetings and the like, so I don't have a ton of time to eat properly, so I might skip meals entirely on some days depending on how timing works. For example, some days I can get by with just a cereal bar. But other days, I'll end up eating half a large pizza and delaying my fasting windows. I feel like I can maybe solve this through some meal prep, so I want to accomplish the following: Prep meals that I can pick up and eat at my desk, either through advance meal prep or through quick meals that will allow me to keep losing weight. Bring my metabolism back up to speed by eating more consistently to avoid binge eating/metabolism slowdown Accommodate a cheat day so I can get takeout or do bubble tea or whatnot. [link] [comments] |
| Advice About Losing Weight While On A College Meal Plan Posted: 29 Jul 2020 10:07 PM PDT I am 18 & I've been losing weight since January. Overall I've lost 20 out of the 50 pounds I'm planning on losing. It's moved pretty slow, but recently I've been more focused and I'm shedding off pounds at a quicker rate. My problem: I'm headed to college and will be on a meal plan. I'm going to a school that has 5 different huge dining halls all operating like buffets. Therefore, once I check into a dining hall I have full access to tons of food. I'm worried the unrestricted nature of it all paired with the stress of starting a new stage of life will cause me to fall back into the old habits that led to me gaining the weight in the first place. I'm wondering if some people on this subreddit have experienced the same thing and have some advice on how to navigate losing weight while in college. For some additional background info: What's worked for me so far is counting calories and working out 30-60 minutes daily. I also go on and off of the mediterranean diet, but I have a family member recovering from an eating disorder and if I were to be strict about dieting it might trigger her. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jul 2020 07:15 PM PDT I've been maintaining a 70ish-lb weight loss for 7 years. Start weight: 220ish. Lowest weight: 137. Current weight: 142. I've gain weight in quarantine which is already upsetting, but recently found out I'm pregnant and fear what gaining 25-30 lbs (hopefully not more) will do to my body. I wonder if I'll have the energy to get back to 137. It's really stressing me out. I was overweight my whole life until I started losing weight 9 years ago. The idea of gaining weight and having to work at it all over again is crushing. I'm having a hard time feeling positive about the pregnancy for this reason. I'd love to hear from other women who maintained weight loss for an extended period and then became pregnant. What was your experience like after? Did you have the energy to work for it again? I say "bounce back", but I do understand that weight loss after pregnancy doesn't need/have to be immediate and that you should listen to your body. [link] [comments] |
| How do you deal with shin splints? Posted: 29 Jul 2020 09:33 PM PDT For context, I have rheumatoid arthritis, and am at risk for osteoporosis due to medication. Neither of these are related to my weight, I've had these issues since I was a child. However, they haven't previously caused issues with shin splints. My numbers are SW 160, GW 120. Only just started trying to lose weight the other day, so my CW is fluctuating a lot right now. Every time I run, I get what I assume are shin splints. It didn't hurt like this before I gained weight, so I'm attributing the pain to my weight gain. I used to go jogging regularly, and I had a physical trainer, prior to COVID-19. My runs were on a treadmill, regulated by my trainer, and I never had any pain- a lot of stress, up to the brink, but never any pain. Now, since I don't have a gym, I run on the sidewalk around my neighborhood. My dog comes with me, and she's very encouraging, even though she literally runs circles around me. The pain is located in both of my legs, along the bone at the very front of the lower part of my leg. It is a sharp and searing pain, and it's gotten to the point where I can't just keep soldiering through it. I've resorted to biking in the meantime, even though biking isn't nearly as fun for me, I don't get to work up a sweat, and I don't get to spend that time with my dog. So, how can I get rid of the pain, or at least mitigate it, in the meantime? (for reference, I gained about 30 pounds in 4 months...) I have tried Ibuprofen and Tylenol, heat and ice, massage, a hot bath with salts... none of those work. I'm at a loss. I was thinking of trying braces on my legs, but I don't know what kind I would need to get, or even if it would be worth it to try that. Does anyone have a similar issue? How do you take care of it? [link] [comments] |
| How to encourage husband (6'4" 330lbs) to take weight loss seriously? Posted: 29 Jul 2020 09:27 PM PDT My husband and I are in our late twenties. He has been morbidly obese since his childhood, though he is otherwise healthy. He is quite strong for minimal-to-no strength training (DL 200lbs). He has never been a big fan of cardio, though he acknowledges it's benefits. He cannot run/jog. At the beginning of quarantine we would take 1-2 mile walks around the neighborhood that would wind him. We occasionally stretch together before bed. He is beginning to experience joint issues, specifically a chronic hairline fracture. He has acknowledged that his weight is an aggravating factor (imo the reason it hasn't healed). I have pointed out to him that issues like this are going to become more frequent and severe because he's "wearing his parts down" so much faster. We daydream about going on extensive backpacking trips, but he isn't capable of normal day-long hikes. I hate to say it but the weight has slowly grown repulsive to me. I still love him but it's difficult to be physically attracted to him now, even tho nothing has changed since we met! I do the lions share of the cooking, and prefer vegetable heavy but tasty meals. I did gain weight as we moved in together, but have maintained my current body weight (5'10" 170lbs) since for several years now. I've even won him over on several meatless and vegan meals. But he just...snacks. And grubhubs tacobell several times a month. And just overeats when I'm not looking. I don't want to shame him. I know he's aware of it. I'm not a beacon of fitness either but at least I'm in a healthy weight range. But I don't know what to do. But he has no interest in making a meaningful change to his diet or (non) exercise regimen. How...how do I get through to him that he will not be able to have the quality of life we daydream about if he stays this way? That he has to CHANGE his habits for him to stay healthy and capable. r/loseit do you have any advice? [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment